I was unfortunate to have dropped my new EZ-Link card (with quite a large stored value in it). Prior to the lost, I have submitted the EZ-Reload application about 2 weeks earlier.
I called TransitLink office to report the lost and also to haul the application. They assured me that everything would be settled on their end.
To my surprise when I received the letter from TransitLink a few days ago, informing me that my application was successful. As the letter states that the facility needs to be activated before it could be use, I ignored the letter.
I got a shock when I looked thru my bank statement and discovered that an EZ-Reload amount has been deducted from my GIRO account for my lost card. This contradicts to what was stated in the letter. I called up TransitLink immediately. The lady on the receiving end confirmed that my card had been reported lost, but was unable to provide an explanation for the deduction. She was apologetic and told me that she would escalate this issue and process with the refund. The refund process would take approx. 1.5 months!
Lesson learnt? Always look through your bank statement unless you are charitable to all organisation (and in this case, you can always “donate” to me.. *lol*)
lesson learnt is to take care of ur ezlink card
and other belongings
and not to top up large amounts in the card
mrts and ATMs are all over, very convenient to top up
so no need kiasu put a lotta money inside bcos u think it is very ma fan to keep toppping up
best is to just top up 10 dollars
each time will do
nowadays take public transport.. fares so scary.. sometimes $10 can finish within 2 days!
Originally posted by 105090:nowadays take public transport.. fares so scary.. sometimes $10 can finish within 2 days!
still ok
i think in no time
PAP will increase or a better word
"adjustments" the bus fares again
My condolences.......
RIP to your lost card
Apparently someone actually took full advantage of the new $500 maximum limit.
Public transport is so ex! 2-way to and fro work cost me $5 daily!! So normally i top up $40 everytime when the stored value is low.
If i am not mistaken, u cannot use ur card if your value fall below $3, unlike the old card where you still can have minus value... (miss that!)
It would be inconvienent if i am on the bus and cannot use the card due to the $3 cap. Have to pay cash (worse if i only have like big notes), cannot take adv of the transfer rebate, and have to pay more as compared to card users.. V loogi...
Ti....
It is right that they ought to refund you the EZ-Reload amount. But perhaps they could at least have a cap amount or a hotline to cancel the EZ-link card if you happen to drop it. Just like credit card.
yah mah
got refund
but take 1.5 mths
Have to be extra careful when u already top up large amounts sia...but anyway, condolences to the lost card. Next time top up max $20 will do...they need 1.5months to refund u? Sorry if I misread...then did they help u cancel your lost card? If not from your bank account will be deducted more? Better check constantly in case they deduct more...
Originally posted by esuopsgnowk:Have to be extra careful when u already top up large amounts sia...but anyway, condolences to the lost card. Next time top up max $20 will do...they need 1.5months to refund u? Sorry if I misread...then did they help u cancel your lost card? If not from your bank account will be deducted more? Better check constantly in case they deduct more...
Thanks a lot for your concern :)
Saw the refund in my bank statement yesterday. I have cancelled the giro arrangement on that lost card so it should be fine.
gotta be real careful here. soon enough the EZ link card could be used for every transaction, like a cash card, losing it will be like a whole in your pocket.
am using a wide phone. So now my ezlink card is attached to the phone under the phone's silicon covers.
Works for me to tap my phone at the ezlink machine since my phone is always in my hands and i have its earphones attached into my ears.
I hope they can eventually make the ezlink card smaller or at least just a simple token that can be attached onto a phone for easier tapping and carrying around.
Originally posted by viciouskitty74:am using a wide phone. So now my ezlink card is attached to the phone under the phone's silicon covers.
Works for me to tap my phone at the ezlink machine since my phone is always in my hands and i have its earphones attached into my ears.
I hope they can eventually make the ezlink card smaller or at least just a simple token that can be attached onto a phone for easier tapping and carrying around.
that's a cool suggestion. but it'll take quite a while for convention to change. maybe next time it'll be embedded in our skins, o.O - that way we can't lose em, ha
Originally posted by Jacquelyn Tan:
If i am not mistaken, u cannot use ur card if your value fall below $3, unlike the old card where you still can have minus value... (miss that!)
Suprisingly this only applies to MRTs...buses they still deduct even if you have 1 dollar left on ez link card.
Originally posted by viciouskitty74:am using a wide phone. So now my ezlink card is attached to the phone under the phone's silicon covers.
Wun the electromagnetic wave from the phone interfere when you tap? As in the mrt tapping plate produces error?
I saw many ppl tapping their wallet (with their ezlink card inside) and the plate shows error / not able to detect. No prob when they took out the card and scan it separately
So far, I had no problems with the card reader not reading my cards. So I dont think it interfered, even when I was on the phone or listening to fm radio on the phone.
Originally posted by Jacquelyn Tan:Wun the electromagnetic wave from the phone interfere when you tap? As in the mrt tapping plate produces error?
I saw many ppl tapping their wallet (with their ezlink card inside) and the plate shows error / not able to detect. No prob when they took out the card and scan it separately
It's the ammount of other cards inside ur wallet tat's disrupting the scaning... The scanner cant scan thru...
However i dunno if the scanner has an adverse effect on ur phone after long duration of usage like VK's...
Originally posted by ^Acid^ aka s|aO^eH~:
However i dunno if the scanner has an adverse effect on ur phone after long duration of usage like VK's...
Well, if the phone goes kaputed, I will try to mention it up here so all can be informed.
Haiz... EZ link... knn today i took bus, when alighting forget to tap.... dont know how much its going to cost me...
u know that girl in the poster abt the 4 free rides thing. the green shirt with a black sweater open button. she's quite cute..... my ez link card tap is worth
Originally posted by MaNyZeR:Haiz... EZ link... knn today i took bus, when alighting forget to tap.... dont know how much its going to cost me...
I think there is a cap on the amount? Max at $1.40?
Not sure whether I am updated. But those who knows might help correct my figures?