Originally posted by TTFU:No..... at least a 3.5 will do
whats your GPA then?
Originally posted by Rooney9:whats your GPA then?
Originally posted by TTFU:3.27
quite good. why dun u just apply to local uni and hope for the best.
Originally posted by Rooney9:quite good. why dun u just apply to local uni and hope for the best.
Already applied loh, crossing my fingers also....
Originally posted by Rooney9:quite good. why dun u just apply to local uni and hope for the best.
Usually 3.5 is the cutoff, some course have up to 3.2 or even 2.5.
But science course is different, I didn't see the GP but I think it's 3.7+ for the last 10th percentile.
Anyway 3.27 should be able to get into SMU IS provided you ace the interview. Their cum laude holders were highest paid in a survey this year.
what do they do during interview ? what Qs they ask or what ?
3.5 will not get you into local university for Life Sciences (NUS) or Biological Sciences (NTU). You need MORE than that. If you want to be guaranteed a place, you need a Diploma with Merit.
Anyway, my advice to you would be to work first, then try to use ya work experience as a form of advantage to get you into either NTU or NUS in 1-2 years time. Otherwise you should go overseas to Australia like Melbourne and Queensland Uni for further studies.
If you wish to do research or laboratory based work next time, then it is highly recommended that you stick to NUS or NTU. Getting a Science (Biological or Life Science or Biomedical) from Psb or Mdis, is equivalent to having just a diploma. It will not increase your pay that much. Degrees from NUS and NTU would be much much recognised both locally and overseas as compared to those from Mdis and Psb.
Originally posted by TTFU:Already applied loh, crossing my fingers also....
Good luck, you're in the 10th percentile of NTU sci school.
Pray that last year was a freak year because of all the snake and dragon students.
Originally posted by MaNyZeR:3.5 will not get you into local university for Life Sciences (NUS) or Biological Sciences (NTU). You need MORE than that. If you want to be guaranteed a place, you need a Diploma with Merit.
Anyway, my advice to you would be to work first, then try to use ya work experience as a form of advantage to get you into either NTU or NUS in 1-2 years time. Otherwise you should go overseas to Australia like Melbourne and Queensland Uni for further studies.
If you wish to do research or laboratory based work next time, then it is highly recommended that you stick to NUS or NTU. Getting a Science (Biological or Life Science or Biomedical) from Psb or Mdis, is equivalent to having just a diploma. It will not increase your pay that much. Degrees from NUS and NTU would be much much recognised both locally and overseas as compared to those from Mdis and Psb.
Gpa 3.5 ~ my friend got into Nus bachelor of science. Diploma of merit seems far away from me lol. Anyway i've given up hope on Nus dint apply too, better to save my 10 dollars . Crossing my fingers on Ntu. Will ponder more again about smu and also the work experience thingy.
Originally posted by TTFU:Gpa 3.5 ~ my friend got into Nus bachelor of science. Diploma of merit seems far away from me lol. Anyway i've given up hope on Nus dint apply too, better to save my 10 dollars . Crossing my fingers on Ntu. Will ponder more again about smu and also the work experience thingy.
Why didn't apply NUS? Save $10 sounds abit weird to me.
I have friends who didn't apply SMU because they thought SMU was not as regconised, all shut up when I shown them latest salary survey and asked if they wanted to study in SIM or SMU.
Originally posted by Agenda:Why didn't apply NUS? Save $10 sounds abit weird to me.
I have friends who didn't apply SMU because they thought SMU was not as regconised, all shut up when I shown them latest salary survey and asked if they wanted to study in SIM or SMU.
3.27 for nus seems far fetched ? I dono, already contented if i can go into ntu lol
Originally posted by Agenda:Why didn't apply NUS? Save $10 sounds abit weird to me.
from your posts.. you seems to think highly of yourself ar.. tat a poly graduates like ur self made it into a local uni that u have to go around putting down others who dun...
of cos. ur fren kept quiet when u showed them the latest survey.. tat's bcos they are as shallow as u.. birds of a feather... u must be the 'best bird' le la. haha. good for u too. if ur frens were to have intelligence of a normal human being then u wun be the best..
have u questioned urself how the data was being obtained? Or u simply took it at face value.. your mindset must be sth like.. ''oh, it's published by moe. govt publish one. sure accurate one. let me show to my fren (who dun even bother toread,let alone think and analyse) and impress them''
haha. i always laugh when i meet ppl who think so highly of themselves.. Get this clear la. All 3 unis are churning out so many graduates every year. U think having a place in there would guarantee a life of succeess and fame (like wat u r thinking now)?? What abt those from Harvard and Princeton? They need to work under somebody like u who thinks u are gr8 in getting a "precious" slot in local uni??? LOL.
Originally posted by multipleviews:
from your posts.. you seems to think highly of yourself ar.. tat a poly graduates like ur self made it into a local uni that u have to go around putting down others who dun...of cos. ur fren kept quiet when u showed them the latest survey.. tat's bcos they are as shallow as u.. birds of a feather... u must be the 'best bird' le la. haha. good for u too. if ur frens were to have intelligence of a normal human being then u wun be the best..
have u questioned urself how the data was being obtained? Or u simply took it at face value.. your mindset must be sth like.. ''oh, it's published by moe. govt publish one. sure accurate one. let me show to my fren (who dun even bother toread,let alone think and analyse) and impress them''
haha. i always laugh when i meet ppl who think so highly of themselves.. Get this clear la. All 3 unis are churning out so many graduates every year. U think having a place in there would guarantee a life of succeess and fame (like wat u r thinking now)?? What abt those from Harvard and Princeton? They need to work under somebody like u who thinks u are gr8 in getting a "precious" slot in local uni??? LOL.
Was I putting anyone down? I was merely stating my point of view in regards to MDIS/PSB against SIM and then SIM against SMU. Statistics don't lie neither do they not, but can they not be used as guidelines? Else, what's the point in the first place?
I did not essentially point out that SMU was better than NUS or NTU, I bet your reply would have been different if NUS Law was topping the charts.
Did I say having a spot in a local uni equate to a life of success and fame? I did not, in fact, I made no such reference so don't twist my words.
Originally posted by Agenda:Was I putting anyone down? I was merely stating my point of view in regards to MDIS/PSB against SIM and then SIM against SMU. Statistics don't lie neither do they not, but can they not be used as guidelines? Else, what's the point in the first place?
I did not essentially point out that SMU was better than NUS or NTU, I bet your reply would have been different if NUS Law was topping the charts.
Did I say having a spot in a local uni equate to a life of success and fame? I did not, in fact, I made no such reference so don't twist my words.
oh. u din have such a thinking ? really?? I was reading another post of urs in another thread. abt y poly students should be given more places in local uni. u were writing in such a manner tat i tot u were thinking tat uni places (especially local uni) are so valuable tat getting it means you would be successful in life...
You like to assume right? It's okay, it's human nature, but maybe your inference skills isn't that sharp yet, cupcakes.
@multipleviews
Regardless of whatever Agenda wrote, I see no reason why you should get so worked up. And I didn't detect any arrogance or whatnot from any of the previous posts. It's funny, really, how your logic works.
Anyway, I stumbled upon this topic cause i'm wondering about Kaplan courses. Are they any good?
ya, relax man.
TS nvr sounded rude to me, to me any local degree is the same. Is about luck and your own capability when you are out on the work force, the starting pay is not really that important...
according to the survey, engineering(including IT) will have a starting pay higher than business degree, but eventually they will be earning far more than the engineers on average (if they are capable).....
Originally posted by Mymoja:ya, relax man.
TS nvr sounded rude to me, to me any local degree is the same. Is about luck and your own capability when you are out on the work force, the starting pay is not really that important...
according to the survey, engineering(including IT) will have a starting pay higher than business degree, but eventually they will be earning far more than the engineers on average (if they are capable).....
Ts is me bro, his talking about Agenda.
Please flame him and that thread alone and don't harrass him in this thread, which is totally not related. Thanks.
Originally posted by Fizer:@multipleviews
Regardless of whatever Agenda wrote, I see no reason why you should get so worked up. And I didn't detect any arrogance or whatnot from any of the previous posts. It's funny, really, how your logic works.
Anyway, I stumbled upon this topic cause i'm wondering about Kaplan courses. Are they any good?
And whats this kaplan courses ?
Originally posted by TTFU:I am from NP. In biomedical no further studies = lab assistant = low money. And no way you can be a doctor. Nus school of medicine is the hardest to get in school ever. Not only you need to have a perfect score/ near perfect score. But you also need recomendation letters from your teachers. A portfolio of yourself, good cca records, and a interview maybe.
You can. But of course some basic knowledge is no harm.
No hor, it is not true that no poly graduate can be a doctor.
There are 2 poly graduates from biomedical that are now studying in NUS Medical faculty in the third year lor.
Hi TTFU,
Firstly do you know the latest news? Actually Nanyang Polytechnic is partner with Griffith University so that an Diploma Holder can advanced to Master in Molecular Microbiology directly ? If you think this is too good to be true, check out this link : http://www.nyp.edu.sg/aboutNYP/latest_news/2010/nyp_gu/nyp_gu.html
Secondly, do you know that SIM have offered 2 Scholarships value $100,000 where you can choose to study overseas or local, but must have GPA of 3.5 out of 4. Anyway no harm apply and if it does not work out, you can always choose option suggested above. Link : http://www.sim.edu.sg/simscholarships
Do you have any idea where a degree in biomedical science can lead you or not? My sis is graduating, and she is clueless. The ST report about science grads taking the lowest average pay isn't helping either.![]()
Originally posted by M the name:Hi TTFU,
Firstly do you know the latest news? Actually Nanyang Polytechnic is partner with Griffith University so that an Diploma Holder can advanced to Master in Molecular Microbiology of directly, if you think this is too good to be true, check out this link : http://www.nyp.edu.sg/aboutNYP/latest_news/2010/nyp_gu/nyp_gu.html
Secondly, do you know that SIM have offered 2 Scholarships value $100,000 where you can choose to study overseas or local, but must have GPA of 3.5 out of 4. Anyway no harm apply and if it does not work out, you can always choose option suggested above. Link : http://www.sim.edu.sg/simscholarships
Cant, i not from Nyp, plus i dont want go overseas.....
Originally posted by ditzy:Do you have any idea where a degree in biomedical science can lead you or not? My sis is graduating, and she is clueless. The ST report about science grads taking the lowest average pay isn't helping either.
Zhi dian mi jing leh lol