Is it you have to slowly go through all the stages from beginner to intermediate, than bronze, silver, gold, gold star and than take up lifeguard course before you can become a lifeguard?
For me I have a bronze certificate but that was very long ago. I got it in 1996. If I want to be a lifeguard do I have to go start from silver and go through the many stages or can I straight away take up the lifeguard course, pass it and than become a lifeguard?
dont think so. if u able to swim well u should be able to take life guard cert.try asking some swimming instructor or lifeguard.
although, i learn beginner to gold star then bronze medalionise life guard cert
Originally posted by guaiboiboi:dont think so. if u able to swim well u should be able to take life guard cert.try asking some swimming instructor or lifeguard.
Just asking, can adults who are currently non-swimmers go for nssa eventually if they are keen to take up swimming lessons?
Originally posted by guaiboiboi:dont think so. if u able to swim well u should be able to take life guard cert.try asking some swimming instructor or lifeguard.
so after gold star will be bronze medalionise life guard cert? once you get the bronze medalionise life guard cert you can qualify to be a lifeguard?
http://www.slss.org.sg/COR_Course%20front%20page.htm
I saw this link..
Which are the course that you must take in order to be a lifeguard?
Originally posted by 8800:Is it you have to slowly go through all the stages from beginner to intermediate, than bronze, silver, gold, gold star and than take up lifeguard course before you can become a lifeguard?
For me I have a bronze certificate but that was very long ago. I got it in 1996. If I want to be a lifeguard do I have to go start from silver and go through the many stages or can I straight away take up the lifeguard course, pass it and than become a lifeguard?
Thos are the swimming certificates. You do not need them to take up the lifeguard courses, but some instructors will prefer their students to have them.
For the lifeguard courses, you must have a lifeguard instructor to teach you the techniques and the basics. You will start from life-saving 1, 2 and followed by 3, before you take up the bronze medallion. During my time, from the Bronze medallion, you will be able to take up the Patrol lifeguard or Pool lifeguard cert and become an official lifeguard.
Originally posted by Forbiddensinner:Thos are the swimming certificates. You do not need them to take up the lifeguard courses, but some instructors will prefer their students to have them.
For the lifeguard courses, you must have a lifeguard instructor to teach you the techniques and the basics. You will start from life-saving 1, 2 and followed by 3, before you take up the bronze medallion. During my time, from the Bronze medallion, you will be able to take up the Patrol lifeguard or Pool lifeguard cert and become an official lifeguard.
http://www.slss.org.sg/COR_Course%20front%20page.htm
So according to this website i will have to first take up the Preliminary Module (PLM) of 10 sessions to get my Lifesavings 1, 2 and 3.
Than I take the Standard Module(SDM) of 10 sessions to get bronze Medallion and Cardio-Pulimonary Resusciation.
Than I take the Specialist Module(SCM) of 6 sessions to get my Pool Lifeguard certificate.
After this 3 courses I will than qualify to be a lifeguard?
There is no need to take the rest of the Advanced Module 1 and 2, Open water module 2 and 3, Coporate CPR, Senior Resusciation and Oxygen resusciation?
Anyway, after I get the certificates to be a lifeguard will it be difficult for me to get a job as a lifeguard?
I think Singapore should have a lack of lifeguards so it should not be a problem for me to be a lifeguard once I get all the necessary certificates right?
sg also not alot swimming pool what =O
can't rber..... more than 10yrs ago.......
just go take the course then take exam, then get the cert.
it was only for enclosed waters (swimming pool)
got another one is for open waters i neber take
i oso dunno throw to where liao
ever since, i neber done any lifeguard job or duty or saved ppl before.
Originally posted by yiha093:sg also not alot swimming pool what =O
still got sentosa, singapore sports council, pte resorts etc that are hiring lifeguards
Originally posted by FireIce:can't rber..... more than 10yrs ago.......
You banned too many people.
Go and be a lifeguard to save some people and do good deeds to redeem yourself or else you will go to hell
duh.
Originally posted by 8800:http://www.slss.org.sg/COR_Course%20front%20page.htm
So according to this website i will have to first take up the Preliminary Module (PLM) of 10 sessions to get my Lifesavings 1, 2 and 3.
Than I take the Standard Module(SDM) of 10 sessions to get bronze Medallion and Cardio-Pulimonary Resusciation.
Than I take the Specialist Module(SCM) of 6 sessions to get my Pool Lifeguard certificate.
After this 3 courses I will than qualify to be a lifeguard?
There is no need to take the rest of the Advanced Module 1 and 2, Open water module 2 and 3, Coporate CPR, Senior Resusciation and Oxygen resusciation?
Anyway, after I get the certificates to be a lifeguard will it be difficult for me to get a job as a lifeguard?
I think Singapore should have a lack of lifeguards so it should not be a problem for me to be a lifeguard once I get all the necessary certificates right?
The advanced certs are not a must for you to be a lifeguard. But you must have the bronze medallion, and volunteer yourself as a lifeguard for the Singapore LifeGuard Corps, before you can take the Pool Lifeguard Cert and be a full-time Lifeguard.
There isn't really a lack of lifeguards, despite the fact that most lifeguards work as part-time lifeguards. All full-time lifeguards whom I know, especially my previous instructors and their friends, will give swimming/ lifeguards courses as another source of income.
This may not hold true for private swimming pools' lifeguards, but you definitely need someone to introduce you for you to work in those areas.
Anyway the modules thing are usually not followed, and the students would go for a lot more lessons and trainings than the minimum requirement. Just to let you know in case you are interested.
Knowing first aid is a plus, and of course CPR. I got bronze as a kid, but then I stopped, coz swimming just wasn't my thing.![]()
Originally posted by Forbiddensinner:The advanced certs are not a must for you to be a lifeguard. But you must have the bronze medallion, and volunteer yourself as a lifeguard for the Singapore LifeGuard Corps, before you can take the Pool Lifeguard Cert and be a full-time Lifeguard.
There isn't really a lack of lifeguards, despite the fact that most lifeguards work as part-time lifeguards. All full-time lifeguards whom I know, especially my previous instructors and their friends, will give swimming/ lifeguards courses as another source of income.
This may not hold true for private swimming pools' lifeguards, but you definitely need someone to introduce you for you to work in those areas.
Anyway the modules thing are usually not followed, and the students would go for a lot more lessons and trainings than the minimum requirement. Just to let you know in case you are interested.
So I must take Preliminary Module for my lifesavings 1, 2 and 3. Than take the Standard Module to get Bronze Medallion, Volunteer as a lifeguard for the Singapore lifeguard crops and finally take the Specialist Module to get my Pool Lifeguard Certificate than I can qualify as Lifeguard.
What is the salary for full time and part time lifeguard?
Originally posted by 8800:So I must take Preliminary Module for my lifesavings 1, 2 and 3. Than take the Standard Module to get Bronze Medallion, Volunteer as a lifeguard for the Singapore lifeguard crops and finally take the Specialist Module to get my Pool Lifeguard Certificate than I can qualify as Lifeguard.
What is the salary for full time and part time lifeguard?
That is correct.
The pay rate depends a lot on where you are working, and whether you are working at public swimming pools or private swimming pools.
For public pools, the part-time rate is only $7-15 per hour, and for full-time it is only slightly over $1k.
For private pools, it can hit over $3k a month, but you will have to have connections to actually find someone to hire you, as most private pools depend on groups/companies like this :
http://www.swimwithus.com.sg/c/index.php?option=com_content&view=category&layout=blog&id=48&Itemid=69
Originally posted by FireIce:can't rber..... more than 10yrs ago.......
did u learn the blowjobs in lifeguard course...i mean the CPR??
Originally posted by Forbiddensinner:That is correct.
The pay rate depends a lot on where you are working, and whether you are working at public swimming pools or private swimming pools.
For public pools, the part-time rate is only $7-15 per hour, and for full-time it is only slightly over $1k.
For private pools, it can hit over $3k a month, but you will have to have connections to actually find someone to hire you, as most private pools depend on groups/companies like this :
http://www.swimwithus.com.sg/c/index.php?option=com_content&view=category&layout=blog&id=48&Itemid=69
what is this website for?
What is the website for public swimming pools that are hiring lifeguards? I go and see..
$7 per hour to sit there and see mei mei swimming not bad already lah..
Originally posted by angel7030:
did u learn the blowjobs in lifeguard course...i mean the CPR??
can fondle breasts oso
Originally posted by FireIce:can fondle breasts oso
really!!! like this sure i wake up, must be very song...but if the lifeguard is old old uncle, i better die than get blown
maybe the uncle oso �愿� leh??
Originally posted by 8800:what is this website for?
What is the website for public swimming pools that are hiring lifeguards? I go and see..
Oh, how come lifeguard see mei mei only, I thot lifeguard is suppose to see all, so, if aunty got problem, lifeguard no see see, but if one big blosom mei mei got little problem, lifeguards all chiong liao...
...dun be lifeguard lah, no future..
Originally posted by FireIce:maybe the uncle oso �愿� leh??
huh! i got see some uncle fat fat also work as lifeguard, dunno whether can save people or not?? very tiko one
pool security guards are not lifeguards
Originally posted by FireIce:pool security guards are not lifeguards
no mah, i know the lifeguards, they wear red shorts with yellow t shirt from Singapore Sport council, the security guards more handsome and fit than them lor.
Many lifeguards lau lau fat fat sit on high chair with tea and coffee bags beside them, all sleeping behind their sunglasses. One of these day someone is going to save a lifeguard instead of them saving us.
Originally posted by 8800:what is this website for?
That website shows just one of the many companies in Singapore who provide lifeguard services to private pools. It is to show you that it won't be easy if you want to get a job at a private pool.
If you want to be hired as a lifeguard at the public pools, the best way is to talk to your instructor. Ask him nicely and he will help you out. There is no point in trying to apply now since you do not have any life-saving cert yet.