Originally posted by Suffocate:
Ya it is a very simple theory which all the SAF supporters here refuse to acknowledge and come out with all kinds of arguments to defend the SAF.
I won't be suprise that these people are superiors in the army who bully their subordinates and are trying to defend their own kind.
I do have a feeling they are not really SAF supporters but some jealous NSFs or NSMen or possibly some racists trying to stir up shit...
Originally posted by xtreyier:glad the general realized the tearing up of our constitution and secularism in time and stopped such nonsense!
By all means, go ahead and practise one's religion, BUT NOT AT THE EXPENSE OF OUR OTHER BOYS EFFORTS!!!!!
NEVER, EVER ATTEMPT TO IMPOSE ONE'S RELIGION FOR SPECIAL PRIVILEDGES IN OUR SECULAR SOCIETY, NO MATTER IN WHAT FORM OR HOW SIMPLE IT MAY BE, IN SOMETHING AS PRECIOUS AS DURING THE LEARNING AND TRAINING OF DEFENSE OF OUR NATION - MADE UP OF OUR FAMILIES, RELATIVES AND FRIENDS WHOM WE ARE ALL INTER-CONNECTED IN MORE WAYS THAN ONE!
We are all that there are to protect ourselves. Everyone counts......
Arent u contradicting yrself idiot. Isn't it happening all around u? look at our society...rich getting richer and poor getting poorer . Some have privileges , some dont. Some can even say "get out of my elite faces". why cant this boy get what he want... when a boy wants to practice his faith, u talk b&llshit. Where is yr interconnecting theory?.Why does it only apply to SAF and not other areas of society,, Sore loser...just talking things when its favourable to do so. Hypocrite! So stupid argument just confirms the Jekyll and hyde nature of singaporeans
Give him his food request feed him so he could serve his 2 years.As for his hairstyle 'Sikha' I am not too sure about that.
actually, people look at the rights but forget the responsibilities...
"regardless of race, language or religion.."
they have a right to practice.. no matter what colour, creed or beliefs...
however, they also have the responsibility to serve out their duties "regardless of race, language or religion"
now the armed forces are not your holiday camp although it's fast becoming like one... and it's not as if the armed forces didn't already bend over backwards for him.. they have...
there is a limit..
what next? like it is said.. brahmin, ksatriyas, vasiyas, sudras, pariahs... THEY DO NOT MATTER because "regardless of race, language or religion" everyone is treated equally...
or is the TS just trying to reinstall the caste system?
he cannot fireman-lift his buddy who is from an untouchable caste?
he cannot go into the camp because.. he's not from the warrior caste?
regardless of race, language or religion... all will have to serve...
he jus wants his meals to be delivered from the temple, jus like muslim eating halal food and keep his turf of hair, jus like sikh keeping their turban.
about responsibilities part, he is still serving his ns.
his superior forced him to eat the food from cookhouse
what will happen if u forced a muslim to eat non-halal food?
his superior also wan him to cut off his sihka.
wat will happen if u ask a sihk not to wear turban?
why do u guys keep thinging he is chao keng?
limits.. there are limits...
he's crossed them..
Originally posted by RaTtY8l:he jus wants his meals to be delivered from the temple, jus like muslim eating halal food and keep his turf of hair, jus like sikh keeping their turban.
about responsibilities part, he is still serving his ns.
his superior forced him to eat the food from cookhouse
what will happen if u forced a muslim to eat non-halal food?
his superior also wan him to cut off his sihka.
wat will happen if u ask a sihk not to wear turban?
why do u guys keep thinging he is chao keng?
Perhaps this is not the first case and others before him have had to make some adjustment for the SAF?
Originally posted by flapdoodle:The problem with SAF regular ( not the org) is excessive paranoia and ignorance. As usual SAF is run by people, the same sucky people u find else where in the workforce. Their paranoia blinds them from seeing truth to the point that everything becomes questionable to them. I afraid that such mentality during war , the enemies can deceive the SAF ( which has no war expereince) by manipulating it and then finally defeat them in their own ground. I am very sorry , but this is one of the things said in the Art of War - Deception using paranoia. Time and again it has been used in the world wars and before it to great effectiveness...
80% of SAF are NSF who are forced to serve against their wishes and are just waiting for the 2 years to pass by. The remaining 20% of Regulars some are being tricked into signing on while some sign on because they need the money and some others are just waiting for retirement.
With such type of people in SAF, it isn't a surprise that respecting other people's religion such a simple issue they also don't understand
What can you expect from such an orgainisation? Expect them to be able to defend singapore? Wait long long lor.
Just to reply to some of these posts:
1) Everyone should serve NS unconditionally, it doesn't matter what race/religion you are from.
OK, if you really think that, then stop halal & vegetarian food from being served in canteens, and don't allow Islamic scholars to keep their beards or Sikh men their turbans and beards. If the army can make these accommodations for other religions, then a full-time Hindu priest should be allowed to keep his tuft of hair. He has the grace to have meals prepared at the temple without incurring inconvenience to the SAF cooks and only asks that it be allowed onto army grounds.
The comparison to JWs is ridiculous - the petition clearly states that he fully intends to serve his NS term engaging in all the activities and training that a soldier needs in order to be contigency-ready (even though as a priest, his personal convictions would lean towards non-violence).
2) He is stirring up shit.
After making pleas to his officers, senior officers, being charged twice for the same offences, being forced to cut off his tuft and eat non-sanctified food,and writing to MINDEF, when finally ministers/MPs are approached that's considered stirring up shit? Please.
3) He is trying to reinstate the caste system.
Yeah, because in the petition he totally refused to touch other servicemen, right? Most Hindus in the caste system today don't ven follow that archaic convention, whether you're Brahmin, Kshatriya Dalit or anything else. Please don't hold these false notions about what Hindus today do and do not practise.
I agree that there are limits to accommodation, which occur when you infringe on someone else's rights. He is hurting noone by doing this, and the 5 minutes it would take to check his food packet as a precautionary measure is nothing compared to the wholehearted service he is willing to engage in. This whole episode is probably a bureaucratic mixup anyway, because I have enough faith in our army to believe that they would not as a whole unit violate any faiths.
There are critial mass to other faiths if tomorrow thousands of hindu priest enter NS, SAF also lan lan must cater also.
But thats not the case, if other hindus who are not priest can manage day-to-day meals why can't he? Plus, ask any NSF, why he can so good book out every tuesday/thursday? Does that mean he does not need to do duty on that day also? Wah! So good ah! There are ppl who have finacial difficulties, sole bread winner who kena screwed everyday and can only book out on weekends, then these ppl how?
Dude, the line must be drawn and SAF did. Ask your friend to compromise abit, this world is not fair, u dun get ur way everytime, I am surprised as a priest he cannot comprehend this fact.
Plus, all we heard is TS one side story what about the other side? The full story? Most SAF officers can "close-one-eye" when it comes down to faiths, to me something must have happen to make SAF draw the line so clearly.
Originally posted by xtreyier:
Hell! lets destroy secularism! See who's got the bigger religious movement around and then whomever wins, be ruled by religion! I dont mind having 4 wives! I dont mind being made an indian first class - Brahmin! I don't mind calling myself a monk and drive a BMW, with properties in Perth, racing horses as pets, handsome boys as my 'personal assistant'! Or a so called 'confusionist scholoar' living in my private 'scholar village' with emperor assigned wives and concubines! Whichever, I can adapt.
seriously, xtreyier, you've just became my No. 1 Idol in SGF. u totally rulez.
anyway, for those guys who disagree with this Hindu priest, all i can say is that it shows u guys are really petty.
dude, so what if this guy chao-keng or tuang?! that's his business ok?!
u just serve your 2 yrs of NS and fark off, like what i did.
during my NS, i slog at my store everyday while a fair bit of my fellow guys just sit in the guardroom everyday and read FHM magazines and talk football.
in this case, if this Brahmin priest requires special food and needs etc, just let him be. Why everything must count until fair fair then can?!!
just close one eye and get on with life.
Originally posted by Suffocate:
How you know that he never enquire on whether he can serve police or scdf?
Because NS allows people to serve in other similar service other than SAF. if Madana is still hanging around in the Army, then his case was not even considered.
Originally posted by Nikar7:seriously, xtreyier, you've just became my No. 1 Idol in SGF. u totally rulez.
anyway, for those guys who disagree with this Hindu priest, all i can say is that it shows u guys are really petty.
dude, so what if this guy chao-keng or tuang?! that's his business ok?!
u just serve your 2 yrs of NS and fark off, like what i did.
during my NS, i slog at my store everyday while a fair bit of my fellow guys just sit in the guardroom everyday and read FHM magazines and talk football.
in this case, if this Brahmin priest requires special food and needs etc, just let him be. Why everything must count until fair fair then can?!!
just close one eye and get on with life.
Well, I wonder if we can supply him with his special food while outfield?
Originally posted by xtreyier:How can one claims to be supporting NS when one asks for special priviledges, priviledges that only he alone can get while others are denied?
Thus is or is not the petitioner supporting NS? NS is about youths being taught defensive skills to protect our society to be prepared for adverse situations inclusive of outright conflicts, which is total and incorporates all aspects in engagement of defensive battles, details which are regimented down to the food they eat.
Should there be an outbreak of hostilities between nations and the 'priest' is called to war, will he be allowed to eat his special meals, or partake in whatever that is avaliable, in order to be ready for battle?
Why should other Singaporean boys be made to take on further responsibilities that the 'priest' should rightly perform as is his duty to society for being given the priviledge of citizenship even if by birth?
All in all, this is nothing to do with 'religious persecution', but more an outright attempt to assert and impose one's religion for special priviledge in our secular society.
Where do we draw the line then, when special priviledges are called for, in an equal secular society? This we must sorely ask, before we sign on the dotted line to petition. We are not India with adoption of their caste system in our society, or Muslim Iran ruled by clerics. We are Singapore, an independent secular republic.
So what if singapore is Secular, Does it mean you must throw your belives. I was force to serve for 2yrs, What more do you want? I have given my life to the country so is it fair for me to ask abit for myself? All he is asking for is food! Why can muslim eat halal food and chinese gets theirs noodles and soup. Anyway stop bringing war in the picture, If theres war i dont even think your family will get to eat noodles. Its peace time now.
Originally posted by Herzog_Zwei:Well, I wonder if we can supply him with his special food while outfield?
He is a clerk! anyway have you heard of tupperware or take away? Singapore is so small, it takes only a 15min drive to get out of a jungle anywhere in Singapore
Originally posted by the Bear:actually, people look at the rights but forget the responsibilities...
"regardless of race, language or religion.."
they have a right to practice.. no matter what colour, creed or beliefs...
however, they also have the responsibility to serve out their duties "regardless of race, language or religion"
now the armed forces are not your holiday camp although it's fast becoming like one... and it's not as if the armed forces didn't already bend over backwards for him.. they have...
there is a limit..
what next? like it is said.. brahmin, ksatriyas, vasiyas, sudras, pariahs... THEY DO NOT MATTER because "regardless of race, language or religion" everyone is treated equally...
or is the TS just trying to reinstall the caste system?
he cannot fireman-lift his buddy who is from an untouchable caste?
he cannot go into the camp because.. he's not from the warrior caste?
regardless of race, language or religion... all will have to serve...
Its our duty to fight and serve for this country. Its the duty of Mindef to provide our welfare and take care of us. So what is your problem bringing in caste and stuff. Or in the first place do you know what Brahmin is? Brahmins = Priest , Singaporean indians are not into caste and do not follow it , If not you will see North n South indians fighting everyday, Singapore indians we take care of ourself and help out one another,
Originally posted by Fatum:let me try ......
ermmmmmmm ........ because .... the TS, IS the fellow ? ......
No, the TS is a guy representing a group from a local temple.
The 18-years old priest is currently in DB.
Originally posted by gUms:He is a clerk! anyway have you heard of tupperware or take away? Singapore is so small, it takes only a 15min drive to get out of a jungle anywhere in Singapore
He is a driver. His BMT's CO requested for him to be posted as clerk, but the request was rejected.
Originally posted by Forbiddensinner:No, the TS is a guy representing a group from a local temple.
The 18-years old priest is currently in DB.
Wonder if he is getting the right food in DB
may i sincerely demand that MINDEF release this guy from DB IMMEDIATELY??!!
just because this guy needs special food and accommodation due to his religions, MINDEF threw him in DB??!!!
this is outrageous and if it happened in Myanmar, i can understand, but this is Singapore.
release this guy now. he doesn't deserve this.
my fellow singaporeans, if any foreigner ask u which country u're from, don't say singapore.
say you're from malaysia or china. it's a shame to be associated with this land.
Originally posted by Nikar7:may i sincerely demand that MINDEF release this guy from DB IMMEDIATELY??!!
just because this guy needs special food and accommodation due to his religions, MINDEF threw him in DB??!!!
this is outrageous and if it happened in Myanmar, i can understand, but this is Singapore.
release this guy now. he doesn't deserve this.
my fellow singaporeans, if any foreigner ask u which country u're from, don't say singapore.
say you're from malaysia or china. it's a shame to be associated with this land.
Too late he oreddy tiok charged but after reading about this case I also shake my head after all it all about food and a haircut.Can anyone tell me what is he charged for?
Originally posted by Short Ninja:
Wonder if he is getting the right food in DB
He is currently on a hunger strike.
Originally posted by Forbiddensinner:He is currently on a hunger strike.
Isnt that also a chargeable offence in the SAF?
Currently im in Aust and i have had heaps of people Coming to me and telling me about Singapore! And i have the same reply always! FARK THE SG GARMENT! The only beatiful thing in Singapore is my Family n Friends!! Noting more.
I have gone for a couple of I.C.T but that will be my last, No way am i going to serve this garment!!! I will not fight for their POLITICS. they can go and enroll a 1million foreign fighters for that. All i know is im trying my best to migrate out of Singapore and take my family with me and hopefully help my friends to get out also, Doesnt have to be Oz. Its A Regimental lifeself in Singapore.
Originally posted by Short Ninja:
Isnt that also a chargeable offence in the SAF?
He had already been charged for a few offences.
1 more offence doesn't make a difference to him anymore.