Originally posted by Nikar7:no lah, i look at their course synopsis and the modules really quite simple.
of course i haven't seen their textbooks yet, but dear ndndndxiaomayi bro.....how hard can a basic diploma be? private basic dip = 1st year polytechnic standard
the only hard stuff i see are those later modules like object-oriented programming but considering that i used to write programs using VC++ years ago, those are not a problem and i can pick them up fast (not boasting or anything).
anyway, i've decided to go for the ITE one, better. More design-oriented as compared to more programming-oriented.
1) this term "IT" generally is used to refer to jobs which consist of general hardware / software troubleshooting / maintenance and mainly database / networking / servers. so more or less, usually when people do IT job, mainly is in these few areas. Those like software engineering types (programming etc.) are another area altogether. Maybe I'm wrong, but that's what a software engineer used to tell me.
5) very good idea! ha ha, i know nuts about networking.
However, i think the downside to this is that if 40 PCs access the Windows XP on the network on the same time, it's gonna be quite slow, as compared to the Windows XP installed on the PC's HDD itself.
if it's convenient, what IT job are u working as now? system analyst? network engineer?
How hard a basic diploma can be - I've got no idea. It depends on the modules. Some modules you can ace through, but some modules are just not so easy. It may look easy in the synopsis, but when you really do it, it's not.
OOP at the beginning is easy, wait till you start writing algorithms. It's not as simple as you think.
1. No right or wrong over this. Some think software engineers are engineers, while others think otherwise.
go study ACCA lar.
TS wants easy life. ACCA is not easy. ![]()
Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:TS wants easy life. ACCA is not easy.
easy life? then study LCCI or CATS lar
ACCA is damn difficult than accountancy degree
Originally posted by marcteng:easy life? then study LCCI or CATS lar
ACCA is damn difficult than accountancy degree
What's CATS?
Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:What's CATS?
ACCA is considered as degree in the acc industry. CATS is like a diploma level.
how abt learning how to cook or some culinary or baking skills
Originally posted by marcteng:how abt learning how to cook or some culinary or baking skills
dun trigger him please.
Later he burn the whole kitchen down how sia.
Then the entire cooking course has to call it off.
thought TS wants to childcare teacher?
Originally posted by thoreldan:thought TS wants to childcare teacher?
study for diploma in pre education then, then follow by degree and masters in pre education if he is serious
Originally posted by marcteng:ACCA is considered as degree in the acc industry. CATS is like a diploma level.
Oh... thanks.
Originally posted by Lorry`:dun trigger him please.
Later he burn the whole kitchen down how sia.
Then the entire cooking course has to call it off.
So jialat meh?
Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:Oh... thanks.
np. what u want to study?
how abt TS go apply to be card dealer or groupier. there is a course on this.
btw how much does the groupier earn eh in a month? anyone knows?
Originally posted by marcteng:np. what u want to study?
Me? IT or Science. May end up studying a little bit of both.
Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:Me? IT or Science. May end up studying a little bit of both.
huh? degree or masters or dip?
Originally posted by thoreldan:thought TS wants to childcare teacher?
When did he said that?
Originally posted by marcteng:huh? degree or masters or dip?
Science will be aiming at least dip. For IT, unlikely I will be aiming anything higher than the dip I have now. More likely, will be aiming for the certifications in the networking and security fields.
Originally posted by Lorry`:since ur job is so slack, then u concentrate on your studies lor.
u want challenging job? wait until u quit lor and find your own challenging job.
no lah, my course starts Jan 2010, so still a long time away. ![]()
actually, i don't really mean "challenging job" lah, but more like meaningful job.
yeah, meaningful is the word, not challenging ("challenging" means an o' lvl guy doing accountant's job) ![]()
Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:TS wants easy life. ACCA is not easy.
i won't study anything related to accounts due to no interest.
Originally posted by Nikar7:no lah, my course starts Jan 2010, so still a long time away.
actually, i don't really mean "challenging job" lah, but more like meaningful job.
yeah, meaningful is the word, not challenging ("challenging" means an o' lvl guy doing accountant's job)
What is meaningful?
Originally posted by marcteng:study for diploma in pre education then, then follow by degree and masters in pre education if he is serious
no lah, childcare education i got consider, but as i say before, i) for a real man to be kindergarten teacher really mei chu xi and ii) i don't want people to think i pedo (that title is reserved for pedobear bro).
Originally posted by Forbiddensinner:When did he said that?
in an old thread of mine. but that one old liao.
Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:What is meaningful?
meaningful = doing the things u like. In this case, the job scope has to be something related to your interest / passion
in my case, filing, photocopying, printing, dealing with shipping matters really not my stuff.
i go home nowadays feeling so empty and dejected, so obviously, that's not a meaningful job.
for you, since u deal network, u feel very "on" during your job right? and u go home feeling full and like a real man right? that's what a meaningful job is about.