just curious, but i checked out MDIS, PSB Academy etc. and the course they offer is always the same types, like:
1) Accounting
2) Computer Science / Engineering
3) Business Computing
4) Business Management
5) Some misc life science courses
got anything more interesting than these courses?! like u know, other less well-known but still practical courses.
i'm planning to study to upgrade myself cos' i don't wanna be farking admin asst with no life. nowadays when people ask me what's my job position, i don't even dare to say. ![]()
but with such a boring choice of courses, well.......![]()
Originally posted by Nikar7:just curious, but i checked out MDIS, PSB Academy etc. and the course they offer is always the same types, like:
1) Accounting
3) Business Computing
4) Business Management
got anything more interesting than these courses?! like u know, other less well-known but still practical courses.
i'm planning to study to upgrade myself cos' i don't wanna be farking admin asst with no life. nowadays when people ask me what's my job position, i don't even dare to say.
but with such a boring choice of courses, well.......
It depends where your interests lies.
You can always try Shatec if you are interested in Culinary Arts ( though I highly doubt you are ), and you can't say it is not practical to be able to cook well.
This is an example of a guy who is seriously going after his dream and interest : http://www.sgforums.com/forums/12/topics/369057
Other than what you have listed, those interesting courses, you might want to go overseas to take.
Just curious, what job position will you feel proud of when people ask you ?
Originally posted by Forbiddensinner:It depends where your interests lies.
You can always try Shatec if you are interested in Culinary Arts ( though I highly doubt you are ), and you can't say it is not practical to be able to cook well.
This is an example of a guy who is seriously going after his dream and interest : http://www.sgforums.com/forums/12/topics/369057
i really admire that guy and wish him the best.
Originally posted by zoragirl:
Just curious, what job position will you feel proud of when people ask you ?
i'm trying to aim for at least exec-level position in future.
because i see all my colleagues improving and now they're getting SIM's Bachelor in HRM and all i have is toilet paper Marketing diploma crap from MDIS.
nowadays, most SGreans are execs and above liao. if i don't keep up, really will lag behind.
if u see around, u'll find that almost all singaporeans are accountants, engineers, or belong to the PMET group (PMET = Professionals, Managers, Executives and Technicians).
nowadays, the only admin assts are mainly those malay aunties or chinese aunties in their 40 - 50s.....i now 25 yrs old man don't wanna end up in that fate.
btw, is there a common name for those "skill courses"?
as in, like, those carpentry, hairstyling etc., which requires the use of hands and not those "soft skills" like business management / finance etc.
i'm also trying to research into that area but not sure if got a general name for those.
Originally posted by Nikar7:btw, is there a common name for those "skill courses"?
as in, like, those carpentry, hairstyling etc., which requires the use of hands and not those "soft skills" like business management / finance etc.
i'm also trying to research into that area but not sure if got a general name for those.
Handcraft courses. Sounds like something you will find in ITE.
Originally posted by Nikar7:just curious, but i checked out MDIS, PSB Academy etc. and the course they offer is always the same types, like:
1) Accounting
3) Business Computing
4) Business Management
i'm planning to study to upgrade myself cos' i don't wanna be farking admin asst with no life. nowadays when people ask me what's my job position, i don't even dare to say.
but with such a boring choice of courses, well.......
How come what course you want to take you also have to ask people?
Does that mean you dont know what you want?
If i said music course or arts course leh? These are very interesting courses, but i doubt will suit you.
Define interesting?
Originally posted by Forbiddensinner:Handcraft courses. Sounds like something you will find in ITE.
Other places also have la. Why only ITE?
Originally posted by Lorry`:How come what course you want to take you also have to ask people?
Does that mean you dont know what you want?
If i said music course or arts course leh? These are very interesting courses, but i doubt will suit you.Define interesting?
yeah lah, i don't know what course to take, so i'm seeking advice here since some of u have better insight and knowledge than me. :-D
Originally posted by Lorry`:Other places also have la. Why only ITE?
what other places other than ITE? went to ITE websiter and it's all engineering.
Originally posted by Lorry`:Other places also have la. Why only ITE?
I know. But the 1st place which comes to mind is seriously ITE.
Originally posted by Nikar7:what other places other than ITE? went to ITE websiter and it's all engineering.
Originally posted by Forbiddensinner:I know. But the 1st place which comes to mind is seriously ITE.
Originally posted by Nikar7:what other places other than ITE? went to ITE websiter and it's all engineering.
That is because you never search thoroughly.
http://www.ite.edu.sg/ft/cert_level_nitec.htm
http://www.ite.edu.sg/ft/cert_level_hnitec.htm
Originally posted by Forbiddensinner:That is because you never search thoroughly.
thanks sinner! i'm now slowly reading those links.
btw, mass comms diploma / degree got any future in SG?
as in, generally, people who study mass comms usually work as what?
the course modules sounds good to me:
MDIS Marketing Diploma?
1) Powerpoint presentation
2) Excel Advance
3) Languages
4) Keyboard typing
5) Personal Grooming
6) Decent exercise regime, example......train to run a marathon.
7) Nursing, Law, IT, Finance & probably human resource management diplomas
8) Riding, driving, diving & flying licences.
Originally posted by viciouskitty74:MDIS Marketing Diploma?
1) Powerpoint presentation
2) Excel Advance
3) Languages
4) Keyboard typing
5) Personal Grooming
6) Decent exercise regime, example......train to run a marathon.
7) Nursing, Law, IT, Finance & probably human resource management diplomas
8) Riding, driving, diving & flying licences.
i got MDIS marketing diploma liao.....now looking at mass comms since it looks promising.
i got 1, 4 and 5 liao, the rest i not very interested.
5 is mostly for gigolos who want to attract clients, though.
To me: In society, you posses degree also not much help.
Most importantly, Must be Smart but not act smart.
Originally posted by Forbiddensinner:That is because you never search thoroughly.
btw, these links are for full-time education.....i now working so can only part-time.
Originally posted by Itedino:To me: In society, you posses degree also not much help.
Most importantly, Must be Smart but not act smart.
if degree not much help then how people get good jobs? ![]()
like that everybody no need to study liao.
Originally posted by Nikar7:thanks sinner! i'm now slowly reading those links.
btw, mass comms diploma / degree got any future in SG?
as in, generally, people who study mass comms usually work as what?
the course modules sounds good to me:
- Introduction to Mass Communication
- Introduction to Digital Communication
- Visual Communication
- Principles of Journalism
- Principles of Public Relations
- Principles of Advertising
- Interpersonal and Intercultural Communication
- Film, Theatre and Photography Studies
- Media Laws and Ethics
- Media, Culture and Society
- Cable, TV and Radio Broadcasting
- Reporting and News Writing
- Advertising Practices and Strategies
- Public Relations Strategies and Practices
- Fundamentals of Media Research
- Corporate Communication and Media Management
http://jobs.singaporeexpats.com/search.html?query=mass+communication&postdate=30&Submit=Find+jobs
So do you think that with a mass communication diploma/degree you will have a future or not in Singapore?
Originally posted by Forbiddensinner:http://jobs.singaporeexpats.com/search.html?query=mass+communication&postdate=30&Submit=Find+jobs
So do you think that with a mass communication diploma/degree you will have a future or not in Singapore?
those mass comms jobs sounds good lah, but i not sure if this subject is suitable for me.
is it mass comms people must be super-extrovert, those zouk-out, wild-party, frat-parties type?
the other option i'm considering is those digital media / design / animation area.
Originally posted by Nikar7:btw, these links are for full-time education.....i now working so can only part-time.
http://www.ite.edu.sg/cet/
Here you go then.
Originally posted by Nikar7:
if degree not much help then how people get good jobs?like that everybody no need to study liao.
Share with you one thing, MOst boss do not posses degree, let alone a diploma.
LIke my boss, He is in his 30s. Secondary schook education, now live in Condo.
MY frz uncle own a Printing firm, now living in Siglap Terrace house, No education before.