Originally posted by Fantagf:Wacky has posted the link to CCs which provide legal counselling, why aren't you interested in this? Nobody can help you if you keep want to get matters worse, may be lawyers also cannot help.
Since you cannot afford paying $500 per hr for consultation, just give the CC a try.
have went for free legal counselling. I need a lawyer to fight the case for me and not just legal advice.
The volunteer lawyers which provide legal counselling cannot help me to fight the case
is it a MLM co?
Originally posted by Rooney9:I think the judge will throw out the case, as its not even a case. its both a waste of time for courts attending and presiding over this non existent case, period.
How you know that this is non existent case?
Originally posted by Rooney9:is it a MLM co?
No. Its a real public listed company doing real business
Originally posted by Daveteo:
have went for free legal counselling. I need a lawyer to fight the case for me and not just legal advice.
The volunteer lawyers which provide legal counselling cannot help me to fight the case
Can they provide you with list of legal firms which provide low costs legal consultation and court case?
Originally posted by Fantagf:
Can they provide you with list of legal firms which provide low costs legal consultation and court case?
no
what I mean was thet the judge will throw out the case, as its not even worth presiding over such a small matter in court. a bloody waste of time of the court resources.
no
Unless you have friends who work as lawyers, they should be able to help if they are willing.
Originally posted by Rooney9:what I mean was thet the judge will throw out the case, as its not even worth presiding over such a small matter in court. a bloody waste of time of the court resources.
As long as the company espically it is a big public listed company files the lawsuit, the judge is required to take up the case even if he feels that it is a stupid case
is there any way you can confirm they are going ahead with the lawsuit?
Yes, Dave, you are. A public listed company is a legal entity which means Ms/Mr X vs Y company in the court of law.
I think Wacky has given you a good source of information or help. Can the volunteer lawyers, which provide legal counselling, help you source for affordable lawyer?
hmmm...sound like my aunty is training to be a lawyer...yeah!! me got dated by lawyer before leh, wha, talk until i sian...
Originally posted by Fantagf:
is there any way you can confirm they are going ahead with the lawsuit?
More or less confirmed as I heard my ex collegues told me that the directors had a meeting and agreeded on it and they had informed the whole company about the decision to sue me.
If they now don't sue me they will lose face as they had already told the whole company about it
More or less confirmed as I heard my ex collegues told me that the directors had a meeting and agreeded on it and they had informed the whole company about the decision to sue me.
If they now don't sue me they will lose face as they had already told the whole company about it
Well, people like that don't do self reflection. They really know how to bully the junior. Bad karma they create for themselves.
Tell them no need you complain, the school itself already has bad reputation.
sue you??? hahaha...eat too full got nothing better to do?? you po kai one, sue also no money to take ya,...dun think Companies are so stupid to waste time, money and effort on an empty vase
Originally posted by angel7030:sue you??? hahaha...eat too full got nothing better to do?? you po kai one, sue also no money to take ya,...dun think Companies are so stupid to waste time, money and effort on an empty vase
Empty vase, angel7030, you telling daveteo you are empty vessel. WE all know la, no need tell.
Originally posted by Daveteo:I am currently facing some defamation lawsuits by a big organisation.
I do not qualify for free legal lawyers provided by the government as my income is $11k+ a year which their cap of income is at $10k a year to qualify for free lawyers.
Anyone have any good recommendations of affordable lawyers? If have can message me or email the details to [email protected]
Lawyers charging $500 a hour is too expensive for me to afford.
Hi Daveteo,
Please do not be panic. Stay calm.
When a company says that it wants to sue you, it does not mean that it will really charge you in court.
The company will first send you a letter by its lawyer stating its charges and the damages over you and requests you to reply within a given period of time.
You will just acknowledge the recipt of the letter and ask them for documentary evidence to back up for its charges against you and just wait for its reply through its lawyer.
If the company refuses to provide the evidence and only keep stating the charges, you can then reply in your letter to them that a charge must be supported by evidence and just wait for its letter. If you do not hear from them, then the case is considered over.
Next, bring the documentary evidence to the lawyers providing free legal services at the community centres and ask them whether there is any legal ground.
The url link for Singapore Law Society is
http://www.lawsociety.org.sg/directory/Default.aspx
and you can call up the lawyers to check on their fees for your case.
Daveteo, the actual legal process only starts when the company files a charge with the court and gets a writ of summons and serve the summons to you in your home address.
It is to be noted that the company might not really go to the court and files the charge with the court as it will defnitely cost it more than $20,000 (likely to cost $100,000 or more) if the case is really heard in the court and the company gets only $20,000 from you if it wins the case.
Daveteo, it might not be advisable to get a lawyer to fight the case in court as it will definitely cost you more than $20,000 (likely to cost $100,000 or more) if the case is really heard in the court. It will be better if you represent yourself in court, the lawyers providing free legal advice at the community centres will be able to help you on this, if the company really goes all the ways and the case is really to be heard in the court.
Hope this will be of help to you.
Originally posted by Rooney9:is it a MLM co?
Hi, Rooney9,
I believe it is a private education institution.
Rooney9, it is a real case as I have received a PM from him (under a different userid) to edit my post in an earlier thread and this thread has now been deleted due to the case.
Originally posted by Seowlah:Hi Daveteo,
Please do not be panic. Stay calm.
When a company says that it wants to sue you, it does not mean that it will really charge you in court.
The company will first send you a letter by its lawyer stating its charges and the damages over you and requests you to reply within a given period of time.
You will just acknowledge the recipt of the letter and ask them for documentary evidence to back up for its charges against you and just wait for its reply through its lawyer.
If the company refuses to provide the evidence and only keep stating the charges, you can then reply in your letter to them that a charge must be supported by evidence and just wait for its letter. If you do not hear from them, then the case is considered over.
Next, bring the documentary evidence to the lawyers providing free legal services at the community centres and ask them whether there is any legal ground.
The url link for Singapore Law Society is
http://www.lawsociety.org.sg/directory/Default.aspx
and you can call up the lawyers to check on their fees for your case.
Daveteo, the actual legal process only starts when the company files a charge with the court and gets a writ of summons and serve the summons to you in your home address.
It is to be noted that the company might not really go to the court and files the charge with the court as it will defnitely cost it more than $20,000 (likely to cost $100,000 or more) if the case is really heard in the court and the company gets only $20,000 from you if it wins the case.
Daveteo, it might not be advisable to get a lawyer to fight the case in court as it will definitely cost you more than $20,000 (likely to cost $100,000 or more) if the case is really heard in the court. It will be better if you represent yourself in court, the lawyers providing free legal advice at the community centres will be able to help you on this, if the company really goes all the ways and the case is really to be heard in the court.
Hope this will be of help to you.
Originally posted by Seowlah:Hi, Rooney9,
I believe it is a private education institution.
Rooney9, it is a real case as I have received a PM from him (under a different userid) to edit my post in an earlier thread and this thread has now been deleted due to the case.
private listed education institution? only TMC and RafflesCorp are listed. besides these two, I dunno which private commercial schools are listed.
so is it one of them?
dun be afraid lar, people like to threaten you only, either verbally or in writing, saying they reserve the right to take legal action. until they start the legal proceedings, just treat it as hogwash.
Originally posted by Rooney9:private listed education institution? only TMC and RafflesCorp are listed. besides these two, I dunno which private commercial schools are listed.
so is it one of them?
Hi Rooney,
TS ie Daveteo has given the name in the earlier thread and this thread has been deleted due to the case.
Originally posted by Seowlah:Hi Rooney,
TS ie Daveteo has given the name in the earlier thread and this thread has been deleted due to the case.
I didnt read that thread. can you post the name of the school, thanks.
Originally posted by Rooney9:dun be afraid lar, people like to threaten you only, either verbally or in writing, saying they reserve the right to take legal action. until they start the legal proceedings, just treat it as hogwash.
Hi Rooney9, I believe it is a real case and hence it might not be the reserve the right to take legal action case and according to Daveteo the company is getting its lawyer to handle the case.
80% of people who represent themself lose the case because they do not know the complex court procedures which even law students who spend 4 years studying are not even sure themselves
i disagree.. i would say its those incompetent students