Do you think that doing honours in any university is useful? this is a key question that has been bugging me since I stepped into my honours year.
Personally I feel that this 4th year has been quite stressful but still managable. But what I want to find out is how much this is an asset in job employment. Thanks
i think if 3rd class, might as well don't take.
if is 3rd class
might as well dun mention
2nd lower oso dun mention
Quite a sad fact that 2nd lower and 3rd class honours are nothing honourable these days... Sadly i also fall into this range... haiz
nobody takes a glance at 3rd class..some dun even know it even exists ![]()
2nd lower is fine. a 3rd class might be a problem. but then, it's still an honours and will get you a job albiet on a lower starting pay. the rest is up to you to prove
To be frank....
While 3rd class is better than no honours, it's not much more than a consolation prize, really. You can still put (Hons) after your degree, but you'll be severely outclassed by the much more numerous 2nd and 1st classes when looking for a job.
If you really wanted honours, you should be aiming for 2nd upper. 2nd lower at the very least.
yes its true...
nowadays pple only look at 2nd upper or 1st..
see the salary diff know liao...
but then of cos.. its better than nth..
IMO 3rd class honours is better than a basic degree. but strive hard for 2nd if you can.
It's not about your degree, it's about the politics you play that gets you promotions ![]()
i think having an honors is a good indication that you have persevered in your academic pursuit, however it does not translate into an equal magnitude once you hop into your first job.
3rd class also depends on 3rd class from where.
3rd class from Yale/Harvard > 1st class from SIM
true luh. now employers only looking at 2nd upp and 1st class. 2nd lower and 3rd class is like a basic degree.
i think 3rd class Hons is better than normal degree..