Originally posted by Nikar7:who says only hard-to-study courses then can have plenty of girls?
it is dreamers like me who make the legends of tomorrow.
Well, all the dreamers who became great legends worked very hard, and I am pretty sure they didn't attempt to find "as simple a course as possible".
25 years already
still in his own dreamland
Very sad case
Originally posted by noahnoah:25 years already
still in his own dreamland
Very sad case
i hope u take up marine engineering so that u can complete your ark asap.
The Central CDC, located at HDB Hub Toa Payoh has really good interesting free talks.
Try going for one to get a better feel of how you can choose a change to better suit your needs.
Originally posted by Nikar7:After some research, i can say mass comms isn't for me.
digital media / animation really has no future in SG.
now i'm looking at: http://www.inspiration.sg/diploma.html#
any interior designer here? what do u think of this diploma?
i hope if i really graduate from this interior design dip, i don't have to wear overalls and paint walls and drill ceilings and eat lunch with banglahs and PRC.
First of all, do you know what is interior design or not?
Originally posted by Nikar7:i'm overwhelmed by the amt of courses out there available for me after all these research, but i think it's best to find a course which is:
1) not that hard to study
2) able to find steady job in SG
3) something which i've at least some interest in
4) preferably also, has a balanced amt of girls taking the course (those guy-course like IT or engineering = no no)
now i'm looking at either interior design, multimedia or business computing.
anyone with interior design or multimedia or business computing certs care to advise?
1. Interior design is not easy. What makes you think it's easy?
2. Cant be confirmed. It depends on your connection etc.
3. So do you have interest in interior design? How sure you are?
4. ![]()
Originally posted by Nikar7:i'm overwhelmed by the amt of courses out there available for me after all these research, but i think it's best to find a course which is:
1) not that hard to study
2) able to find steady job in SG
3) something which i've at least some interest in
4) preferably also, has a balanced amt of girls taking the course (those guy-course like IT or engineering = no no)
now i'm looking at either interior design, multimedia or business computing.
anyone with interior design or multimedia or business computing certs care to advise?
1. Nothing is "not that hard to study". What makes it easy though, is your interest. IT and Science looks easy to me, because the interest is there. Once the motivation to learn is there, concepts are easily absorbed and learnt. The application may or may not be easily applied, but as long as you want to learn, you may find some concepts are easily applied.
2. I find that SG is quite trendy in terms of jobs. There used to be a time where engineering and IT jobs are hot. Before the financial disaster, financial jobs are hot. At around the same time when the financial industry was booming, SG Science field is also opening up, and it's quite easy to get a job. Now, due to all those people wanting a hot job, certain fields jobs are not filled. IT, engineering and science are pretty steady because innovation and development is always needed. But none of these fields are very easy as you progress and you may find yourself asking stupid questions like "is it worth it" in 5 to 10 years' time.
3. That you have to ask yourself. There are so many things to study in this world, what in general interest you? HRM? Business? Science? Maths? Languages? History? Geography? Art? Music? IT? Engineering? Accounting? Etc... To list them it would be endless, but for certain, if you would definitely study a couple subjects that you won't like to be more well-rounded. Bear in mind also, some courses are not available in Singapore and are found only overseas.
4. LOL... unfortunately quite a lot of fields are dominated by either males or females.
Don't know anything about interior design.
Multimedia - it's going to be a big field. Which area are you you interested in?
Business computing - mixture of IT and business.
Both multimedia and business computing courses can be found in local polytechnics.
Originally posted by Lorry`:First of all, do you know what is interior design or not?
His only interest is in whether the course is easy and the amount of girls taking the course with him.
Originally posted by Forbiddensinner:His only interest is in whether the course is easy and the amount of girls taking the course with him.
I would say dancing classes is easy.
And there is a lot of girls in those classes. Especially for salsa & latin classes.
TS can expect to do a career switch to become a professional dance partner or even a gigolo easier.
Originally posted by viciouskitty74:The Central CDC, located at HDB Hub Toa Payoh has really good interesting free talks.
Try going for one to get a better feel of how you can choose a change to better suit your needs.
thanks, but i think i decide to go for that AEC course first. Usually, these talks make you "feel good" inside but at the end of the day, we still have to make our own decisions etc.
Originally posted by Lorry`:First of all, do you know what is interior design or not?
yeah, interior design = designing of anything in a building / home's interior like walls, rooms, and also includes furniture etc
and btw, 4) is funny leh......why u got so many expressions one? ![]()
Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:
2. I find that SG is quite trendy in terms of jobs. There used to be a time where engineering and IT jobs are hot. Before the financial disaster, financial jobs are hot. At around the same time when the financial industry was booming, SG Science field is also opening up, and it's quite easy to get a job. Now, due to all those people wanting a hot job, certain fields jobs are not filled. IT, engineering and science are pretty steady because innovation and development is always needed. But none of these fields are very easy as you progress and you may find yourself asking stupid questions like "is it worth it" in 5 to 10 years' time.
Don't know anything about interior design.
Multimedia - it's going to be a big field. Which area are you you interested in?
Business computing - mixture of IT and business.
Both multimedia and business computing courses can be found in local polytechnics.
2) yeah, SG moves quite fast in terms of job "trendiness" and "fads".
however, getting an IT job (programming or IT guy fixing office computers etc.) is the last thing i'll ever do, because as far as i know, IT guys tend to need to work very late into the night. My cousin who got BSc in Computer Science now works from 9 AM to 1 AM (yes, 1 AM, no typo) from Mon - Fri. Can u imagine??!!!
btw, i read from some posts here that you work in IT field? if that's the case, do u happen to know if digital animation industry here got any future? i'm thinking of learning general multimedia first and then specialize in Flash etc.
i've seen 3D animation books but it seems that you need to know computer science and have at least a BSc in Maths before you can be good in 3D animation (due to the maths required in those 3D environment etc). My maths fail big time, btw.
also, i can only attend part-time courses now, not full-time.
polys here got offer some part-time courses which are quite good, but those <insert most foul word here> don't accept me cos' i've no poly diploma. ![]()
i've backbone and won't want to dirty or soil my shoes by stepping into their "get out of my elite uncaring face" premises. ![]()
Originally posted by Nikar7:2) yeah, SG moves quite fast in terms of job "trendiness" and "fads".
however, getting an IT job (programming or IT guy fixing office computers etc.) is the last thing i'll ever do, because as far as i know, IT guys tend to need to work very late into the night. My cousin who got BSc in Computer Science now works from 9 AM to 1 AM (yes, 1 AM, no typo) from Mon - Fri. Can u imagine??!!!
btw, i read from some posts here that you work in IT field? if that's the case, do u happen to know if digital animation industry here got any future? i'm thinking of learning general multimedia first and then specialize in Flash etc.
i've seen 3D animation books but it seems that you need to know computer science and have at least a BSc in Maths before you can be good in 3D animation (due to the maths required in those 3D environment etc). My maths fail big time, btw.
also, i can only attend part-time courses now, not full-time.
polys here got offer some part-time courses which are quite good, but those <insert most foul word here> don't accept me cos' i've no poly diploma.
i've backbone and won't want to dirty or soil my shoes by stepping into their "get out of my elite uncaring face" premises.
It depends on what IT job you get. Most IT jobs have a stable timing, but passionate IT people can go on doing the job without rest, or with just a few hours of rest.
Support, networking and security people tend to have irregular working hours, especially if you work in an MNC. Phones are typically 24 hours on standby.
Despite good reports about our digital animation industry, I'm skeptical about them. It could be a mindset issue, because Singapore, in my opinion, has no focus. Wherever the trend moves, you will find Singapore moving towards it. Currently, it looks quite good. I can't say for future.
Before even talking about 3D animation, you should know 2D animation first. Some 3D animation is taught in local polytechnics here, and would require you to know some Additional Mathematics stuffs. More advanced stuffs would probably require more knowledge of other Mathematics concepts. If you fail E-Maths, I suggest you brush up on it.
On the poly courses, did you look at the right course? Did you look at some advanced diplomas or specialist diplomas? All of these require you to have at least a diploma, or working experience for those without diploma (may be on a case-by-case basis). Some even require degree.
Somehow I feel our advice is irrelevant. You want an interesting course, to improve yourself so you can jump into that career path so you can get more 'face' and not be embarassed about it.
Why the fuck for?
I haven't found anything about "what I want to do" or "what are my interests" within the 3 pages. Maybe I overlooked.
As far as you can pick up from the advice people give you, it will only work if you are interested and willing to know. Not trying to find out more of one thing just so you can weigh which one gives you more 'face'. I won't say money cause, why do we work in the first place?
And we're here giving you advice cause we believe you are interested in firstly, improving yourself. Not trying to find a course to suit your needs. By needs I mean not having to work for it, hoping for it to be easy, something that you'll be interested in (which I highlighted earlier) and girl > boy ratio in a course?
I suggest you wake up your idea.
Don't do something just because it's interesting, do it because your interested in the damn thing.
Good luck.
PS: This would probably be the last time I'll try to post anything constructive in relevance to anything you post anymore. Because from all your posts, ever since you started posting makes me want to strangle you.
Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:It depends on what IT job you get. Most IT jobs have a stable timing, but passionate IT people can go on doing the job without rest, or with just a few hours of rest.
Support, networking and security people tend to have irregular working hours, especially if you work in an MNC. Phones are typically 24 hours on standby.
Despite good reports about our digital animation industry, I'm skeptical about them. It could be a mindset issue, because Singapore, in my opinion, has no focus. Wherever the trend moves, you will find Singapore moving towards it. Currently, it looks quite good. I can't say for future.
Before even talking about 3D animation, you should know 2D animation first. Some 3D animation is taught in local polytechnics here, and would require you to know some Additional Mathematics stuffs. More advanced stuffs would probably require more knowledge of other Mathematics concepts. If you fail E-Maths, I suggest you brush up on it.
On the poly courses, did you look at the right course? Did you look at some advanced diplomas or specialist diplomas? All of these require you to have at least a diploma, or working experience for those without diploma (may be on a case-by-case basis). Some even require degree.
actually, you're spot-on regarding my cousin's job.
he's working in an American software MNC here (not Microsoft, though), and is mainly in charge of fixing and debugging the software's bugs / glitches, and i think he also do a bit of IT maintenance sai-kang + daily software builds, that's why work so late.
as for 3D animation, i don't feel like going into that field after reading some 3D animation books in the library yesterday. actually, to use 3D animation software to create a decent object, you don't really need to know 3D math stuff.
however, to become a 3D professional animator good enough to be hired by companies, 3D math is a must. And btw, these 3D math stuff are MORE DIFFICULT than any JC-level maths i've ever seen. It's more like computer-science level type of maths....or should i say, only those guys with PhD in Mathematics can understand.
it's very scary for guys like me who can't even do some primary 4 maths. ![]()
and poly courses, for their part-time courses, they offer only advanced and specialist diplomas (the specialist diplomas require a local poly diploma in any discipline.......i look at their course sypnosis and could tell at one glance i won't have a problem understanding them but these guys refuse to listen to me). ![]()
if that AEC is S$5000 and not S$1000, i'm going to look for alternatives, although those specialized certificate courses like Photoshop CS 3 / Flash MX are so damn short (like 48 hours etc) and u can't learn anything from those.
Originally posted by Keii:Somehow I feel our advice is irrelevant. You want an interesting course, to improve yourself so you can jump into that career path so you can get more 'face' and not be embarassed about it.
Why the fuck for?
I haven't found anything about "what I want to do" or "what are my interests" within the 3 pages. Maybe I overlooked.
As far as you can pick up from the advice people give you, it will only work if you are interested and willing to know. Not trying to find out more of one thing just so you can weigh which one gives you more 'face'. I won't say money cause, why do we work in the first place?
And we're here giving you advice cause we believe you are interested in firstly, improving yourself. Not trying to find a course to suit your needs. By needs I mean not having to work for it, hoping for it to be easy, something that you'll be interested in (which I highlighted earlier) and girl > boy ratio in a course?
I suggest you wake up your idea.
Don't do something just because it's interesting, do it because your interested in the damn thing.
Good luck.
ok lah, maybe i didn't word my posts properly, but i really want to improve myself and my career which is why i'm posting this stuff here.
the girl part is good, but that's a bonus if the course happens to have more girls than guys.
for the past 4.5 years ever since i ORD, i've been doing admin job and i hate every min of it. i knew i was wasting my time but i refuse to move. Now that i think back, i really have been wasting every single min of my life during these 4.5 years.
I WANT CHANGE!!!!!!!! Yes we can, Yes we can! (slogan copyright of Barack Obama)
among all the fields out there, i'm most interested in computing-related.
last week i force myself to sign-up for ither the shipping management course (logistics) and Human Resource Management, but when i look at their course details, i really want to throw up and in the end, i didn't sign up.
thank god i didn't, or i'll be wasting another 2 - 4 years of my time.
Originally posted by Keii:
ever since you started posting makes me want to strangle you.
pls don't!!!!!!!
most IT ppl eng eng cheng cheng de loh.
Originally posted by Hello Kitty:most IT ppl eng eng cheng cheng de loh.
dun think so. IT people got their problems also, you dunno only.
they will oly hv probs when tings cocked up.
if nt, they are one of the most eng ones ard.
oh oh oh.
they oso will hv probs when they hv toopid end-users for colliks.
Originally posted by Hello Kitty:they will oly hv probs when tings cocked up.
then u switch to IT and see if really eng or not lol
Originally posted by Nikar7:ok lah, maybe i didn't word my posts properly, but i really want to improve myself and my career which is why i'm posting this stuff here.
the girl part is good, but that's a bonus if the course happens to have more girls than guys.
for the past 4.5 years ever since i ORD, i've been doing admin job and i hate every min of it. i knew i was wasting my time but i refuse to move. Now that i think back, i really have been wasting every single min of my life during these 4.5 years.
I WANT CHANGE!!!!!!!! Yes we can, Yes we can! (slogan copyright of Barack Obama)
among all the fields out there, i'm most interested in computing-related.
last week i force myself to sign-up for ither the shipping management course (logistics) and Human Resource Management, but when i look at their course details, i really want to throw up and in the end, i didn't sign up.
thank god i didn't, or i'll be wasting another 2 - 4 years of my time.
Aiyah, jokes aside. No matter what you choose, please have interest in it, work hard and stick with it no matter what and be professional.
As much as you desire change, what's most important is the perseverence and dedication you put into it. Somehow, you recognize the fact that you are 25 and it's 'rather late'. Then pull up your socks and work for it.
Originally posted by marcteng:then u switch to IT and see if really eng or not lol
sollie hor, not my interest.
basically a get-no-whr job.
Originally posted by Hello Kitty:they will oly hv probs when tings cocked up.
Agree with the problems and colleagues. IT is also very siong if you're the only one doing shit right when colleagues keep messing your shit up and everyone has more work to do.
whn th system's up & runnin, no one will rem u.
dat's y IT ppl can eng until so eng.
coz nobirdie will care abt dem one.
bt whn shit happens, den they is hong gan liao.