Some places are named after people but have you ever thought what Dobhy Gaut or Ponggol, and others of roads and places meant in English?? Hope there are people here to translate and explain whatever questions here.
heard of
LKY Road?
Originally posted by noahnoah:heard of
LKY Road?
No but after he dies there will be many named after him.
Dhoby is laundry, Ghaut is river bank.
So the Indian dhobies used to wash the laundry by the bank of Stamford Canal in early days.
Punggol origin uncertain, too many intepretations.
Anyone can decipher what middlesex road means? or ah hood road? lol Maybe robin hood visited that place before.
Originally posted by Rock^Star:Anyone can decipher what middlesex road means? or ah hood road? lol Maybe robin hood visited that place before.
Middlesex is a place in England; Wee Ah Hood is a plantation owner in Balestier area in the 19th century.
Originally posted by Chew Bakar:Dhoby is laundry, Ghaut is river bank.
So the Indian dhobies used to wash the laundry by the bank of Stamford Canal in early days.
Punggol origin uncertain, too many intepretations.
At first I thought Dhoby Gaut was something Jewish and Punggol was Indian.
Originally posted by Short Ninja:
At first I thought Dhoby Gaut was something Jewish and Punggol was Indian.
Former Meyers Chambers across the road is Jewish.
Originally posted by Chew Bakar:Middlesex is a place in England; Lim Ah Hood is a plantation owner in Balestier area in the 19th century.
Maybe his parents wanted to spell his name Ah Huat but the British spelled it that way.If they were literate the ang mor sure kena hoot in the ole days.LOL
Lorong Liew Lian really ish durian farm?
Then Lorong Ah Soo lehx???
Originally posted by Chew Bakar:Former Meyers Chambers across the road is Jewish.
Meyer is a common Jewish surname.Like the famous Golda Meir
Originally posted by Short Ninja:Maybe his parents wanted to spell his name Ah Huat but the British spelled it that way.If they were literate the ang mor sure kena hoot in the ole days.LOL
That Hood is ä½›, Buddha lah, not whack ok!
Originally posted by ^Acid^ aka s|aO^eH~:Lorong Liew Lian really ish durian farm?
Ah Soo or Ask Who?LOL
Cool. What abt Lim Tua Tow Road?
Originally posted by ^Acid^ aka s|aO^eH~:Lorong Liew Lian really ish durian farm?
Ah Soo is probably is a misspelled or localised spelling of Aroozoo, an early Jewish settler in the Hougang area.
Originally posted by Rock^Star:Cool. What abt Lim Tua Tow Road?
Must be named after some big headed samseng kia la.
Aiyah, I not encyclopedia of streets ok!!
Originally posted by Rock^Star:Cool. What abt Lim Tua Tow Road?
A famous teochew.
What about Tampines?
Originally posted by Short Ninja:What about Tampines?
tree.
or Lorong Buangkok?
Originally posted by Short Ninja:or Lorong Buangkok?
Bukit Sembawang Estates know by its Teochew name Buang Kok Hng.
Originally posted by Chew Bakar:Aiyah, I not encyclopedia of streets ok!!
I think by now we all here consider you as a living museum.![]()
Originally posted by Short Ninja:
I think by now we all here consider you as a living museum.
Then you library lor.