Originally posted by MaNyZeR:Let say you are walking along a narrow stretch of road... then at most it can only allow 2 person to walk side by side... You are rushing for time... then you came across this person walking damn slowly in the middle of the path... worst still this asshole is yaking away happily.. YAK YAK YAK YAK YAK YAK YAK... keep talking none stop and not caring about the people behind them.
I always encounter these type of people and most of them are inconsiderately slow. If they are old people, I understand. But they are youngsters around the age of 20++. If you want to walk slow, walk by the side la.. why walk dead smack right in the centre or pathway. Block everyones' path.
Most of them I encounter are usually girls. Usually those chao ah lian, wanna act cute, walk so slow. If they are with the bf, even worst block the whole damn thing cannot even squeeze through. Some even sms while walking which makes it even slower.
I know can say excuse me.. but sometimes, you tried to be nice and say excuse me, will actually pisses you off when you hear that joker mumbling something to her/himself (like 赶去投胎). This is damn basket..
So have you guys encountered any such incidents (which i think definitely yes!!) come share your experiences.
This is unfortunately one of the antics of quite a number of Singaporeans. In english, we said that these people are uncaring and self-centered, in singlish we call them bor-chap.
Blocking the pathway isn't really that bad, as there are no laws preventing people from walking slowly in the middle of the path, but when it comes to escalators and trains, it just get even worse.
People are strongly advised to move to the center of the train and keep on the left side of the escalator unless they are over-taking, but these advices often go unheeded. Just like Fi-fi said, there will be plentiful of door gods blocking the sliding doors, and thus preventing people from boarding the train faster. There will also be couples standing on both sides of the escalator, hence preventing people from moving upwards or downwards ( though usually the former is the case ).
In short, many Singaporeans are not as gracious or as kind as they think themselves are. This prevailing selfish attitude shows a lot about where the moral compass of Singaporeans will point towards in the next few decades or so.
Give them a jab at the back, between the neck and the spine region. ![]()
Originally posted by Forbiddensinner:This is unfortunately one of the antics of quite a number of Singaporeans. In english, we said that these people are uncaring and self-centered, in singlish we call them bor-chap.
Blocking the pathway isn't really that bad, as there are no laws preventing people from walking slowly in the middle of the path, but when it comes to escalators and trains, it just get even worse.
People are strongly advised to move to the center of the train and keep on the left side of the escalator unless they are over-taking, but these advices often go unheeded. Just like Fi-fi said, there will be plentiful of door gods blocking the sliding doors, and thus preventing people from boarding the train faster. There will also be couples standing on both sides of the escalator, hence preventing people from moving upwards or downwards ( though usually the former is the case ).
In short, many Singaporeans are not as gracious or as kind as they think themselves are. This prevailing selfish attitude shows a lot about where the moral compass of Singaporeans will point towards in the next few decades or so.
how much does gracious worth per kg, dun give us the shit about a gracious western society where people carry guns and cheat big bucks out of your finanical insitutions, u see those racial remarks and attack in the west, their way of sexual life, marriage life and the drugs involved isn't going to help me think that they got that gracious other than skin values.
Of course gracious is good, but a nation culture have to be maintain, we are brought up in such culture and unity, so be it, why try to act as gracious when the mind is not naturally there to do it. Just be a typical Singaporeans and life goes on happily, even for decade to come. Dun act as ang mo hor
Originally posted by angel7030:
how much does gracious worth per kg, dun give us the shit about a gracious western society where people carry guns and cheat big bucks out of your finanical insitutions, u see those racial remarks and attack in the west, their way of sexual life, marriage life and the drugs involved isn't going to help me think that they got that gracious other than skin values.
Of course gracious is good, but a nation culture have to be maintain, we are brought up in such culture and unity, so be it, why try to act as gracious when the mind is not naturally there to do it. Just be a typical Singaporeans and life goes on happily, even for decade to come. Dun act as ang mo hor
I certainly don't remember saying that being gracious is equivalent to westernising. Neither did I compare Singapore to the western countries. Please do not put words in my mouth.
I am talking about graciousness in its most basic form - simple acts of kindness. Lets just simply talk about the most basic of kindness, good mannerism. Just a few decades back, people who are neighbours will greet each other whenever they meet, nowadays we are merely strangers living in the same flat.
Do you see people holding the door for others, or helping others up when they trip and fall down? Perhaps you do, but that rarely happens. In the past, these simple acts are considered "common sense" to the people, and one might even feel that it is wrong not to help out others when they could.
Originally posted by Forbiddensinner:I certainly don't remember saying that being gracious is equivalent to westernising. Neither did I compare Singapore to the western countries. Please do not put words in my mouth.
I am talking about graciousness in its most basic form - simple acts of kindness. Lets just simply talk about the most basic of kindness, good mannerism. Just a few decades back, people who are neighbours will greet each other whenever they meet, nowadays we are merely strangers living in the same flat.
Do you see people holding the door for others, or helping others up when they trip and fall down? Perhaps you do, but that rarely happens. In the past, these simple acts are considered "common sense" to the people, and one might even feel that it is wrong not to help out others when they could.
And i certainly did not said that you said it, i am just referring to western view of gracefulness, and when people talk about grace, it sound so holy and peaceful to the western countries other than Japan in Asia.
Your simple act of local gracefulness is diminishing not because of our local peoples problems, since in the past such basic act was performed and yet not repeat, it is very sad indeed. And if you will to ask why??, ask the society created as a whole, the govt policies, the change of life here and the cost of living. The new era generation are facing stressful environment such high cost of living, competitions both in jobs and educations, fast pace of life, disparity of the rich and poor, and finally the time factor.
Once i was going to shenton way in a morning to do some insurance matters, what i see on all those aunties and gals, guys and Uncles rushing by each others with sour sleeping face and for gals, thick make up with sleepy eyes..Omg, where they got time for gracefulness. I am sorry to say that money and time had become the grace of the day for most singaporeans, the human touch is completely lost.
Originally posted by ditzy:Why bother with excuse me? Overtake lah, squeeze your way thru.
Why bother....simply hug and squeeze them where it hurts them most