Originally posted by Hello Kitty:whn th system's up & runnin, no one will rem u.
dat's y IT ppl can eng until so eng.
coz nobirdie will care abt dem one.
bt whn shit happens, den they is hong gan liao.
Yeah but like you say lah, it's pretty much as it is. The only way up is if you end up starting your own IT company so you become a manager. Otherwise it's just eng for awhile, fix shit or awhile, eng, fix, eng, fix until you die or change career paths.
IT job not easy.
consider these:
1) have to stay back when people all went home (due to backups of data and some back-ups can only be done when computers not running).
2) have to upgrade entire company's PCs (if got 40 PCs and company wants to upgrade RAM, then u die die must take apart 40 PCs, unscrew, put in RAM, screw back, test).
3) if midnight / Chinese New Year / Christmas / weekend and your colliks at Siloso beach have wild nude parties and frat orzies, and the company's servers go down, then u die die must go back and fix even until ok
4) if colliks screw up their computers, u die die have to fix and sometimes it's a virus attack etc, and u may need to spend 4 - 10 hours finding the mysterious thing. If really cannot, need to format PC and this takes even longer
5) if need to install software, then even lagi worse. Prepare to burn all your weekends away and sign divorce papers cos' wife will leave u for other guys like accountants and finance honchos (meaning, u prepare to wear Green Hat)
6) do other sai-kang and bits and ends
Originally posted by Nikar7:IT job not easy.
consider these:
1) have to stay back when people all went home (due to backups of data and some back-ups can only be done when computers not running).
2) have to upgrade entire company's PCs (if got 40 PCs and company wants to upgrade RAM, then u die die must take apart 40 PCs, unscrew, put in RAM, screw back, test).
3) if midnight / Chinese New Year / Christmas / weekend and your colliks at Siloso beach have wild nude parties and frat orzies, and the company's servers go down, then u die die must go back and fix even until ok
4) if colliks screw up their computers, u die die have to fix and sometimes it's a virus attack etc, and u may need to spend 4 - 10 hours finding the mysterious thing. If really cannot, need to format PC and this takes even longer
5) if need to install software, then even lagi worse. Prepare to burn all your weekends away and sign divorce papers cos' wife will leave u for other guys like accountants and finance honchos (meaning, u prepare to wear Green Hat)
IT job market too saturated in sg. Moreover, many companies employ cheap labour from countries like India and Myanmar.
Originally posted by Fantagf:
IT job market too saturated in sg. Moreover, many companies employ cheap labour from countries like India and Myanmar.
yeah, i understand that, but i don't really intend to go IT.
i'm aiming more for digital design area:
check this out: http://www.ite.edu.sg/cet/nitecisc/nitecisc_dmd.htm#entryreq
it's from ITE somemore!!! now waiting for their replies.
if course fee not too expensive, i will sign up even if i must kill.
very comprehensive modules, better than those PSB and MDIS modules.
(although the ITE cert is not very "pretty")
*UPDATE
ok, i just checked out the Nitec fees.....only S$983!!!!!
I'm going to sign up now. Many thanks to PAP for setting up ITE. i love PAP!
btw, i checked the website again and it says the next intake is in Jan 2010 and registration is in Oct 09. ![]()
still a long time to wait and about 6 more mths to go....
maybe i should consider other alternatives since i'm wasting my time if i wait so long. ![]()
Originally posted by Nikar7:actually, you're spot-on regarding my cousin's job.
he's working in an American software MNC here (not Microsoft, though), and is mainly in charge of fixing and debugging the software's bugs / glitches, and i think he also do a bit of IT maintenance sai-kang + daily software builds, that's why work so late.
as for 3D animation, i don't feel like going into that field after reading some 3D animation books in the library yesterday. actually, to use 3D animation software to create a decent object, you don't really need to know 3D math stuff.
however, to become a 3D professional animator good enough to be hired by companies, 3D math is a must. And btw, these 3D math stuff are MORE DIFFICULT than any JC-level maths i've ever seen. It's more like computer-science level type of maths....or should i say, only those guys with PhD in Mathematics can understand.
it's very scary for guys like me who can't even do some primary 4 maths.
and poly courses, for their part-time courses, they offer only advanced and specialist diplomas (the specialist diplomas require a local poly diploma in any discipline.......i look at their course sypnosis and could tell at one glance i won't have a problem understanding them but these guys refuse to listen to me).
if that AEC is S$5000 and not S$1000, i'm going to look for alternatives, although those specialized certificate courses like Photoshop CS 3 / Flash MX are so damn short (like 48 hours etc) and u can't learn anything from those.
You are over-exaggerating it again.
Originally posted by Nikar7:ok lah, maybe i didn't word my posts properly, but i really want to improve myself and my career which is why i'm posting this stuff here.
the girl part is good, but that's a bonus if the course happens to have more girls than guys.
for the past 4.5 years ever since i ORD, i've been doing admin job and i hate every min of it. i knew i was wasting my time but i refuse to move. Now that i think back, i really have been wasting every single min of my life during these 4.5 years.
I WANT CHANGE!!!!!!!! Yes we can, Yes we can! (slogan copyright of Barack Obama)
among all the fields out there, i'm most interested in computing-related.
last week i force myself to sign-up for ither the shipping management course (logistics) and Human Resource Management, but when i look at their course details, i really want to throw up and in the end, i didn't sign up.
thank god i didn't, or i'll be wasting another 2 - 4 years of my time.

Originally posted by Nikar7:btw, i checked the website again and it says the next intake is in Jan 2010 and registration is in Oct 09.
maybe i should consider other alternatives since i'm wasting my time if i wait so long.
You just can't make up your mind, can you?
consider these:
er...er...er...you can't have your cake and eat it. i mean why else would your employer pay you if not to work? they can hardly be paying you to surf the net, chat, do your personal things etc.
Originally posted by Forbiddensinner:You are over-exaggerating it again.
seriously, i'm not. u must be at least computer-science lvl to understand those math.
that kind of math would make even the toughest JC 2nd-year math look like K1 math.
Originally posted by Forbiddensinner:You just can't make up your mind, can you?
i made up my mind liao; thanks for your concern all these while. ![]()
Originally posted by cassie:er...er...er...you can't have your cake and eat it. i mean why else would your employer pay you if not to work? they can hardly be paying you to surf the net, chat, do your personal things etc.
yeah lah, but welfare is also important mah.
btw, nowadays, if u look at your young colliks, how many of them surf Facebook and MSN chat and do personal work? ![]()
also, i'm a strong believer of the work-play-balance concept.
those kind of work like start at 9 AM and work overtime until 8:30 PM or later types, i really cannot accept .![]()
once in a while, ok lah, no problem even if no OT pay.
but if most days like that, then 3 words: KNN.
Originally posted by Forbiddensinner:
that guy is different from me ok? ![]()
although he holds the signboard saying he wants change, he's just sitting there begging as usual. at least i'm getting up on my feet slowly finding courses and what action to take next.
and i'm even going to polish my resume tonight to find another job soon.
Yes we can! Yes we can!

Originally posted by Nikar7:seriously, i'm not. u must be at least computer-science lvl to understand those math.
that kind of math would make even the toughest JC 2nd-year math look like K1 math.
Indeed, it is probably tougher than JC Maths.
But to say it is pHD-lvl is really an exaggeration.
Just to let you know :
JC => Bsc => Masters => pHD => Post-pHD
Originally posted by Nikar7:yeah lah, but welfare is also important mah.
btw, nowadays, if u look at your young colliks, how many of them surf Facebook and MSN chat and do personal work?
also, i'm a strong believer of the work-play-balance concept.
those kind of work like start at 9 AM and work overtime until 8:30 PM or later types, i really cannot accept .
once in a while, ok lah, no problem even if no OT pay.
but if most days like that, then 3 words: KNN.
yeah but your post reads like you can't stand labour/working.
anyway, this is what someone once told me about the work-life-balance
work is your life. the rest is up to you to balance.
Originally posted by Forbiddensinner:Indeed, it is probably tougher than JC Maths.
But to say it is pHD-lvl is really an exaggeration.
Just to let you know :
JC => Bsc => Masters => pHD => Post-pHD
ok, maybe i exaggerated a bit since i always exaggerate, but as a matter of fact, i would say it's near the level of BSc.
i plan to take up part-time Masters in Hair Management this fall
Originally posted by PedoBear:i plan to take up part-time Masters in Hair Management this fall
i knew you would pick such a course to manage your coat of bear fur
Originally posted by PedoBear:i plan to take up part-time Masters in Hair Management this fall
Isn't it fall ( Autumn ) now?
Originally posted by Nikar7:actually, you're spot-on regarding my cousin's job.
he's working in an American software MNC here (not Microsoft, though), and is mainly in charge of fixing and debugging the software's bugs / glitches, and i think he also do a bit of IT maintenance sai-kang + daily software builds, that's why work so late.
as for 3D animation, i don't feel like going into that field after reading some 3D animation books in the library yesterday. actually, to use 3D animation software to create a decent object, you don't really need to know 3D math stuff.
however, to become a 3D professional animator good enough to be hired by companies, 3D math is a must. And btw, these 3D math stuff are MORE DIFFICULT than any JC-level maths i've ever seen. It's more like computer-science level type of maths....or should i say, only those guys with PhD in Mathematics can understand.
it's very scary for guys like me who can't even do some primary 4 maths.
and poly courses, for their part-time courses, they offer only advanced and specialist diplomas (the specialist diplomas require a local poly diploma in any discipline.......i look at their course sypnosis and could tell at one glance i won't have a problem understanding them but these guys refuse to listen to me).
if that AEC is S$5000 and not S$1000, i'm going to look for alternatives, although those specialized certificate courses like Photoshop CS 3 / Flash MX are so damn short (like 48 hours etc) and u can't learn anything from those.
LOL... a look at their course synopsis and could tell at one glance that you won't have problems understanding them? You are very naive.
consider these:
Lots to correct here.
1. Not all IT jobs are like that, unless you end up working in the networking, server, database, BCT, etc fields. For small IT companies, if you are the support staff, you can't run away from this. It's your job. But for big companies, you probably have no chance of running into such trouble.
2. It's part and parcel of IT. Old have to upgrade. Can't upgrade, either build or buy new one.
3. That is you suay.
4. It's also part and parcel of IT. Company didn't hire you to zou boh you know.
5. Hello brother, there's something called automation. If I hire you to buy 40 XP CDs, 40 Office CDs so that you can install on all 40 PCs at one go, you might as well go home.
Me no money to buy 40 XP CDs and 40 Office CDs and 40 of whatever software CDs.
IT is there to help repetitive tasks. Put everything you need to install on a server, connect all these PCs to the server, set the first boot device to a network drive, configure the installation to run automatically, test to make sure they can detect the network drive and you're done.
6. Part and parcel of any job.
On second thoughts, since everything also hard, you might as well continue your admin job? Should be easy?
Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:On second thoughts, since everything also hard, you might as well continue your admin job? Should be easy?
He finds his current job repetitive and boring.
How ironic.
Originally posted by Nikar7:btw, i checked the website again and it says the next intake is in Jan 2010 and registration is in Oct 09.
maybe i should consider other alternatives since i'm wasting my time if i wait so long.
-_-
1. Registration needs time to process.
2. Need to wait for previous batch classes to end, or at the least, cover around 75% so that the teachers don't burn out.
3. Teachers need time to update some of the slightly old teaching materials.
4. This time is for you to prepare, research more on the course you're planning to do.
Originally posted by Forbiddensinner:He finds his current job repetitive and boring.
How ironic.
Yeah. Seriously can't believe he's 25. ![]()
Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:Yeah. Seriously can't believe he's 25.
He is 25 - physically only.