I remember when I watch yesterday Ch8 10pm news it mentioned that there is a new operation to help people who do not want to wear spectacles to gain back perfect eyesight but I don't really know what are they talking about because my chinese is not that good.
I think the operation is expensive costs about 8k a eye and can be done within 15 minutes and after taht the patient can go back home.
I don't think its the usual laserik operation whch existed long ago as the news mentioned that its a new operation that has just been invented.
Anybody has any idea what this new operation is about?
tat operation procedure actually had been around for a number of years liao
it is about implanting an artifical contact lens in ur eyes lol.
i still nvr regret going for lasik , better then having something in me..........
yah. same here. i had lasik for my eyes at least 6 years ago.. not bad, wake up fresh and 1st thing i did when my eyes recovered, play darts and got my scuba diving cert :)
8k an eye? Rubbish.
how old then can go lasik?
Originally posted by BEARZAIS:tat operation procedure actually had been around for a number of years liao
it is about implanting an artifical contact lens in ur eyes lol.
i still nvr regret going for lasik , better then having something in me..........
whats the difference between implanting an artifical contact lens in your eys and the normal laser operation?
Which method is better?
Originally posted by LOTUSfairy:yah. same here. i had lasik for my eyes at least 6 years ago.. not bad, wake up fresh and 1st thing i did when my eyes recovered, play darts and got my scuba diving cert :)
you had lasik or the implant an artifical contact lens operation?
Originally posted by fireng:
whats the difference between implanting an artifical contact lens in your eys and the normal laser operation?
Which method is better?
actually i am answering this subjectively,
i dun feel comfortable having something in mine eyes thats all,thats why i dun like the lens implantation procedure.
But the i think the contact lens is 100 %vision will become 20/20,not for lasik lasik some people nvr achieve that magic 20/20 and may opt to do another enhancement sugery
Originally posted by BEARZAIS:actually i am answering this subjectively,
i dun feel comfortable having something in mine eyes thats all,thats why i dun like the lens implantation procedure.
But the i think the contact lens is 100 %vision will become 20/20,not for lasik lasik some people nvr achieve that magic 20/20 and may opt to do another enhancement sugery
erm I am blur..
You are saying that contact lens is better as it lets you achieve perfect eyesight(20/20) whereas lasik most likely will not achieve perfect eyesight and you have to continue to do other operations to the eye to make it achieve perfect vision?
yup,i think according to the doc ard 90% achieve perfect eyesight , not sure whether the statistic is true anot but i am happy with my eyesight lol.
so you achieved perfect eyesight form the laserik operation?
the contact lens opertaion cost $8k a eye?
me...........nope lol! sadly
my right eye is 20/20 but mine left eye is slightly weaker
but i am ok with it la...supposed that mine vision haven stabilised,as i jus had it 2 weeks ago
eh with regards to the contact lens operation me not sure i am cant help.
Originally posted by BEARZAIS:me...........nope lol! sadly
my right eye is 20/20 but mine left eye is slightly weaker
but i am ok with it la...supposed that mine vision haven stabilised,as i jus had it 2 weeks ago
eh with regards to the contact lens operation me not sure i am cant help.
So now you are weraing a spectacle that has no degree for the right eye but left eye lenses got degree? lol
nah dun need specs de lah haha unless see very small small de thing
even abit weaker i can type and talk to u 30 cm from my computer screen with no problem lol...
stab the eyes!
Originally posted by BEARZAIS:nah dun need specs de lah haha unless see very small small de thing
even abit weaker i can type and talk to u 30 cm from my computer screen with no problem lol...
are you working now or on long mc? lol.
I also want to go for laserik operation but scare that I might fall into the small percentage of unsuccessful cases..eyes is very important to even allow any possible injuries to it..
the first few hours , u will experience alot of tearing really.then the eyes will feel like something is in it
then from the second day onwards ur vision will start to improve but u will still experience dry eyes and irritation.
but generally for me the irritation still acceptable.
orh dun worry they will do a couple of test on you before deciding whether u are suitable anot.
if ur eye degree genrally below 500+ then after lasik i suppose dun need to wear glasses liao
Originally posted by BEARZAIS:the first few hours , u will experience alot of tearing really.then the eyes will feel like something is in it
then from the second day onwards ur vision will start to improve but u will still experience dry eyes and irritation.
but generally for me the irritation still acceptable.
orh dun worry they will do a couple of test on you before deciding whether u are suitable anot.
if ur eye degree genrally below 500+ then after lasik i suppose dun need to wear glasses liao
oh. my eye degree is 800 degree per eye plus another 400 degree "shan guang" per eye..
I am afraid that during the operation some things may screw up if the doctor is not careful..
Originally posted by fireng:oh. my eye degree is 800 degree per eye plus another 400 degree "shan guang" per eye..
I am afraid that during the operation some things may screw up if the doctor is not careful..
honestly ar.....i think lasik like only got minimum effect on shan guang coz i also got and is like quite high tat kind....my vision at night is ............well not as good as in the day,but i dun work at night mah..so its ok la....
himm yeap , so maybe u can go to some reputable de clinic bah haha ,find a good docter.the crucial part is lifting and puting back the flap of the eye ...
and i think you shld have no problem lol, i did lasik because i had senstitve eyes cannt wear contact lens liao, then got eye infection.i waited for the infection to cleared ard 1mth and after that i did mine lasik.
Bearzais
May I ask u on how long ago was yr lasik done?
Originally posted by BEARZAIS:
honestly ar.....i think lasik like only got minimum effect on shan guang coz i also got and is like quite high tat kind....my vision at night is ............well not as good as in the day,but i dun work at night mah..so its ok la....himm yeap , so maybe u can go to some reputable de clinic bah haha ,find a good docter.the crucial part is lifting and puting back the flap of the eye ...
and i think you shld have no problem lol, i did lasik because i had senstitve eyes cannt wear contact lens liao, then got eye infection.i waited for the infection to cleared ard 1mth and after that i did mine lasik.
Cannot wear contact lenses than why don't wear spectacles? lol
I scare even reputable clinic the doctor also might be careless and make some mistakes than die sia..
Fireng
If u don't mind mi adding.....
lasik is the slicing of the cornea to allow more light into the iris n onto the retina.
implant contact lens - no slicing or thining of the cornea but micro-surgically place the implant contact len between the cornea and iris.
8K per eye still ok....it used to be 25K for both eyes....
lol....aiya..
vain?? lol ok dun laugh at me liao , i look damm uncle with specs...then when i wear mine gf keep laughing at me for the first week ![]()
yeah normal to be abit afaird...lol
i even more stupid i agree for lasik liao then 2 days before i go youtube search abt such videos.......scare mineself
and see the docter cut the flap then put it back...abit scarly..........lol
Originally posted by 4sg:Bearzais
May I ask u on how long ago was yr lasik done?
hi
i had mine 2weeks ago haha
Originally posted by BEARZAIS:
hii had mine 2weeks ago haha
thnks for the info, it must be nice to walk about w/o spec.
just wondering what the long term effect would be like ........