Hello,
I'm hitting my 22y/o birthday soon and soon I have to choose my Citizenship.
I have a headache though, currently serving NS and my Pink I/C is retained by SAF.
Anyways the question is, because I was born in the US (and thus, am eligible for US citizenship) but am a Singapore Citizen by decent:
1) Is it ok if I renounce my Singapore Citizenship the same day I apply for my US citizenship. Will I be arrested for having no reason to stay in Singapore, because I have no PR status nor any Visa.
2) How long will my PR status take to be approved?
3) Will I be subjected to both US and Singapore taxes?
Any input will be well appreciated :)
if im nt wrong ,u can only renounce yr citizenship after NS?
I ord after my eligible date, so its kinda messed up. In the letter sent by ICA, they say I can be charged if I dont do something about my citizenship issue by my next birthday (22nd).
So I dont think I can renounce after my NS. It'd be a double standard
what double standard?? At least u have served NS, unlike ppl who tries ways n means to get out of it.
Anyway, US citizens do not need visa to stay in SG for a certain period of time. For such queies, i believe the US embassy would be more than willing to help you.
you are not subjected to income tax in the US if you remain in SG. But having US citizens open up opportunity that other wise you do not have in terms of career.
Certainly need to talk to US embassy...also talk to your parents and why do were in the US in the first place.
r u an angmo 1st?
Originally posted by fwy87:Hello,
I'm hitting my 22y/o birthday soon and soon I have to choose my Citizenship.
I have a headache though, currently serving NS and my Pink I/C is retained by SAF.
Anyways the question is, because I was born in the US (and thus, am eligible for US citizenship) but am a Singapore Citizen by decent:
1) Is it ok if I renounce my Singapore Citizenship the same day I apply for my US citizenship. Will I be arrested for having no reason to stay in Singapore, because I have no PR status nor any Visa.
2) How long will my PR status take to be approved?
3) Will I be subjected to both US and Singapore taxes?
Any input will be well appreciated :)
You need to apply and get your US citizenship first before you renounce the SG citizenship.
are you a dual citizen at the moment?
get the US citizenship first , then renounce yr SG citizenship.
but i think i would be holding a US passport then, before my 22nd birthday. wouldnt that constitute as dual citizenship? and wouldnt I be charged.
secondly, if I renounce my SG citizenship, will I be given a pardoned time lapse to apply for my PR status? this transfer of citizenship is indeed very confusing and messy :(
lastly, thanks for clarifying on the tax issue :)
one of my friends who had this situation said that he wanted to try renouncing his SG citizenship and get PR, but the offices didn't allow him to do that for dunno what reason. maybe you should check to confirm if you can do that (since that's what you want to do too) before you accidentally become a stateless person =)
did you knowingly applied for US citizenship or you are basically just born in US?
If you are basically just born in US, I think you can just take up singapore citizenship and later apply for US citizenship by birth in the country.
But i am not sure how Singapore wants you to prove that you already revoke your US citizenship.
The getting PR part is not guaranteed, I have known some friends who got PR and some who did not.
looks like you lost it already.. but i don't think they enforce the rules when you serve another country's armed forces because of conscription.
POTENTIALLY EXPATRIATING ACTS
Section 349 of the Immigration and Nationality Act (8 U.S.C. 1481), as amended, states that U.S. citizens are subject to loss of citizenship if they perform certain specified acts voluntarily and with the intention to relinquish U.S. citizenship. Briefly stated, these acts include:
nope, it says here
"entering or serving in the armed forces of a foreign state engaged in hostilities against the U.S. or serving as a commissioned or non-commissioned officer in the armed forces of a foreign state (Sec. 349 (a) (3) INA);"
1. in any armed force engaged in hostilities against the US
2. or serving as a commissioned
3. or non-commissioned officer
i'm neither :)
btw im thinking whether i need to apply for my US citizenship before I can apply for my PR status.
i called ICA today and the people tell me that I can take up my US citizenship and allow my SG citizenship to run until it expires. I will not get arrested during this term of dual citizenship.
As for my PR status, anybody knows how long it'll take?
Originally posted by Hello Kitty:r u an angmo 1st?
do u need to be angmo to be a US citizen?
Originally posted by fwy87:nope, it says here
"entering or serving in the armed forces of a foreign state engaged in hostilities against the U.S. or serving as a commissioned or non-commissioned officer in the armed forces of a foreign state (Sec. 349 (a) (3) INA);"
1. in any armed force engaged in hostilities against the US
2. or serving as a commissioned
3. or non-commissioned officer
i'm neither :)
btw im thinking whether i need to apply for my US citizenship before I can apply for my PR status.
i called ICA today and the people tell me that I can take up my US citizenship and allow my SG citizenship to run until it expires. I will not get arrested during this term of dual citizenship.
As for my PR status, anybody knows how long it'll take?
You can't apply for a SG PR if you are still a SG citizenship lah. You have to obtain your US citizenship first.
I suggest you go make an appointment to ICA and talk to the officer there lor.
They are the experts lah.. not us.
Originally posted by jojobeach:You can't apply for a SG PR if you are still a SG citizenship lah. You have to obtain your US citizenship first.
I suggest you go make an appointment to ICA and talk to the officer there lor.
They are the experts lah.. not us.
all Singapore citizens will convert the next day...... : )
Originally posted by Arapahoe:all Singapore citizens will convert the next day...... : )
U sure or not ? That's not what I heard.
My friend was born in canada to Singaporean parents.
She has till 21 years old to choose. She gave up Singapore citizenship and kept Canadian.
She immediately applied for PR to work in Singaproe and got it.
Anyway, for your case, if you have not knowingly take up US citizenship, how does ICA want you to give up US Citizenship?
You are US citizen by right of just being born there, but if you have all along never applied for a US passport, etc. The only document that states you are a US citizen is your birth certificate.
In such case you have yet to "claim" yourself as a US citizen, hence I do not know how US wants you to "give" up or what evidence Singapore needs to show you have given up.
Originally posted by Ponders:My friend was born in canada to Singaporean parents.
She has till 21 years old to choose. She gave up Singapore citizenship and kept Canadian.
She immediately applied for PR to work in Singaproe and got it.
Anyway, for your case, if you have not knowingly take up US citizenship, how does ICA want you to give up US Citizenship?
You are US citizen by right of just being born there, but if you have all along never applied for a US passport, etc. The only document that states you are a US citizen is your birth certificate.
In such case you have yet to "claim" yourself as a US citizen, hence I do not know how US wants you to "give" up or what evidence Singapore needs to show you have given up.
Something doesn't seem right leh.
If you are born in US.. then how the heck you got in to Singapore without a US PASSPORT ?
And how the heck you become a Singapore citizenship if your birthcert says you are born in USA ?????
So if you are a Singapore Citizenship ... arn't you suppose to renounce your US citizenship already ?
If you already renounce your US citizenship.. then how are you planning on Re-instating it ?????
Sollie ah.. I am a very confused person.
Originally posted by jojobeach:Something doesn't seem right leh.
If you are born in US.. then how the heck you got in to Singapore without a US PASSPORT ?
And how the heck you become a Singapore citizenship if your birthcert says you are born in USA ?????
So if you are a Singapore Citizenship ... arn't you suppose to renounce your US citizenship already ?
If you already renounce your US citizenship.. then how are you planning on Re-instating it ?????
Sollie ah.. I am a very confused person.
the parents simply applied for a SG citizenship by descent of parents (although born outside of SG) lor... so end up using singapore passport + a US birth certificate.
the girl simply have dual citizenships b4 the age of 21. and since SG no recognise dual, then SG govt will give the person who have dual as a child/young person until the age 21 years old to choose only 1 citizenship, as the person at 21 is an adult by law.
do not gve up sg citizen b4 you get the US one. application alone is just not secure enough even if it is normally granted.
Originally posted by hisoka:do not gve up sg citizen b4 you get the US one. application alone is just not secure enough even if it is normally granted.
he was born in state side.
i got my manpower officer to call various places today and we've figured out the following:
on the exactly my 22nd birthday, i will have to go down to ICA and apply for something known as a "Temporary Permenant Resident". Its an oxymoron I know right?
Anyways, because I have to leave Singapore within 24 hours after ceasing to be a Singapore Citizen without having regularised my stay, I will get my TPR almost immediately according to him.
Still, it is only because I am serving my National Service and this TPR will expire on the day I ORD. And meanwhile, while holding a TPR I can apply for a PR.
Kinda sucky, having to be concerned with entry and exit permits once I become a PR. according to my Sir, he says that if I leave Singapore without a proper exit permit, my PR will cease to exist? Is that true?
Btw, between being a Singapore PR and Singapore Citizen, are there any wide differences? I'm looking through, theres not alot of shortcomings being a PR.