any1 here knows what does "Hao4 Lum2" mean? I often hear at funeral or at some unhappy occasions. Does is mean crying person or sour and unhappy or bitter person????
Also, how about "Lan3 Tao3 Qing1" in hokkien? i often hear my old foreman referring to some relatives or internal people related to the fammily business........
hao4 = cry
filial is hao3?
Hao can be "cry", kao can be "cry" too.
The word "filial" is "hao soon" > å�顺。
During funeral,hao lum is somehow short form of hao lum kia.>å�顺仔〉å�顺的å©å�。
*When not during funeral, ppl say "you see that hao lum kia / you dun hao lum lah" somehow mean that person cry till super jia lat as if his/her parent pass away, bcos that person hv deep feeling for his/her parent, unable to control his/her emotions thus cry in a way that is unimaginable pityful or other see liao also heart sour way.
Something like:>"Kao Peh Si Bu" å“çˆ¸æ»æ¯� like that.
To really see ppl cry jia lat>is either "at during the time when a family member or someone very close is pronounce dead by whomever> at that point in time when mind goes blank" or "during when coffine moving on the electric machine going for burning where the {hao lum child} shout:“faster fly/move away, fire is coming”
Best part> the soul is so called already got transferred/kept/inside the hand-writen tablet(clipped inbetween the 金银å�) or the blue colour paper lantern.
Originally posted by FireIce:filial is hao3?
dear FireIce
it is apparent that showa does not know how to use proper Hokkien tonal indicator thus she substituted HanyuPinyin Tone(4) to indicate the falling tone contour of Hokkien's Shang Tone.
although you are not wrong that filial is hao(3)<HanyuPinyin Tone(3) used, but after tone-sandhi Hokkien Yin-Qu Tone with low-falling tone contour changes to a high-falling tone contour similar to that of Shang Tone, therefore the indicator of Tone(4) being used by showa
hope this clarifies
"Lan3 Tao3 Qing1"
Profanity sacrastic remark.
Originally posted by Bangulzai:fireice, this “hao” is not that “cry” when used here. instead this “hao” is the character “filial”, and “hao lam” is “filial son”
showa, i donno wat is “lan tao qing”
Correct.
Then 'kan na bu' means what?
Means "wish you a good fortune"
Originally posted by kcockicht:Then 'kan na bu' means what?
Sissy.
kan na bu is 'ficken mutter' lah.
Originally posted by kcockicht:kan na bu is 'ficken mutter' lah.
short of "ni" knnb become sissy.
hehe..![]()
no lah kan na bu means fook mother right?
nope.
Originally posted by Chew Bakar:nope.
never mind i still like the way it sounded
kanabu kanabu kanabu ![]()
Originally posted by kcockicht:no lah kan na bu means fook mother right?
No lah, it means
"Good Luck charm to himself"
Originally posted by likeyou:
No lah, it means
"Good Luck charm to himself"
must be.
wahahahah.
this thread about to turn hilarious.
even if I have questions about hokkien, i have difficulty finding words to describe it to ask questions here.