was watching a report on chn 8 and then they went to interview people on streets then i was annoyed cos the people they interviewed spoke in half mandarin and half english. example : 我刚刚去了bookshop 读了一本书about 动物.. or 我从office 下�看到一辆车park在路边害到motorists�能进carpark .. . blah blah..
its so annoying (to me duno about u all ) when they add the english into every sentence.. is it becos more and more people get educated and then is english speaking at home so they talk like that?? The show also had to put subtitles in mandarin below so that those who dont understand what they talking about can read in proper mandarin ![]()
You from PRC?
Where so surprise? Nothing new.
nope im singaporean but it justs annoy me u see every time singaporean speak mandarin in front of the camera just cant speak a proper one.. unless they interviewing a minister/principal or those people related to education / schools
tell me about it man....................
just leave them alone for the time being. There are more important things to take care of. Times are bad. Bread and butter issue is more important
Maybe the situation is due to lack of self-confidence.
Actually most Chinese Singaporeans are able to speak Mandarin rather fluently.
Yes, it's true.
I know you may find this surprising.
It's just that sometimes people dont feel self-confident, or they think they are not so fluent, so they switch to English words and so on.
Actually I have an experience myself. Today I was calling someone for a meeting, she told me she couldnt speak Mandarin, so she asked me to talk to a colleague.
Actually after we were there (I am accompanying my relatives) she can speak fluent Mandarin to them.
So, why did she say she couldnt speak Mandarin, and even plan to ask for a colleague?
It's all due to lack of self-confidence, or over-estimation of required Mandarin fluency.
Actually, if you "force" an average Chinese Singaporean to speak Mandarin only, suddenly their minds are able to adapt and adjust.
But the situation with Singapore is that, it is a multilinguistic society, an average person knows several languages, so, naturally, people sometimes code-switch (speak in mixed languages) because the other party or the intended audience is also a multilinguist person who understand this code-switching.
But if you force a Chinese Singaporean to speak to a singular-language audience, for instance, to a visitor from China/ TW, then you will see his/her Mandarin fluency is not bad at all.
Singaporeans cant speak proper Mandarin because they like to construct sentences using English first then translate back to Mandarin.
Also, the Chinese taught in schools are hardly adequate. Limited vocab. Try going to China and speaking with locals and you'd understand.
Originally posted by Plastic Bag:Singaporeans cant speak proper Mandarin because they like to construct sentences using English first then translate back to Mandarin.
Also, the Chinese taught in schools are hardly adequate. Limited vocab. Try going to China and speaking with locals and you'd understand.
I agree the Chinese taught in schools are inadequate.
if wan interview me, me juz say "sollie, me oly speek engrish.".
Originally posted by Hello Kitty:if wan interview me, me juz say "sollie, me oly speek engrish.".
You England Rose?? ![]()
Can't blame them. Chinese is the second language here.
Is it just me or do you noticed that when channel 8 or channel U interview them, there will always be some who speak Chinese mixed with English or Singlish. But when channel 5 or CNA interview them, almost all can speak a full sentence of English!
Could it be because we just don't have the environment to speak pure? Sg is multi racial, multi cultures
Originally posted by Fantagf:Could it be because we just don't have the environment to speak pure? Sg is multi racial, multi cultures
Malay Singaporeans talk within themselves in their mother tongue, Indian Singaporeans talk within themselves in their mother tongue. But when Chinese Singaporean talk to other Chinese Singaporean, they are talking in English or English mixed with Chinese, very few will talk in Chinese, why?
I'm referring to the students, youngsters and working adults.
Originally posted by tranquilice:
Malay Singaporeans talk within themselves in their mother tongue, Indian Singaporeans talk within themselves in their mother tongue. But when Chinese Singaporean talk to other Chinese Singaporean, they are talking in English or English mixed with Chinese, very few will talk in Chinese, why?I'm referring to the students, youngsters and working adults.
Please observe. I notice all races in sg speak languages with a mix of other languages.
Originally posted by Fantagf:Please observe. I notice all races in sg speak languages with a mix of other languages.
I observe them for long already, and this is my conclusion.
Originally posted by WoBuPaNi:was watching a report on chn 8 and then they went to interview people on streets then i was annoyed cos the people they interviewed spoke in half mandarin and half english. example : 我刚刚去了bookshop 读了一本书about 动物.. or 我从office 下�看到一辆车park在路边害到motorists�能进carpark .. . blah blah..
its so annoying (to me duno about u all ) when they add the english into every sentence.. is it becos more and more people get educated and then is english speaking at home so they talk like that?? The show also had to put subtitles in mandarin below so that those who dont understand what they talking about can read in proper mandarin
You are chee bye jiu hu kia!!!!
its so annoying (to me duno about u all ) when they add the english into every sentence.. is it becos more and more people get educated and then is english speaking at home so they talk like that?? The show also had to put subtitles in mandarin below so that those who dont understand what they talking about can read in proper mandarin
That is due to Lee Kuan Yew's bilingual language policy in school that messes up and corrupts everything in this country.
It is a rubbish policy that cannot work.
If you are interested I can explain it in more detail to you.
Originally posted by tranquilice:
I observe them for long already, and this is my conclusion.
Originally posted by Ah Chia:That is due to Lee Kuan Yew's bilingual language policy in school that messes up and corrupts everything in this country.
It is a rubbish policy that cannot work.
If you are interested I can explain it in more detail to you.
why is it a rubbish policy?
lol. I am a Tamil student and I talk to my other Tamil friends in English. I have trouble speaking in Tamil without English words too.
Not only mandarin, Tamil but also malay.
The chief reason for this is due to the Education system.
Other reasons would be the influence of the english state media as well as the government using english in as working language.
It it due to the rubbish filth of Lee Kuan Yew that all the languages in Singapore is in a mess today.
why is it a rubbish policy?
It is rubbish because the system produces people who cannot speak proper english or mother tongue.
dun blame the sch or education system
if u are a chinese, it's bery throw face if u can't speak ur MT properly
end of the day, it's whether parents and students themselves treat the language (rather, the whole culture) seriously or not
I disagree.
It is the system.
The system is putting obstacles for people.
ya ya everything blame the system lah
u cannot 大便 today oso blame the system
if u are a chinese, it's bery throw face if u can't speak ur MT properly
Unless you are from older generation.
But why the older generation cannot speak mandarin?
Too lazy to learn?
The younger generation are more hardworking to learn mandarin, the older are too lazy, that is why the older cannot speak mandarin, while the younger can speak a bit.