Recently i went for an interview for Management Trainee(MT) in a restaurant. The boss was such an ignorant fool and thought he could take advantage of the bad economy to eat his staff.
I will not include in the entire conversation like he asking me to intro etc and just go straight into conversation that shows his ignorant and stupidity.
He: You are a diploma holder and have previously been doing admin and accounts job. Why do you want to apply for MT job?
Me: I am quite sick of doing office job. Want to have a change of environment and job scope. MT is a interesting job too as I can learn how to manage a store.
He: But you got no leadership. See even you talk also so soft.
Me: Hello. This is a interview not a singing competition. You expect me to be shouting at you is it? Are you saying that those people who speak softly got no leadership skills?
He: I think you just want to apply MT position because it gets a higher salary than a waiter.
Me: Your newspaper advertise the salary of MT as 1.3k to 1.4k. You think that is very high? My last drawn pay was 1.9k. As a diploma holder any accounts job that I get I will be able to get at least 1.5k which is still higher than your MT salary.
He: But now the economy is so bad. There are so many accountants being retreched. You sure you can get an accounts job.
Me: Why not. There are still many companies hiring accounts and admin staff.
He: No I will not give you a MT job not even a Team Leader job because you got no leadership. But I can offer you a waiter job.
Me: Ok. What is the salary?
He: Only 1k a month.
Me: But your newspaper advertise waiter salary to be 1.1k to 1.3k.
He: Don't complain lah. Now economy so bad you can get a job you should be happy liao. Somemore my restaurant got provide free staff meal. If you want to take up this job you can go now to my office to take your uniform.
Me: ok lor.
So I went to take the uniform but I told him I can only start work 2 weeks later. I lie to him that I got family problem when in fact I wanted to use the 2 weeks to go find jobs.
3 days later I found a office job which pays me a diploma salary. I call him and told him I don't want the waiter job anymore. He told me to go down and return him the uniform. I told him that I am not free and if he wants back the uniform ask him to come my house to take it if not I will keep the uniform.
So he lan lan ask his manager to come my house to take back the uniform.
My conversation with the manager.
Me: You go tell your chee bye boss don't use his dog eyes to look down on people ok. Write in newspaper salary for waiter is 1.1k to 1.3k than dare to give me 1k nia. He think what. I chinaman is it can take advantage of me ah.
Somemore its 6 days work week, have to work shift, weekends and work 48 hours a week pay me so low. Even chinaman unless is those type that no education de if not they also don't want this type of job ok.
He should wake up his idea lah. Tell a 20+ years old diploma holder that he cannot find a job. He is a stupid pig brain sia.. Even if I go work security guard I also can earn 1.5k a month.
And its not a 10k salary CEO job that I am applying. Its just a chao MT job and he can be so aggroant and bai jia zi. I pity you to work for such a boss who trys to take advantage of his own staff.
Tell your boss that he is a fucking frog in the well.
He: Haiya. You think I like to work for him meh. I from malaysia no qualification hard to find a job so no choice have to work for him
Me: Hello. This is a interview not a singing competition. You expect me to be shouting at you is it? Are you saying that those people who speak softly got no leadership skills?
Me: You go tell your chee bye boss don't use his dog eyes to look down on people ok. Write in newspaper salary for waiter is 1.1k to 1.3k than dare to give me 1k nia. He think what. I chinaman is it can take advantage of me ah.
i dun believe u say tat..
Originally posted by Cool-gal:
Why can't I say that. I have already found a job already and I don't want the waiter job so whats there to be scare of
Originally posted by Cool-gal:Me: Hello. This is a interview not a singing competition. You expect me to be shouting at you is it? Are you saying that those people who speak softly got no leadership skills?
He asked me so many questions that make me so piss off that I already don't want the job so I say that to him
You sound like SBSK. ![]()
He: But you got no leadership. See even you talk also so soft.
Me: Sir, when it is required, you can be assured that I will still speak softly, but determinedly, for the end justifies the means. Utimately one only wish to get a point or a job order put successfully across, and it will only be a determined tone, not one that is soft or harsh that will be successful.
Furthermore, I do believe this is a trainee position. As I am a diploma holder, I will tend to learn thing faster than others, and will be of value to your organisation where time and profitability is critical.
He: I think you just want to apply MT position because it gets a higher salary than a waiter.
Me: Of course. I am fully confident of my ability to be an asset in your organisation as a manager or assistant manager after my apprenticeship, and I am sure you will reward me accordingly if I perform well.
He: No I will not give you a MT job not even a Team Leader job because you got no leadership. But I can offer you a waiter job.
Me: Thank for your frank and honest opinion by telling me now than to wait till later in the hope that I may receive a non-existant call from you.
Thanks also for offering to me a waiter job, a good job but I am sincere to learn and further my management skills to be of better value to a company than a waiter could, which my education had prepared me, regardless if the opportunity comes from your organisation which you are denying it to me now and hope to find it somewhere else, but should you reconsider my application as a MT, I am most certain you will find me a valuable asset to your company.
Till then, thanks again, and have a nice day.
......sigh...no wonder still got jobless people.....when will they ever mature?......
You talk like that in an interview and somehow you're surprised you can't get the job?
looking at the way you speak.
do you think a diploma is such a big deal?
he already state your problem that you do not even have leadership. and you are soft spoken.
and looking at the way you manage this situation.
i would stamp a big rejection on your head.
no wonder ppl rather hire china people to get this job done. because they at least respect the employer then you yayapapaya.
Singapore Pools also taking advantage of bad economy, by offering people 4D, toto, big sweep, football odds, horse racing odds, scratch it..etc.
So how? Complain to government to take down this wicked employer? That earns a lot a lot and pay little little?
I dun buy the story... for someone who talk so chee bye, I would just ring the bell and say next... why would someone even bother to give that chee bye person a job?
Originally posted by chrisbenoit:
So how? Complain to government to take down this wicked employer? That earns a lot a lot and pay little little?
Honestly speaking, every employer wanna earn millions and pay peanuts. You will have that mindset when you become an employer one day.
Most interviews are conducted in this manner. Your reply wasn't polite despite the interviewer's disdain for possibly your attire or as a matter of fact, your features...your looks...
Anyway, I do agree that the interviewer's tone had a slight degree of harshness.
Kindly go pursue a higher education. A diploma can't really get you anywhere in this country.
Originally posted by duanyuqiao:looking at the way you speak.
do you think a diploma is such a big deal?
he already state your problem that you do not even have leadership. and you are soft spoken.
and looking at the way you manage this situation.
i would stamp a big rejection on your head.
no wonder ppl rather hire china people to get this job done. because they at least respect the employer then you yayapapaya.
So? I am confident that I am able to find a better job than that so I can reject that job. In the end I also manage to get a better job.
Whereas he can't find good staff to join his company with that low salary. He can only get those uneducated china people to join his company. Than those uneducated chinese cannot communicate with ang mohs and malays because they can't speak english
Judging from the way you talk you must be 1 of those aggroant interviewers also. You really need to wake up your idea
Originally posted by caleb_chiang:I dun buy the story... for someone who talk so chee bye, I would just ring the bell and say next... why would someone even bother to give that chee bye person a job?
Why would anybody want to work for such a chee bye boss when there are so many other restaurants in singapore employing people?
There are a few hundred F&B jobs in singapore who are paying better than him and the boss are nicer than him too
You ring the bell and say next the next person sees that you are a chee bye boss and reject the job too.
Originally posted by Stevenson101:You talk like that in an interview and somehow you're surprised you can't get the job?
I don't want the job in the 1st place because I am confident that I can get a better job which I did.
Get it? Don't get it than ask somebody with better english to read out and explain to you.
Even his manager from malaysia come here also not willing to work for him let alone singaporeans
What arrogance, sure you exaggerated that conversation much more than it was actually.
If you think having a diploma is gonna get you far, think again. And yes, trust me - soft spoken people are usually without leadership or are taken advantage of.
Originally posted by Agenda:What arrogance, sure you exaggerated that conversation much more than it was actually.
If you think having a diploma is gonna get you far, think again. And yes, trust me - soft spoken people are usually without leadership or are taken advantage of.
This shows how ignorant you are. In that case kindly go employ a ah beng to be your leader than. I am sure nobody will take advantage of the ah beng
Originally posted by dangerboi:Honestly speaking, every employer wanna earn millions and pay peanuts. You will have that mindset when you become an employer one day.
Most interviews are conducted in this manner. Your reply wasn't polite despite the interviewer's disdain for possibly your attire or as a matter of fact, your features...your looks...
Anyway, I do agree that the interviewer's tone had a slight degree of harshness.
Kindly go pursue a higher education. A diploma can't really get you anywhere in this country.
The idiot boss think now bad economy everybody can't find job mah so he can eat them mah.
I don't intent to stay long in this country. Sooner or later when I take a degree I will migrate.
An interview is one where a boss can guage the skill and mindsets for prospective employers. Some will be gentle, some will be harsh, but with only one thing in mind - to hire the right person for the job, or it will be a waste of time and resources. No employer will want a passenger, taking pay and shake legs in the company.
An employee too has the right to apply or not to apply for a job if it does not meet even his basic financial or monetary needs. One can terminate, should terminate, or not even apply to waste further his precious time if it was not what he is looking for.
Thus fairness is observed by both sides. However, a smart potential employee best play his card right - Never to offend bosses/managers/recruiters. The test for the right person begins when the applicant appears before the eyes of these people. Questions ask may be strange, but they are test requirements to assess and seek out a suitable person to enhance the company, more so if it is a management position.
Furthermore, you will never know whom you had offended. The boss may be aqaintance of your new employer. One word from him about your hostile and inane replies to an interview may hinder you new career's developement or an outright dismissal. The world is small. Same everywhere and every nation you flee to.
Never under-estimate bosses. They did not become bosses and survive crisis by being ignorant and stupid. Best be civil - friendships cultivated are better than making enemies, more so in the biz world.
Polys should conduct more seminars to help their graduates seek jobs. Seems like the polys are either doing a bad job or churning out clueless grads, if what the TS had said and done is true. Totally disgraceful, and no, i dont wanna know which poly he came from.
wah u like this talk he still offer you waiter job is weird already. interview like this liao, if you like this talk to customer how?
Originally posted by Suffocate:
The idiot boss think now bad economy everybody can't find job mah so he can eat them mah.
I don't intent to stay long in this country. Sooner or later when I take a degree I will migrate.
its good that you willing to upgrade yourself to to get degree. however, if you want to migrate please migrate your mindset too. there are many good criticism here like the ones from xtreyier. so please take this opportunity to reflect on and cherish these posts.
i hope you treat you should change your attitude on this thread from "see this cb boss how fuk up isit" to "this is my interview. what went wrong please guide me i want to learn".
Dear TS,
I honestly believe that you deserved what you got.
Everything basically went downhill from "I am quite sick of doing office job".
Grow up, loser.
A bunch of brainless losers siding the loser boss.
Since this people thinks the boss is right why don't these losers go and accept the 1k waiter job than?
Originally posted by Malini.kittappa:A bunch of brainless losers siding the loser boss.
Since this people thinks the boss is right why don't these losers go and accept the 1k waiter job than?
Because we're not the ones who wasted our lives not working hard to improve ourselves and consequently got stuck with shitty choices. Nobody owes you a living, so stop behaving that you deserve a certain level of wages without offering commensurate value.
Originally posted by Malini.kittappa:A bunch of brainless losers siding the loser boss.
careful you swim in sea kena stung by brainless jellyfishes ok. wear speedo tights also useless those stings will make you go owwie. ![]()
Originally posted by Suffocate:
So? I am confident that I am able to find a better job than that so I can reject that job. In the end I also manage to get a better job.
Whereas he can't find good staff to join his company with that low salary. He can only get those uneducated china people to join his company. Than those uneducated chinese cannot communicate with ang mohs and malays because they can't speak english
Judging from the way you talk you must be 1 of those aggroant interviewers also. You really need to wake up your idea
i think i can easily bring you down with my words. and you will use your fist i bet.
arrogant people win over immature people.
because immature people never learn ![]()
if you think you are so good with a diploma. go ahead and open a business.
and i will be happily watching you fail in 3 months.
cause with attitude like yours. you will go no where.
you look down on china people?
k, don't use a single thing that has a label MADE IN CHINA.
doing the same things a china person would.
i can pay your salary for 2 of them.
wake up your idea! you only have a pathetic diploma. don't think your god of some kind.
and i doubt you can last through your current work place for half a year with your shitty attitude.
WAKE UP YOUR IDEA!! HALLOOOOOOO!!!!