Just read today's TNP about this.
As it turns out, Miss World International has clearly stated that all contestants must not have been convicted in any court anywhere in the world to be eligible for the competition.
So.... it looks as though she can't take part at all.
A PRODUCT OF SINGAPORE
goog ah she
on headlines everyday
PM SM MM also know her oredi
wa !! Concurrent threads ! lol!
famous liao.![]()
after reading her sad plight, i felt that she was dumber to have taken part in a competition where one of the intrinsic rules are contestants should not possess a criminal record
to be honest, i'm not totally surprised. the moment i lay eyes on her (and heard about how khaki green + leopard prints + zebra prints = fashion), i spent no time labeling her one with a defective brain; incompetent at education, useless with her spectacular words.
but you've gotta respect her for the confidence. how many criminals with poor diction have you seen participate beauty pageants?
Some people would do anything for fame and fortune.Athough she didnt make any small fortune out of that credit card scam she surely is famous
e kompani wu orkanniced e pagen aso koyak one lah. say sinkapore lang no pay for her... pls la, we no pay but no mean dey ken anyhow pig rite.
singapore boleh!!!!
Originally posted by Vendettus:to be honest, i'm not totally surprised. the moment i lay eyes on her (and heard about how khaki green + leopard prints + zebra prints = fashion), i spent no time labeling her one with a defective brain; incompetent at education, useless with her spectacular words.
but you've gotta respect her for the confidence. how many criminals with poor diction have you seen participate beauty pageants?
i think its otherwise leh.
Like what Fudgester stated, on the rules to enter ..
As it turns out, Miss World International has clearly stated that all contestants must not have been convicted in any court anywhere in the world to be eligible for the competition.
So... that means that she had already commited the crime, and hope that ppl dont find out abt her. Now, thats despicable.
the good news is singaporeans tend to be forgetful and she's still very young. 19 is a good age for stupid, controversial mistakes like this.
Originally posted by OHSheet:i think its otherwise leh.
So... that means that she had already commited the crime, and hope that ppl dont find out abt her. Now, thats despicable.
My bad. Not Miss World International. Miss World Singapore website.
T&C number 4 clearly states:
The Contestant warrants he/she has not been charged or convicted in any court of law in any country and that he/she is not a fugitive nor is he/she wanted by any law enforcement agency.
Bold for emphasis. Whether or not she will have a criminal record is irrelevant. As long as the court declared her to be guilty of her crimes, it counts as a conviction.
she is convicted period.
just that her sentence is not a jail term but a probation.
i wonder are sexual favours part of the judging criteria
i think she is more to the high risk..
not low ris...
she's got into e headlines for all e wrong reasons![]()
Originally posted by OHSheet:
with all the effort put into yellow ribbon project, makes me wonder if sg will evenutually allow ex offenders the opportunity to contest for national pageants.
So who will they send. Runner up? BOOMZ man!
Originally posted by soleachip:with all the effort put into yellow ribbon project, makes me wonder if sg will evenutually allow ex offenders the opportunity to contest for national pageants.
she alr now high-profile liao
those convicts u noe meh?
Originally posted by Uraniumfish:So who will they send. Runner up? BOOMZ man!
HHAHAHAA! boomz!
i cant help laughing. esp when she says " when i feel naughty i wear something RAT".
WTF!
she's so famous!!!!!!
I agree with you, hellraiza.....
Besides, it's true, she only committed a crime worth 2k, and she is still 18-19......
Although I did feel disappointed about it.....
I had defended her less-than-perfect English, but found this character lapse a bit harder to defend.....
She let me down....
Nevertheless, a young person can still reform....
I would say she still have time to mature and change and improve, and learn from her mistake (credit card fraud)
I remember when I was young I did some mistakes as well....
Such as...
Oh yah....actually I was a party to some forgery also myself...(document forgery)...when I was 17-18....lucky never caught by police....
I can tell you that now it was a blurry episode and it was not a something which represents my character now....I think it's the same with her, if she stays away from any crime....by the time several years from now, she would be a reformed person...let's give her support and encouragement...
Originally posted by Veggie Bao:I agree with you, hellraiza.....
Besides, it's true, she only committed a crime worth 2k, and she is still 18-19......
Although I did feel disappointed about it.....
I had defended her less-than-perfect English, but found this character lapse a bit harder to defend.....
She let me down....
Nevertheless, a young person can still reform....
I would say she still have time to mature and change and improve, and learn from her mistake (credit card fraud)
I remember when I was young I did some mistakes as well....
Such as...
Oh yah....actually I was a party to some forgery also myself...(document forgery)...when I was 17-18....lucky never caught by police....
I can tell you that now it was a blurry episode and it was not a something which represents my character now....I think it's the same with her, if she stays away from any crime....by the time several years from now, she would be a reformed person...let's give her support and encouragement...
Let's hear you say the same thing if it was your $2k then she stole. For many Singaporeans thats a months pay.
She might still be young (even not technically a minor) but the world is unforgiving. She should never have particiapted in the pagent knowing she was an ex-con.
all of you can leave the compensation at home....If she can't convince Singaporean, she can't be Miss SG.
the board just have to fire the judges.