u know, in chinese restaurants, they've this little rectangular ceramic thing that lets you rest your chopsticks on (you place the tip of the chopsticks on this small ceramic thing).
anyone knows where i can find these things? also, what are they called? got official name? maybe "chopstick pad" or "chopstick rest"?
thanks!
Chinatown! ![]()
think they are called "chopstick holders"..
u might wanna try ebay..
daiso
Dont really have to buy.
Can find those small round river pebbles and use them as chopstick rest. Give a rustic feel to the dinning table.
*Disclaimer: Not telling you to go chisel out those river pebbels embedded into cement used for foot reflexology walking at the parks.*
thanks a lot, guys! yeah, will try daiso.
btw, err......what's the price i can expect to pay? $0.50 per piece?
anyway ar, V-Kitty.....pebbles maybe not very good idea lah.....it's un-even and smooth and the chopsticks may slide off very easily.
btw, i personally don't quite like your user name leh......why ViciousKitty? very fierce-sounding.......why not change to VictoryKitty74? better and more positive too.
here we go again~ ![]()
Originally posted by Nikar 3:thanks a lot, guys! yeah, will try daiso.
have u been to daiso?
if yes, it will cost $2.
if not, it might cost $0.50.
Originally posted by Lorry`:have u been to daiso?
if yes, it will cost $2.
if not, it might cost $0.50.
Daiso sells stuff for $2/-.
If 6 pieces of chopstick rests are sold in a packet.
How much is piece of chopstick rests?
My maths skill still sucks.
Originally posted by Nikar 3:thanks a lot, guys! yeah, will try daiso.
anyway ar, V-Kitty.....pebbles maybe not very good idea lah.....it's un-even and smooth and the chopsticks may slide off very easily.
btw, i personally don't quite like your user name leh......why ViciousKitty? very fierce-sounding.......why not change to VictoryKitty74? better and more positive too.
1974 is the year of tiger forthe chinese.
tiger is family of the cats. a fierce cat.
thus viciouskitty74
if daiso sells 6 pcs in a pack for $2, then it's cheap.
if it's 1 pc for $2, then eff them, i say.
problem with daiso is that, because everything goes at $2, it's a double-edge sword.
meaning, if they sell kettle or a microwave oven, also $2.
and if they sell a piece of paper cup, also $2.
so it runs both ways.
I think their really pretty and good quality stuff for $2/-is cheap.
Its up to you how you want to set your ambience for your table.
And it looks like you dont want to do it cheap.
Then skip the chostick rest and bring in the expensive copperhagen cutlery with swaroski crystals embeded in them. Rest the chopsticks on those expensive spoons. And sprinkle plenty of 1 carrot diamonds into your pastry and on the table.
Originally posted by viciouskitty74:I think their really pretty and good quality stuff for $2/-is cheap.
Its up to you how you want to set your ambience for your table.
And it looks like you dont want to do it cheap.
Then skip the chostick rest and bring in the expensive copperhagen cutlery with swaroski crystals embeded in them. Rest the chopsticks on those expensive spoons. And sprinkle plenty of 1 carrot diamonds into your pastry and on the table.
lol, VKitty.......who said i'm buying these chopstick holders for my table and kitchen? ![]()
it's for handicraft purposes, gal.
Originally posted by Nikar 3:lol, VKitty.......who said i'm buying these chopstick holders for my table and kitchen?
it's for handicraft purposes, gal.
You buy things for handicraft purposes.........
What happened to the good old days where wemake handicraft from scratch.......with materials already within our disposal!
Originally posted by viciouskitty74:
You buy things for handicraft purposes........What happened to the good old days where wemake handicraft from scratch.......with materials already within our disposal!
seriously, those olden days handicraft with those already-at-our-side-materials are ugly looking nowadays. if u go library and look at those books that teaches you handicrafts, it's all ugly crappy fabric kind of sh*t.
btw, now so late liao still haven't sleep? tomorrow no need work?
I am now in a country that is one hour after Singapore.
Originally posted by viciouskitty74:
Daiso sells stuff for $2/-.
If 6 pieces of chopstick rests are sold in a packet.
How much is piece of chopstick rests?
My maths skill still sucks.
You dont get what im tryin to say....
Nevermind.
If 6 pieces cost $2, 1 piece is less than 35 cents.
Daiso, 2 bucks a piece, wide selection.![]()
Another place with wide selection, Tangs Orchard.
No gurantee on prices though.![]()
thanks ditzy.sg, but........WTH??!! $2 a piece is just crazy.
i think i'm gonna check out my neighbourhood shops first.
KNN, fark off and close down lah, Daiso! go back to Japan!!!!!
Originally posted by Nikar 3:thanks ditzy.sg, but........WTH??!! $2 a piece is just crazy.
i think i'm gonna check out my neighbourhood shops first.
KNN, fark off and close down lah, Daiso! go back to Japan!!!!!
You would probably take back your words after seeing the prices of the same items at ck tangs.![]()
But definitely for sure porcelain ones cost more than clay ones, as how you're going to tell the difference I have no idea.![]()
If still cant afford one from Daiso then try Origami.
Origami? where's that?
tangs is one of the most boring shopping malls IMHO ![]()
yeah, it's got tangs technobay, which is basically a dignified name for a little armpit section of the mall that showcases a small amount of tv's and a lot of digital radios.
Originally posted by Nikar 3:if daiso sells 6 pcs in a pack for $2, then it's cheap.
if it's 1 pc for $2, then eff them, i say.
problem with daiso is that, because everything goes at $2, it's a double-edge sword.
meaning, if they sell kettle or a microwave oven, also $2.
and if they sell a piece of paper cup, also $2.
so it runs both ways.
WAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAAHAHAHAHAAHAA
oui mountain turtle have u EVER been to daiso? i mean actually walk inside the store and walk ard...
yeah, but it was years ago....when i was a kid.
anyway, i'll go to daiso see first, but really, $2 per pc really expensive as hell.
japanese rippers!!!!