is it because malay contestants are better at crooning than chinese wannabes?
That's because most folks that call in to vote are Malay females.
That's why the Malay guys always wins.
Which guy so bo liao call in to waste money to vote?
maybe because sg chinese singer pronuce L rather then R?
i hear racists coming.....
malays are generally better singers of english songs than chinese.
because malays sing better than chinese? although there are very good chinese singers out there.. heh.
I have several theories regarding this matter.
First, the Chinese attention is split into other talent competitions on other channels.
Second, there is the Obama factor in voting. Members of majority do not mind voting for other races, while members of the minority vote more strongly for a member of their group.
(Caucasian vote is half to Obama, but African-American vote is 97% to Obama)
If there is Project Superstar, there will be a high chance of a chinese winning it.
bcos they are in project superstar, campus superstar, 星光,super idol.....
oh, there is vasantham star also
i wanna wanna be a vasantham star~~~~
good chinese singers join project superstar.
more of why are there no female winners in singapore idol so far.
Originally posted by Daisuke-kun:more of why are there no female winners in singapore idol so far.
Because the voters of Singapore Idol are mainly in the 'young teenage girls who scream their heads off over handsome hunks' demographic.
That explains why we can have fellas like Sylvester Sim and Joakim Gomez last for so long in the previous seasons even though they can't sing to save their own lives.
We will never have a female Singapore Idol.
Because generally Chinese teens have lesser pocket money because their parents are busy paying off 5 room housing and a big SUV.
While malay teens have more money because 1 room flats are cheap, there is no car to support and they still get free money from the government every month.
Originally posted by Agenda:Because generally Chinese teens have lesser pocket money because their parents are busy paying off 5 room housing and a big SUV.
While malay teens have more money because 1 room flats are cheap, there is no car to support and they still get free money from the government every month.
just recall how sylvester sim and taufiq batisah sang the song "I Dream".
which one you want?
Another racist thread.....cheez...get a life....!!!
Originally posted by Agenda:Because generally Chinese teens have lesser pocket money because their parents are busy paying off 5 room housing and a big SUV.
this sounds like a racists comment lehx. Got a feeling u hate malay for some reason... then i suggest u move out of country since the gov treat us differently
remember horx each one of us are no better than the others if u know wat i mean
hor. my parents paid for the executive room housing liao but no big SUV.
and i don't remember getting free money from government.
how?
I think who wins doesn't matter... What matters is the winner knows how to sing the NATIONAL ANTHEM~
singapore idol is a platform for individuals to show off their prowess at off-tune singing
TS first post spells racism. singapore idol popularity is only limited within singapore so does that matter ? the past 2 winner popularity sums it all.
taufiq rox
if u donch say, i oredi 4gotten who the winners of SG idol are......
Firstly, the malay population does vote more than the chinese population in this competition (i think).
Secondly, malay definitely sings better than chinese in this competition (i agree).
Who the hell is charles and duane??....
Thirdly, because most of the youngsters that idolised popstars are GIRLS.... and most girls would definitely support guys than supporting girls... therefore since more supporters are for guys, then obviously more votes would go to the guys.
Therefore these are my reasons why malay guys always win, and there are no female winners.
Anyway, most of the singing, acting, or what ever competition that requires voting are won by guys. What campus superstar, superstar, idol, vasantham star blah blah blah... all guys. Only the hosting is won by chui fang, the only female winner so far...