Originally posted by fudgester:My bad. Not Miss World International. Miss World Singapore website.
T&C number 4 clearly states:
The Contestant warrants he/she has not been charged or convicted in any court of law in any country and that he/she is not a fugitive nor is he/she wanted by any law enforcement agency.
Bold for emphasis. Whether or not she will have a criminal record is irrelevant. As long as the court declared her to be guilty of her crimes, it counts as a conviction.
but at that time when she say' yes ' haven convicted what, so technically speaking that statement holds?
Originally posted by yiha093:but at that time when she say' yes ' haven convicted what, so technically speaking that statement holds?
She had been convicted in May this year.
The contest was in July.
Even if she had not been convicted yet at the point of signing up, I would believe that the onus would be on her to inform the organizers as soon as she was convicted.
Let's face reality.
So called 'Beauty' pagents means what it as campaigned - beauty - of the outer kind. Kinda shallow, and nothing to do with EQ or IQ, despite their vain attempts to ennoble the superficial contest.
The only 'Q' that they are look for is Eye Q - Eye candy Qoutient. Outer beauty is subjective, thus the more a contestant is pleasing to the eyes, the higher chance she will win.
And in that contest, i guess many felt no doubt she is an eye candy, worthy to represent the country as the most beautiful girl ( eye candy ) in a world eye candies contest for this year.
And thus should how she be judged. So long as one spare they hypocriticism, stripped off all morality, intelligence and inner beauty perceptions. And that should be how she would look forward to a career in future. As eye candy till her beauty fades away, nothing more.
As for crimes, she have to pay her dues. Everyone is responsible for their own mistakes. It will be her reputation for life. And it is up to individual or individuals to give her a second chance. Second chances are never an automatic right of anyone. Others can only plead on her behalf, as well as her future actions.
So, for future beauty pagents, please cut the bullshit about representing womanhood, intelligence, etc, etc. It only disparages and demean against the many much more beautiful, capable, as well as morally upright women of our world
Originally posted by xtreyier:Let's face reality.
So called 'Beauty' pagents means what it as campaigned - beauty - of the outer kind. Kinda shallow, and nothing to do with EQ or IQ, despite their vain attempts to ennoble the superficial contest.
The only 'Q' that they are look for is Eye Q - Eye candy Qoutient. Outer beauty is subjective, thus the more a contestant is pleasing to the eyes, the higher chance she will win.
And in that contest, i guess many felt no doubt she is an eye candy, worthy to represent the country as the most beautiful girl ( eye candy ) in a world eye candies contest for this year.
And thus should how she be judged. So long as one spare they hypocriticism, stripped off all morality, intelligence and inner beauty perceptions. And that should be how she would look forward to a career in future. As eye candy till her beauty fades away, nothing more.
As for crimes, she have to pay her dues. Everyone is responsible for their own mistakes. It will be her reputation for life. And it is up to individual or individuals to give her a second chance. Second chances are never an automatic right of anyone. Others can only plead on her behalf, as well as her future actions.
So, for future beauty pagents, please cut the bullshit about representing womanhood, intelligence, etc, etc. It only disparages and demean against the many much more beautiful, capable, as well as morally upright women of our world
look nice but personality/ character jia sai, of course cant qualify for MSW. I think if the judges knew that, they wouldnt have picked her.![]()
but also her fault, commit crime liao still garang garang go join, when considering the chances very high tio caught.
Ya. i do agree on the points you stated. Very good analysis. haha. the Eye Q part funny. ![]()
Frankly speaking, even after the news of her conviction broke, she still had the opportunity to salvage her chances - but she blew it repeatedly.
She shouldn't have called it 'a moment of folly'. 'A moment of folly' is when you steal a Snickers bar from a 7 Eleven. It is not when you commit theft, credit fraud and impersonation 65 times over a period of two months.
She shouldn't have said that everyone has made their mistakes and deserve a second chance. Yes, we all have our sins, but as my good friend the Bear would say, the sins of others do not exonerate you of your own.
She should have said that she made the mistake of not declaring her conviction to the organizers from the very beginning and not only after she had won the local competition. After all, the T&C made it clear that contestants must not be charged or convicted in a court of law.
All this gives the impression that she doesn't realize how serious her crimes were, and that she's not entirely repentant for carrying them out.
Criminals who are reformed do deserve their second chances, and I count former drug addicts and samsengs among my friends. Unfortunately, how the world works is that there will always be a record of the bad things you do if you do get caught for doing them. If that seems unfair to her now, then it really should have crossed her mind at least once during the 65 offences she committed during those two months.
Originally posted by yiha093:but at that time when she say' yes ' haven convicted what, so technically speaking that statement holds?
Please focus on your O lvls and not the MSW...
did u read today sunday times?
she is suffering from bi-polar disorder and taking medications. she has felt the urge to steal since primary school days? there is a name for this disorder, what is it eh in psychiatry?
Originally posted by Rooney9:did u read today sunday times?
she is suffering from bi-polar disorder and taking medications. she has felt the urge to steal since primary school days? there is a name for this disorder, what is it eh in psychiatry?
Obsessive Compulsive Behaviour.
Originally posted by Herzog_Zwei:
Obsessive Compulsive Behaviour.
no not OCD. there is a condition for stealing. bi-polar disorder is someone whose mood can be extreme at opposite ends. when is she happy, she is very happy and when she is sad, she is depressed and can contemplate suicide.
Originally posted by Rooney9:did u read today sunday times?
shes a kleptomaniac.
Originally posted by OHSheet:shes a kleptomaniac.
yes this is the right term for urge to steal.
Well.. Rooney.
if the papers are defending on the basis that she is a klepto and has certain disorders, it'll STILL be her fault.
As this incident would NEVER have happened if she TOOK HER FREAKING MEDS! ![]()
Originally posted by OHSheet:Well.. Rooney.
if the papers are defending on the basis that she is a klepto and has certain disorders, it'll STILL be her fault.
As this incident would NEVER have happened if she TOOK HER FREAKING MEDS!
besides medication, mind power is also very important. not a lot of people can control their impulses and mood swings. only those with a strong mind and will can control mind over matter.
Originally posted by Rooney9:besides medication, mind power is also very important. not a lot of people can control their impulses and mood swings. only those with a strong mind and will can control mind over matter.
that is what medications are for! Take em or lose your mind.
in this case, id figure that she didnt take em.
besides, if she has bi-polar disorder.
there is 101% a medication prescribed for her mood swings and unexpected impulses. I can guarantee this for a fact. And im sure that she wasnt taking them. IF she wants to claim on the basis that her medical problems had compelled her to commit the crime.
pur enrish, got record, some more not even that pretty also.
shame on our judges.
What a bunch of assholes. I curse that all of those who mocked her and called her a 'whore' will see their mothers and sisters joining brothels and getting fucked by old fat oily men with no hair.
please lah, she is just materialistic and unscrupulous and has low moral
Originally posted by noopi:please lah, she is just materialistic and unscrupulous and has low moral
if she is, what has it got to do with you lol.
Originally posted by noopi:please lah, she is just materialistic and unscrupulous and has low moral
She's really not the only materialistic girl in the world. Majority of females are materialistic. The bipolar excuse may sound lame, and is most probably exaggerated now for mitigation. But what if she really did have it and it really impaired her judgment? You haven't done anything in your life before that you later wish you didn't?
English is Singapore's business language, but not the lingua franca of many Singaporeans.
Why the lynching and witchhunt? The lynching is madness, its akin to the Ku Klux Klan of modern times. Leave the gal alone already. Have you seen the many spoof videos made in youtube?? they say more about how free and the kind of 'morals' the makers have, than of her.
Originally posted by insidestory:The bipolar excuse may sound lame, and is most probably exaggerated now for mitigation. But what if she really did have it and it really impaired her judgment?
yes. true indeed. And thats why i stated about the meds thing. If she is diagnosed with bipolar disorder, im certain she would be given her meds.
The only way the illness impairs her judgement would be when she doesnt take the meds.
And that would be HER fault. As she is responsible for her actions.
Originally posted by OHSheet:yes. true indeed. And thats why i stated about the meds thing. If she is diagnosed with bipolar disorder, im certain she would be given her meds.
The only way the illness impairs her judgement would be when she doesnt take the meds.
hahahaha why dun you go be her medic and feed her medications to prevent a relapsed.
Originally posted by Rooney9:if she is, what has it got to do with you lol.
it has got lots to do with me because she is going to be sent to some international competition as the most beautiful person from my country...... erm yah lol
Originally posted by insidestory:She's really not the only materialistic girl in the world. Majority of females are materialistic. The bipolar excuse may sound lame, and is most probably exaggerated now for mitigation. But what if she really did have it and it really impaired her judgment? You haven't done anything in your life before that you later wish you didn't?
English is Singapore's business language, but not the lingua franca of many Singaporeans.
Why the lynching and witchhunt? The lynching is madness, its akin to the Ku Klux Klan of modern times. Leave the gal alone already. Have you seen the many spoof videos made in youtube?? they say more about how free and the kind of 'morals' the makers have, than of her.
who who who, who post in youtube, so notti
Originally posted by OHSheet:yes. true indeed. And thats why i stated about the meds thing. If she is diagnosed with bipolar disorder, im certain she would be given her meds.
if you knew anything about clinical psychiatry, you'd know that the meds do not control 100% of psychological impulses. I have a good friend who was also bipolar. The meds only control up to a certain extent, depending on the individual, plus there are high undesirable side effects that make many patients not want to take them.
EVEN IF her condition was under control, so she did something wrong. Is it necessary to degrade her and call her a whore, other names? If she can think its possible to get away with spending money on other people's credit cards and that police can't trace it back to her, she is not the sharpest tool in ths shed. Must she be witchhunted just cos she is not so bright? There are many other dumb fucks in Singapore who are very stupid in dumbing grounds for the not so bright. Why aren't they lynched like Ms Low?
http://www.straitstimes.com/Breaking%2BNews/Singapore/Story/STIStory_433828.html
He blames sexual dsyfunction for his offence and is appealing against sentence.
A TOP graduate blamed his medical condition for ejaculating on the thigh of a woman in a bus but the judge did not buy it.
Two doctors said Chong Weien, 28, suffers from spontaneous ejaculation and is easily aroused even without any physical stimulation.
This cut no ice with District Judge Jill Tan, who said in her judgement: 'Even if the accused did suffer from a spontaneous ejaculation on the bus, this did not rule out the possibility that he could have brushed his penis against the victim's thigh as well.' Chong's lawyer Ravinderpal Singh told the court that his client had graduated at the top of his class in 2007 and has been accepted to do a Master's in clinical psychology at James Cook University in Australia. (only like shit university will send people to another like shit university simi James Cook..)
So what if Low joined MSW despite having a 'criminal' record? She cannot have a fresh start? She can't aspire for a new life, a good life? How about giving her courage to do so recognition, unlike the gangsters and hoodlums who sniff glue and extort money and go in and out of jail/drug rehab?