“We Are One" is a CSR project by MediaCorp, CapitaLand and LEGO Singapore. It was initiated by MediaCorp to raise at least one million dollars for charity.
The idea is simple – to build a 5m by 8m Singapore island using 2x2 stud LEGO® bricks. The money raised will be channeled to help Singaporeans and families affected by the economic downturn.
The story we are telling is equally simple – “The First Singaporeans built this country with blood, sweat and tears. Who will fill it with love, hope and compassion?”
The concept was inspired by Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong’s call to the nation to show that we care for those who have been deeply affected by the recession. As we emerge out of this crisis together, it is a great opportunity for us to show our compassion.
We hope that like Fabric of the Nation (2003), this nation-wide event will move all Singaporeans and friends to support the cause.
**************************************************************************************
have u bought a brick?
nope.
We need to WASTE money to buy lego brick to show that we care for those who have been deeply affected by the recession?
How touching ~
Can we all go bake a cake and donate cakes to those who were deeply affected by the recession?
at the expense of the environment? what happen to the lego after that? throw away or exhibit forever? there are many people or organization or volunteers to the poor. its better for the direct approach to a single affected household than giving mass donations to a society. wonder how the funds are manipulated. see the NKF sheet? people can appeal somemore.
i want to buy
just tt me no time go ION
waste of time and money....
anyone have any idea how many % of the money actually goes into charity and how much went into the organiser or somewhere else?
if u wanna give $$ just pay $$ into those charity directly....
This is not a good idea to show our compassion.
The event was non-political in nature, but a heart felt call for those who care about the less priviledge to come forth and help.
No doubt Singaporeans had donated generously for charitable causes, but this event was much more symbolic. It may be only a piece of toy brick, but with it is a pledge and a committment from the heart to build up our country to make it a better place than it was left to us from our forefathers, first by caring for others.
It is the committment to egalitarianism, for the sake of society and must never go the utilitarian way of self centredness, a pledge to never leave anyone behind, an undertaking of nobility and national patriotism, a maturity that we must now strive for after 44 years since independence.
I sincerly hope more would come forth and participate in such future events when it occurs again. For those who didnt make it, it doesnt matter, for others in our society would understand. It is the thought and the heart that counts.
No citizen can claim he had never benefited from our society and found success outside our community if he grew up here.
There is no shame in loving your country and the efforts of our forefathers- Malay, Chinese, Indians, etc, together whom gave us our progressive todays. thru their collective hardwork, blood, sweat and toil for centuries...
We are one.
I heard this campaign wasn't very successful.
Only like one quarter of bricks were sold.
Anybody got an update on the final number of bricks sold? ![]()
due to recession, my previous company sold off, then i got another job with even lower pay. how to buy brick cos i was deeply affected by the recession. the money raised how to give me ah?
upgrade yourself also no use, with the FTs and a dime a dozen new PRs, you cannot demand for a reasonable pay anymore...talk about being ONE and matching the swiss standard???
Originally posted by dragon_stone:upgrade yourself also no use, with the FTs and a dime a dozen new PRs, you cannot demand for a reasonable pay anymore...talk about being ONE and matching the swiss standard???
The piece of symbolic brick costs only $2, for charities and to supplement social funds, and the $2 may seem small change to many, but if your pockets have only 90cts, you cant even get a bus ride, let alone the MRT, and would have to walk a long way home.
Better you keep what you have, and seek help from kind souls than to give it to charities. Others and charities understand, appreciate the thought for charity but would not want it any other way, to deprave you of what you have, for they too, had either been deprived before and know the pain, and wish it not upon others.
I know how you feel, more so in these hard times and suffering from both being laid off and getting a job with perhaps a lower pay which you would find unreasonable.
Perhaps think of the FT/FW issue this way - if they were not here, more companies may not be able to compete and will even to have fold, causing lesser jobs in the market. Every foriegner hired means another citizen gets to be hired or keeps his job. There is a qouta system in place. Abusers of the qouta system gets penalised.
Many more are like you, caught in a doing not of our own but living in a new world order of globalisation. There are still good paying jobs if you had upgraded. Many are doing everything they can to keep their jobs, applying for jobs, upgrading for jobs, competting in jobs, working hard with the right attitude, proving themselves and getting promoted.
Words may be easily said, but the facts and realities are there for all to see. They had not given up and most found success. So too can you. I wish you all the best and good luck, because you are ONE OF US.
Take care. ![]()
nope, I donated to the moove love charity instead..
Got so many adverts abt this project, i watch until sian already
$1m funds rasied for the event...
ion one no more.
can oly donate online liao.
the poor result has rather shocked me.
I bring my lego brick there~
Originally posted by Hello Kitty:ion one no more.
can oly donate online liao.
the poor result has rather shocked me.
But nobody knows the actual amount as to how much was raised? ![]()
I think no nobirdie interested in lego bricks
if can build a ark
i think the response be better
somemore can put to good use
also in case of flooding also
Originally posted by xtreyier:The piece of symbolic brick costs only $2, for charities and to supplement social funds, and the $2 may seem small change to many, but if your pockets have only 90cts, you cant even get a bus ride, let alone the MRT, and would have to walk a long way home.
Better you keep what you have, and seek help from kind souls than to give it to charities. Others and charities understand, appreciate the thought for charity but would not want it any other way, to deprave you of what you have, for they too, had either been deprived before and know the pain, and wish it not upon others.
I know how you feel, more so in these hard times and suffering from both being laid off and getting a job with perhaps a lower pay which you would find unreasonable.
Perhaps think of the FT/FW issue this way - if they were not here, more companies may not be able to compete and will even to have fold, causing lesser jobs in the market. Every foriegner hired means another citizen gets to be hired or keeps his job. There is a qouta system in place. Abusers of the qouta system gets penalised.
Many more are like you, caught in a doing not of our own but living in a new world order of globalisation. There are still good paying jobs if you had upgraded. Many are doing everything they can to keep their jobs, applying for jobs, upgrading for jobs, competting in jobs, working hard with the right attitude, proving themselves and getting promoted.
Words may be easily said, but the facts and realities are there for all to see. They had not given up and most found success. So too can you. I wish you all the best and good luck, because you are ONE OF US.
Take care.
Originally posted by xtreyier:The piece of symbolic brick costs only $2, for charities and to supplement social funds, and the $2 may seem small change to many, but if your pockets have only 90cts, you cant even get a bus ride, let alone the MRT, and would have to walk a long way home.
Take care.
“A stronger currency and a rise in inflation have made Singapore a more expensive place for expatriates to live in, a survey has found.
Singapore jumped three spots from a year ago to become the ninth priciest Asian city in the latest cost of living ranking by human resource company ECA International.
It beat Taiwan's Taipei and China's Shenzhen and Guangzhou, but remained cheaper than Japan's Tokyo and Yokohama, and China's Beijing, Shanghai and Hong Kong.
Worldwide, Singapore's rising cost of living catapulted it into the 78th spot on this year's global survey, up almost 20 places from 97th last year….” ST, 3-12-09
Please explain how to seek a balance in our daily expenses when the pay keep going down and expenses is the other way? The FTs are not on equal footing here when they set foot into a company, they ousted the locals with their expected pay. And then realised later that things are not so cheap here, but damaged had already done...to locals
No time for stupid initiative by mediacorp
I dun understand why are they wasting time on all this media and join venture shit just to raise some pathetic charity....just stop National Celebration with fireworks and all those dinner could had saved more than this project. That's is why my native taiwan people said, "Singaporeans very stupid"
Originally posted by angel7030:I dun understand why are they wasting time on all this media and join venture shit just to raise some pathetic charity....just stop National Celebration with fireworks and all those dinner could had saved more than this project. That's is why my native taiwan people said, "Singaporeans very stupid"
acting job\