Hey! If you're lobbying for public support, perhaps you can summarise what is this all about here rather then making forumers go in and read everything. (Even the first page in your link doesn't tell the whole story)
Tue, Aug 18, 2009
my paper
VJC will become too exclusive if it implements 6-year IP
AS AN alumnus of both Victoria School (VS) and Victoria Junior College (VJC), I am dismayed to learn that VJC is going to implement a six-year integrated programme (IP).
VJC has firmly established itself as a premier educational institution in the eastern part of Singapore. Therefore, it has a duty to serve the schools and students in the area.
The reputable junior college is an alternative to Raffles Institution (RI) and Hwa Chong Institution (HCI), and many students living in the east aspire to be a part of its "work hard, play hard" culture. The importance of alternatives cannot be overstated in a country where diversity is celebrated.
By accepting students from a wide range of secondary schools, a junior college gains "something extra" by fostering different perspectives and thinking styles among its students.
This is the case with VJC. However, by going ahead with a six-year IP, fewer students will qualify for the junior college.
Secondary 2 students from other schools will no longer be able to enrol in the IP. If it goes ahead with the sixyear IP, VJC will end up competing with the other secondary schools in the area. This will have a detrimental effect on every school.
The members of VJC's administration should rethink their roles as educators.
Education should be about passing on knowledge and moral values to students, rather than a competition to be the best school.
By implementing a six-year IP, VJC would lose its identity as a school for the masses. Secondary-school students in the east would find VJC a more distant goal as there would be fewer places available for O-level students.
Finally, I am disappointed because VJC's move will sever its historic ties with VS. Instead of working together to "keep the Victorian spirit strong", the two schools would become rivals in the competition for students.
I hope VJC will do more to explain how it will maintain the Victorian spirt after this move.
Mr Puar Si Liang
| VJC proposes 6-year programme to MOE | |||
|
WILL there be a familial split between Victoria Junior College (VJC) and its affiliated all-boys secondary school, Victoria School (VS)? That is the question posed by many people following VJC's proposal to the Ministry of Education (MOE) to extend its Victoria Integrated Programme (VIP) to a six-year programme. It's a decision made 'as a means to strengthen the VIP,' according to VJC's vice-principal, Miss Audrey Chen, as VJC 'believes that there are significant educational advantages in having an uninterrupted six-year programme for them to engage in a wider range of learning experiences for holistic development'.
A number of these students are from VS. Resistance VJC's proposal comes despite resistance from the Old Victorians Association (OVA) and other old boys who fear that the VIP extension will create rivalry between the two schools and create a split within the Victorian family. This latest move from VJC comes two years after failed talks with VS to admit girls. VJC's proposal is supported by the the Victoria Executive Committee (VEC). When contacted, a member of the executive committee told The New Paper that both VJC's and VS' interests are 'equally important'. Said the member, who didn't want to be named: 'It is our desire for both schools to develop while maintaining close affiliation between the two.' Added Miss Chen: 'Over the last few years, the two have actively engaged key stakeholders on a possible extension of the VIP to Secondary One students, including a possible merger with VS.' But VJC's move to act independently - after earlier attempts to merge with VS proved fruitless - has met with opposition. Over 1,500 have signed up as members of a Facebook group calling out to The Faithful & Grateful Sons of Victoria. Said the creator of the Facebook group and VS-VJC alumnus, who wanted to be known only as Sanjay: 'I feel hurt by such a prospect as VS has always treated VJC like family.' Sanjay, 21, is a full-time national serviceman. Continue to maintain ties Miss Chen has given the assurance that 'regardless of the outcome of the proposal, VJC will continue to maintain close ties with VS and work in partnership to keep the Victorian spirit strong'. But the worry of some old boys like Sanjay is that the Victorian family would be split down the middle with a 'conflict of interests'. The New Paper understands that the proposal has the backing of the executive committee but not the old boys, which has sent a letter of appeal to the MOE. When contacted by The New Paper, an OVA spokesman said: 'We are disappointed with VJC's decision. The proposal was made without comprehensive discussion between all stakeholders - like students, parents, and old boys.' OVA had conducted a consultation paper with about 60 Victorian alumni, and the result was 'almost unanimous' against VJC's move. Added its spokesman: 'VS has 133 years of heritage which is borne by the Victorian 'brand'. Should VJC go alone with its six-year VIP, we don't know if its use of the Victorian 'brand' will still be appropriate.' The MOE told The New Paper that it is in the process of evaluating the proposal. Said the OVA spokesman: 'If the proposal gets through, VJC will become an unnecessary rival of VS, and students looking to enter the Victorian family will be confused as to which school to join.' If approved, how big of an impact will VJC's integrated programme have on its sibling school? 'If the VIP intake remains around the same as it is now at 120, it should not significantly affect VS' intake,' said the executive committee member. Hoe Pei Shan, newsroom intern This article was first published in The New Paper.
http://www.asiaone.com/News/Education/Story/A1Story20090814-161176.html |
|||
if they want to be this "exclusive" it just shows that they have lost their link to the people and to reality..
and therefore they should not be even touched with a 10-foot pole..
so why the hell are you petitioning whatever for?
they should be left to rot by themselves and no one should give a flying rat's ass about them anymore...
petitioning against being exclusive
As a Victorian who has just graduated from VS(batch of '08), I have put moi name down already.
who is moi?
Originally posted by PoRen:who is moi?
Moi as in me...
All animals are equal but some are more equal than others.
quote: Animals' Farm
hi fryderyk,
thanks...
pass the word round, ok?
every vote counts
luckily i was rite to join SP
JC sucks![]()
both are good
Originally posted by AEW5001:luckily i was rite to join SP
JC sucks
I agree. XD
Especially seeing my neighbour + VJC sis. XP
Originally posted by Stimulatedfib:I agree. XD
Especially seeing my neighbour + VJC sis. XP
Jealous just admit lah haha xD~!
Originally posted by Fryderyk HPH:Jealous just admit lah haha xD~!
Jealous simi...
You ah, still dare say your own species de... =P
Originally posted by Stimulatedfib:Jealous simi...
You ah, still dare say your own species de... =P
Eh I was from VS leh excuse me~
Originally posted by Fryderyk HPH:Eh I was from VS leh excuse me~
That's not what I was referring to la. XD
I strongly against
VJC is born by sepration of VS Pre-U section, by MOE instruction, and now they wanna go independant of VS, what attrocious thing it is
Imagine a son tell his mum to f*** off........all will be 100% against it mah...so as to VJC
Let me quote a word by President Barack hussein Obama :...hmm..I am choked with anger", this applies to me too.......
Originally posted by SBS n SMRT:I strongly against
VJC is born by sepration of VS Pre-U section, by MOE instruction, and now they wanna go independant of VS, what attrocious thing it is
Imagine a son tell his mum to f*** off........all will be 100% against it mah...so as to VJC
Let me quote a word by President Barack hussein Obama :...hmm..I am choked with anger", this applies to me too.......
in VS = ![]()
VJ should keep its affliation to VS, otherwise, a lot of VS guys going to VJ will be
->![]()
hey guys, pass the word around...to friends and family members..
every vote counts
thanks
Originally posted by PoRen:hey guys, pass the word around...to friends and family members..
every vote counts
thanks
What graduating batch of VS are u?
Originally posted by Fryderyk HPH:
in VS =
VJ should keep its affliation to VS, otherwise, a lot of VS guys going to VJ will be
->
yes
and VS boys
, and go ![]()
, waste $$$$ to give ![]()
, results
-->![]()
so confirmed VJC cannot
with VS.....and neither they can go independant
Me, i dun care of the bonus pts issue, i this year will not get affected
Ai yo... VJC is like having a 6 yrs school (sec and jc) program right? What's the big deal?