1. I would really hope Harriet Edu Group to think through their court case on sgf.
2. I hope that sgf forumers will stop posting anything related to Harriet Edu Group including cursing and swearing.
Originally posted by airgrinder:money come from where?
Did I say anything about the cost? ![]()
Originally posted by airgrinder:I'm sure the Harriet people are talking with their lawyers. If they really sue, then definitely their lawyers have some deg of confidence. Not u just talk, write three lines they will stop leh... =P
Where does ur allegiance lie to? Harriet?
If u are so pessimistic and not confident for SGF about this, don't bother posting here too.
Originally posted by tr@nsp0rt_F3V3R:1. I would really hope Harriet Edu Group to think through their court case on sgf.
2. I hope that sgf forumers will stop posting anything related to Harriet Edu Group including cursing and swearing.
We are exercising our free speech. Something that neither Harriet nor their lawyers can stop us.
Looking by letter should able to tell if they decide to persue the matter by Monday. No writ of summons arrived = No case filed in court.
P.S. IANAL
Harriet Educational.... Notorious liao ![]()
Really, I wonder what they are thinking after they have read through all the posts by forumers here, seeing what we are analysing and "thinking" extra about them.
They really got infamous
Originally posted by eagle:Harriet Educational.... Notorious liao
Really, I wonder what they are thinking after they have read through all the posts by forumers here, seeing what we are analysing and "thinking" extra about them.
They really got infamous
They want to win the battle against SGF. So be it.
They will win the battle but lose the war. They are causing their own downfall by suing a forum. Nice backlash btw. Oh and don't be stupid Harriet...
Never is there a case example when a company manages to pull thru with tremendous public backlash.
Never.
Period.
Originally posted by Fryderyk HPH:They want to win the battle against SGF. So be it.
They will win the battle but lose the war. They are causing their own downfall by suing a forum. Nice backlash btw. Oh and don't be stupid Harriet...
Never is there a case example when a company manages to pull thru with tremendous public backlash.
Never.
Period.
anyway, what's key now is to really pull off with Harriet Edu Grp and not to post any more insulting comments to cause any further damage to both parties...
Originally posted by Fryderyk HPH:They want to win the battle against SGF. So be it.
Never.
Period.
lol.. sexpose themself. hahaha
First of all, if any of you realize, by signing up to sgforums, you are legally binding yourself to a contract by clicking on the button that says 'I agree to terms of service' and if you had bothered to glance through that exhuasting list, under 6.Appropriate Conduct by way of example, and not as a limitation, we agree that when using the service, we will not:
defame, abuse, harass, stalk, threaten or otherwise violate the legal rights (such as rights of privacy and publicity) of others;
etc.
Technically speaking, in that terms, Harriet is in the position to pursue this case, as we have not fulfilled the terms to the site. And stretching it, you can say that we've broken a contract. And that, as you know, is serious business.
Yes, you claim that they are limiting your freedom of speech, but if you would open your eyes, we are at a disadvantage as it is not them who have gone back on their words, but us for commiting the act of defamation. So basically they have nothing much to lose, and we have all to lose.
The petty insults ought to seize, for one it is not within our rights to do so, and after all, that itself should be proof enough that we are certainly sensible enough to take anything they throw at us in good grace.
Plz stop postig this thread pls~~!
Originally posted by XxXamuoXxX:First of all, if any of you realize, by signing up to sgforums, you are legally binding yourself to a contract by clicking on the button that says 'I agree to terms of service' and if you had bothered to glance through that exhuasting list, under 6.Appropriate Conduct by way of example, and not as a limitation, we agree that when using the service, we will not:
defame, abuse, harass, stalk, threaten or otherwise violate the legal rights (such as rights of privacy and publicity) of others;
etc.
Technically speaking, in that terms, Harriet is in the position to pursue this case, as we have not fulfilled the terms to the site. And stretching it, you can say that we've broken a contract. And that, as you know, is serious business.
Yes, you claim that they are limiting your freedom of speech, but if you would open your eyes, we are at a disadvantage as it is not them who have gone back on their words, but us for commiting the act of defamation. So basically they have nothing much to lose, and we have all to lose.
The petty insults ought to seize, for one it is not within our rights to do so, and after all, that itself should be proof enough that we are certainly sensible enough to take anything they throw at us in good grace.
So u are trying to imply that we should give in totally to Harriet and expose ourselves to current and future lawsuits that will cost us $$ and not do anything about it?
And don't tell me you created an account just to post this.
Yes we have quite a lot to lose, and we are not going to give up our civil liberties now.
So which part of Jason's or YouYaYu's quotes were defamatory?
NKF Part deux = NKF Threatens newspaper = HEG Threatens SGF.
Give it up. All of this is petty, and well you know it. No I am not taking sides on this one, but merely stating the fact that it is unwise to continue posting as so. To answer your question, would my setting up an account to post this be any of your concern dearest? Although it warms my heart to know that.
Originally posted by XxXamuoXxX:Give it up. All of this is petty, and well you know it. No I am not taking sides on this one, but merely stating the fact that it is unwise to continue posting as so. To answer your question, would my setting up an account to post this be any of your concern dearest? Although it warms my heart to know that.
We are just protecting our self-interests.
Den like that, if Harriet and their lawyers demand that SGForums be shut down, should Jason shut SGF down? Think about the repercussions of following blindly.
I mentioned about creating a new account just to post that is becoz, there are many clone accounts out there, which are just created for the sake of posting one or two posts. I am gratified that this is not the case here.
I wasn't even aware of all of Harriet's shenanigans till they strted trying to sue Jason. ![]()
Originally posted by Gedanken:I wasn't even aware of all of Harriet's shenanigans till they strted trying to sue Jason.
shouldn't Harriet take action against the user?
it's like some random anonymous guy "defamed" some educational group while in jason's house and jason gets sued for it?
preposterous. duncha think?
I believe that Jason had removed the defamation threads and all he did is to alert the users of the forums that actions of the said organisation/coy had taken some action against the user.
By reposting and quoting actual news clip about the origins of the events does not account to defamation as it falls under the section of fair comments and the links are the proofs such events had happened and reported. That is comments made based on facts and that do not account as defamation.
Anyway, there are forums apart from here that is invaded by that user and posting the same comments. I wonder if the other forums had the same letter or maybe sgf is sue becos it is popular?
Originally posted by Fryderyk HPH:Den like that, if Harriet and their lawyers demand that SGForums be shut down, should Jason shut SGF down? Think about the repercussions of following blindly.
This is a very plausible prospect if Jason caves in just like that and pays damages, even if the lawyers didn't include a shut-down in its demands. Mind you, it won't be a small amount, it can bankrupt someone.
Originally posted by sgbuses:This is a very plausible prospect if Jason caves in just like that and pays damages, even if the lawyers didn't include a shut-down in its demands. Mind you, it won't be a small amount, it can bankrupt someone.
Harriet and their lawyers have almost made it clear about the point that SGF is the problem-creator in their business and if SGF is in the settlement list should the matter be solved out-of-court, shutting down of SGF could be one of the key points...
That is something we ALL DUN WANT TO SEE HAPPENING.
Jason has probably sought legal advice on this matter.
The lawyer has probably advised Jason on the possible consequences and likely
damages.
It is likely that Jason is confident that he has a strong case against the charge or
he is prepared to pay for the likely damages if he loses the case.
Originally posted by Fryderyk HPH:Harriet and their lawyers have almost made it clear about the point that SGF is the problem-creator in their business and if SGF is in the settlement list should the matter be solved out-of-court, shutting down of SGF could be one of the key points...
That is something we ALL DUN WANT TO SEE HAPPENING.
Harriet behaving like NKF like I said before. The onus is on them to prove that IAMW7 was wrong. Let's see how they rebut his allegations.
no scare...
We survived, all these years... We will go on~~~ and on~~ on~~~ on on on~~~~
Originally posted by iveco:
Harriet behaving like NKF like I said before. The onus is on them to prove that IAMW7 was wrong. Let's see how they rebut his allegations.
Let us wait for their imminent big collapse like what happened to NKF when the saga unraveled.
In court they might have to declare additional info which could be a slap in the face.
But legal fees will mount up... that is why they target sgf instead of SPH.