Originally posted by charlize:I propose cows next.
Singaporeans are cash cows to be milked for all they are worth.
have already..
Moove media

cow? might not do well with the buddism group...
i think best is use alien... u can draw it to look like shity, but so long as u label it alien, everything is fine...
dun even need feeding them peanut, might as well used rubbish or rock...
Originally posted by charlize:I propose cows next.
Singaporeans are cash cows to be milked for all they are worth.
Sheeps are good for fleecing too. ![]()
anyone good in animation?
can make a spoof?![]()
pay peanuts and get monkeys
but we pay apples n got gorillas
Originally posted by the Bear:have already..
Moove media
Haha...
Originally posted by yiha093:you know, u can fucking IGNORE it.
Spoken like a Sporean. In other countries, they will repel, rebel or revolt against these kinda ads. Here, they can't seem to be able to do anything. The only choice they have left is ignore.
God save Spore...
Originally posted by coolgeek84:Spoken like a Sporean. In other countries, they will repel, rebel or revolt against these kinda ads. Here, they can't seem to be able to do anything. The only choice they have left is ignore.
God save Spore...
in other countries, they kpkb about the ads.. giving them even MORE publicity which is what the ads are supposed to achieve... publicity..
the people, by being noisy, did the work of the ad agents for them...
whereas like trolls, the best thing to do is you do not feed the trolls.. they will starve to death and die from lack of attention...
so in future, if anyone figures they need to use shock to attract attention, experience will teach them they are wrong...
Originally posted by Veggie Bao:Now I want to talk a bit about insulting ads.
The first one is the one with Good Mental Health promotion.....
You know, one giraffe, one elephant, and one monkey.....
The monkey said....."got peanut still better than no peanuts...."
This is highly insulting.
The first time I watched it, I was already uncomfortable....
Second, third, and subsequent times I got more annoyed and irritated....
It seems that the ads conceptor just want to equate people with monkeys and animals, and we should just better be thankful if we have peanuts to eat, meaning, we should lower ourselves to the standards of animals. As long as you have some basic neccessities met, you should not starve and so on, you should be happy.
I find it very insulting, looking down on people, deliberate cheapening of human lives, crude, low class, no IQ, and stupid ads.
Also, I can understand if some messages targetted towards children use cartoons and animals, that I can understand. But for a message targetted towards adults, struggling with economic crisis, it is highly patronising and insulting. Not only do they use kiddie method of using cartoon and animals, but they use a very crude and rude inference or message or principle.
And then there is another one.
In many public places, you can see Graciousness Campaign...
They use Pua Chu Kang and Rosie in posters...and sometimes in songs and in videos..
This is very insulting.
I dont know what the conceptor of this ads was thinking when he was dreaming one night. Did he think it's such a good idea? No.
PCK and Rosie are basically caricatures and stereotypes and examples of classism.
I also notice Good Graciousness using PCK and Rosie are mostly aired in public places such as MRT, Bus stations, in other words, to the working masses, middle class and lower-middle-class.
So this ads conceptor one night must be thinking, "Haha those poor people, I teach you good manners with your cousins, PCK and Rosie, who look exactly like you all"
It's insulting, patronising, crude, rude, insensitive, no class, low-IQ, ads.
The PCK and Rosie are depicted in typical low class manners according to their charicatured stereotypes typified by them, and the song also use the typical made-up not really Singlish but worse, "Gurmitlish" fictional accent, and so on.
I think those two ads should be banned, completely.
Please let me know what you think, and also are there any other ads you have found to be offensive?
well, peanut in singapore is not cheap ya, so i dun think it is an insult..in fact rice is cheaper
Originally posted by Fryderyk HPH:I'm actually studying in a course of Advertising...
This is wat we call government sponsored ads.
We can't do anything about it. The government basically pays advertising firms or they do pro-bono work and since the paid sum is low(or maybe even none at all), this is the result of the 'quality' work...
ya, in return, the firm get a tax free and more networking
Doing social advertising tends to get praised and insulted, without it, it is a poor advertisement.
Since it got your attention, i will said it is a good advertisment.
Originally posted by angel7030:Doing social advertising tends to get praised and insulted, without it, it is a poor advertisement.
Since it got your attention, i will said it is a good advertisment.
Yes that I have to agree is true.
In the world of advertising, grabbing of attention is the most important thing... Not really the content(though I know this might be controversial)...
I'm sure everyone still remembers the Gatsby ads rite? N the McD ones?
That is becoz it has grabbed ur attention. That is advertising win. Public relations fail becoz the result is negative image portrayed to the client.
Originally posted by Fryderyk HPH:Yes that I have to agree is true.
In the world of advertising, grabbing of attention is the most important thing... Not really the content(though I know this might be controversial)...
I'm sure everyone still remembers the Gatsby ads rite? N the McD ones?
That is becoz it has grabbed ur attention. That is advertising win. Public relations fail becoz the result is negative image portrayed to the client.
In social promotion advertising, it is different from profit generating organisation advertisment, those that lure you to buy and spend.
Social promotion expect no profit return but just a general reminder of our situation and what we are expected to behave and live within our situation and culture.
Animated advertisment include all, not only you, even the rich and the govt, they can be represent by pig or donkey. It tends to get the attention from both the childrens and adults. It is an expression with no real personalities and names involved. If you watch those american animated movies, it is both entertaining and it does send a message across.
I think the peanuts add is offensive. Its like the gahmen is asking you to be just content with what you get. What the hell! It doesn't seem so for the gahmen's leaders who get increments in the likes of millions of dollars.
PM here is paid 3 times more than the President of USA. Thats the best joke. It gets everyone smiling or laughing when I tell that in a group of ang-mohs..
As for the PCK ad, its damn dumb. I mean he is the last person I would use to portray graciousness and courteousness. Couple that with one of the worst songs that too in one of the most horrible kind of singlish slang with a total failure in proper cinematography and lighting. Its a torture to see this.
Conclusion: Spore has one of the worst ads from the various countries I have been to.
Originally posted by the Bear:
in other countries, they kpkb about the ads.. giving them even MORE publicity which is what the ads are supposed to achieve... publicity..the people, by being noisy, did the work of the ad agents for them...
whereas like trolls, the best thing to do is you do not feed the trolls.. they will starve to death and die from lack of attention...
so in future, if anyone figures they need to use shock to attract attention, experience will teach them they are wrong...
No la.. I think you missed the point of advertising. Advertising is to sell something. Can be a service or a product. Its not just for publicity. Lets say you are disgusted by a ad selling some kinda drink, will you be more likely to buy that drink? No, on the contrary, you will be less willing to buy the drink. And in some countries, people will actually boycott the product all together.
Publicity does not equate to profit for the companies. Good publicity equates to profit, bad publicity equates to loss.
We are the public. We are able to bring down entire companies by just speaking bad about it or we can make someone a billionaire by just speaking good about the company. So no, what you said is wrong =)
Originally posted by angel7030:Since it got your attention, i will said it is a good advertisment.
And I will SAID that your English is bad :p No offense =)
Originally posted by coolgeek84:And I will SAID that your English is bad :p No offense =)
no, not at all, that is my trademark here ya
Originally posted by Fantagf:these days people practise the freedom of speech
eh. That right doesnt exist in sg law book lol. Old man Lee must have secretly erased it from the original list of citizens rights
how abt looking at it from another angle?
if PCK can do it, why cant the rest of us? Unless we are worse then PCK....
fark them all. Mental Health promotion become mental problem.
O! my mother thought that the ad on monkey and peanut thing is nice... i forgot who she referred to.. but she said that there was once a political person wife said something like this " what is this sum of money to me? like peanuts..."
and so she concluded that the ad conceptor wanted to flame this political person indirectly..
Originally posted by coolgeek84:I think the peanuts add is offensive. Its like the gahmen is asking you to be just content with what you get. What the hell! It doesn't seem so for the gahmen's leaders who get increments in the likes of millions of dollars.
PM here is paid 3 times more than the President of USA. Thats the best joke. It gets everyone smiling or laughing when I tell that in a group of ang-mohs..
As for the PCK ad, its damn dumb. I mean he is the last person I would use to portray graciousness and courteousness. Couple that with one of the worst songs that too in one of the most horrible kind of singlish slang with a total failure in proper cinematography and lighting. Its a torture to see this.
Conclusion: Spore has one of the worst ads from the various countries I have been to.
Actually, we have one of the best and worst ads in the world in my opinion...
The Singapore Airlines ads which are world-famous came from Batey Ads in Singapore.
The rest... You know lah![]()
Govt related ads in singapore have a "you should do this" in your face kind of tone since God knows when.
Speak good mandarin, stop at 2, don't spit, be gracious, give way to others, if you drink, don't drive hahaha. We singaporeans are one uncivilised bunch huh.
oh ya, i alway joke in my pub to cusotmer, if you drink, dun drive, if you drive, drink tiger