Was there really a lion on Singapore island?
Is there any evidence of it?
What we know is that tigers existed on the island?
So how can we used the Merlion as as symbol?
ya lah ya lah
it was a tiger lah
dunno which dumb dumb told sang nila utama wrong info. say is lion
and since it's been so many years, we will just take it as lion and life goes on
Originally posted by FireIce:ya lah ya lah
it was a tiger lah
dunno which dumb dumb told sang nila utama wrong info. say is lion
and since it's been so many years, we will just take it as lion and life goes on
then why is it a tiger ??????
i thot that sang come to singapore and spotted a lion ....
then named us temasek .....
how i know sia
i wasn't there to see it
Sang Nila Utama came to Temasek and saw the damn thing lah.
And call the place Singa (Lion) Pura (City).
think about it. lion only exists in africa. only tigers in our region lar kaoz.
maybe the tiger stuck out his head from the bushes and Sang Nila Utama saw tat ,so he tot it was a lion...
if he is a native on the island, he would have known that only tiger and not lion exists here what. unless some bugger bring a lion from africa to here lor.
maybe its a tiger with overgrown fur
u never know the real story lar. anyway its symbolism lar. as lion is the king in the animal kingdom, so use merlion lor to show its strength and masculinity.
dun blame sang nila pls. It was the tiger, named Patrick, who was escaping from the other tigers in the region cos of gambling debts and told Sang Nila that he was a lion. Imagine Sang Nila told everyone that he saw a tiger in the island, all the tigers would know where Patrick was and he would be dead.
Originally posted by gasband:dun blame sang nila pls. It was the tiger, named Patrick, who was escaping from the other tigers in the region cos of gambling debts and told Sang Nila that he was a lion. Imagine Sang Nila told everyone that he saw a tiger in the island, all the tigers would know where Patrick was and he would be dead.
its a lion......admiral cheng ho sailed from africa to china with cargo of lions,giraffes and other stuff.....he realised that lion was seasick and almost dying so he let it loose on uninhabited island.
a number of years passed and some malay dude and frendz were out exploring for the lost amazon girl tribe and stumbled across the lion.
Originally posted by Louis888:Was there really a lion on Singapore island?
Is there any evidence of it?
What we know is that tigers existed on the island?
So how can we used the Merlion as as symbol?
It could be a long-haired tiger who hasn't had a haircut for many many years cos nobody on the island has mastered the skill of the barber yet. ![]()
all of you very funny leh!
it was pon de lion...!!!!
he saw the tiger's pubes lah.. so he tot lion..
maybe it was an african lion who had a malaysian tiger as a mate.sang nila utama stated that the animal had white breast which isnt a tiger but rather of a mix of same species ...ie...one is an african lion which is mostly white or khaki coloured and the other a malayan tiger which is mainly dark coloured.
If sang nila utama was according to legend, how true is that?
And he had to ask one of his ministers, what the creature he saw was, and was replied with, "it was probably a lion".
Geez.
How true is this Sang Nila in the first place?
there's only a dragon now.. no lion liao... LHL....
By lion he meant tiger. ![]()
So in reality, we are the Tiger City not Lion City :)
How true is this Sang Nila Utama? As the Srivijaya Empire left little archaeological remains and almost forgotten in the collective memory of its people, we might never know but it's believed during the 1390s, Parameswara, the last Srivijayan prince, fled to Temasek from Palembang after being deposed by the Majapahit Empire.
Lucky the first thing Sang Nila saw was not a pig. Or else I cannot imagine the name of this country will be called. ![]()
Originally posted by jgho83:Lucky the first thing Sang Nila saw was not a pig. Or else I cannot imagine the name of this country will be called.
Animal Farm.