By BT's estimates, Mr Lim is worth in excess of $2 billion. He has just under 5 per cent in Wilmar International. Based on the company's current market capitalisation of $22 billion on SGX, that stake alone is worth $1.11 billion. He has about 11 per cent in FJ Benjamin, and that's worth $52.6 million. Meanwhile, his 25 per cent stake in Rowsley has a market value of $37 million. So his Singapore equities alone are worth $1.2 billion. On top of that, he has some Australian mining stocks bought in the 1970s and '80s.
Mr Lim says 50 per cent of his portfolio is now in equities, another 10 per cent in properties and the remaining 40 per cent in cash. The cash is from the dividends he received, which he has not reapplied to the market. So all in, he's worth more than $2.4 billion.
The 54-year-old believes that the fortune he has today is pre-destined. 'This size - substantially, it's your destiny. If today I have $10 million, I'd say over 90 per cent is due to my hard work. But getting it right is not $1 billion. Maybe it's $100 million. How that $100 million becomes $1 billion, you know it's because somebody likes you. You must believe it's somehow a path that's been drawn.'
For me my best bet is to master poker and win kopi money....dun think of reaching Towkay Peter Lim standard...or else like many young punks burnt their hands in the market and go broke:(
whatever you hear from talks and seminars are also available in books. the only thing lacking are the jokes.
its just another money spinning tool.
The only way you can replicate their success is to be their clones which is a scary thought too
Originally posted by likeyou:A few of my friends, millionairs, still attending seminars.
typical S'poreans mah, they keep thinking an education will make me rich !
Originally posted by Catknight:By BT's estimates, Mr Lim is worth in excess of $2 billion. He has just under 5 per cent in Wilmar International. Based on the company's current market capitalisation of $22 billion on SGX, that stake alone is worth $1.11 billion. He has about 11 per cent in FJ Benjamin, and that's worth $52.6 million. Meanwhile, his 25 per cent stake in Rowsley has a market value of $37 million. So his Singapore equities alone are worth $1.2 billion. On top of that, he has some Australian mining stocks bought in the 1970s and '80s.
Mr Lim says 50 per cent of his portfolio is now in equities, another 10 per cent in properties and the remaining 40 per cent in cash. The cash is from the dividends he received, which he has not reapplied to the market. So all in, he's worth more than $2.4 billion.
The 54-year-old believes that the fortune he has today is pre-destined. 'This size - substantially, it's your destiny. If today I have $10 million, I'd say over 90 per cent is due to my hard work. But getting it right is not $1 billion. Maybe it's $100 million. How that $100 million becomes $1 billion, you know it's because somebody likes you. You must believe it's somehow a path that's been drawn.'
how he get the big money to be a remisier in the 1st place, you need big big bucks to make it big in 1st place.
also S'pore stock market always been easily manipulated, so he must know all the insiders so he always make the right bets !
there's always dirty business behind big money one !!!
how rich you get depends on the people you know - that's a fact !
Originally posted by dragg:whatever you hear from talks and seminars are also available in books. the only thing lacking are the jokes.
its just another money spinning tool.
internet have already !
free one some more !!
My friend, what you said is really true.
Basically, it is a question of packaging and marketing.
As long as it can be marketed in a certain way, any price can be asked.
Let us see an example,
For instance,
A shoe.
Why some shoes can cost thousands of dollars, and some shoes just cost 20 dollars ?
It is all about packaging and marketing.
Those people who give seminars for 2k......it is because they have successfully packaged and marketted their materials. Basically what they are selling is a "feel good" product.
People are willing to fork out 2k so they can feel good.
In fact, 2k is considered cheap. Some other VIP tickets cost much higher. But it is Ok, as long as the customers can feel good.
It's the same, why would you spend money to go to Disneyland, to sit in some sort of an equipment which goes in circles round and round again? It is to feel good.
In the seminar business, sometimes with VIP tickets you can shake hands and sit down eat lunch together with some famous people, such as some politician or some other figure.
So this is a good price to pay, because it makes the customer feel good.
I think most of us wish why our parents are not some big time investors...but the facts speaks for themselves....the market favours only a few...we can't all be Peter Lims:)
Like Peter Lim cited: It's pre destined:)
Succcessful people, whether rich or not, knows the important of gratitude, and giving back to society through sharing and teaching is one way. One cannot alway take and don't contribute, and yet expect to have success all the time. The more you give the more you will also take back.
This is one of the traits of successful people. Everyone may do it differently. Just like Bill Gates and Warren Buffet, and so is Robert Kiyosaki.
i think sometimes people should stop sulking abt being in a less fortunate situation. Alot of these "seminar gurus" started their careers from scratch. Not all of them had luxury on a silver platter. Theyre obviously in it for the business. Because money sells and people are crazy abt information products/self improvement and would shelve out $ for seminars.
Asking "why millionaires give seminars" is asking to asking "why the camera salesman sold me an extra battery even though he knew i didnt need it" or "why i told my employer during my job interview tt im a superstar workeraholic even though i watch porn on my office pc all day".
@ end day, there are 1 things to ask yrself,
is there value in the service/product and will i benefit from this value?
whatever business people run, ethical or not, at end day is a b2b or b2c product/service. its yr call as a consumer to bite the bait or not. Unfortunately, not all consumers make gd decisions and go in with greed. They get burnt and sulk and lock themselves behind their desk and go blabbering on sgforums and the likes, asking typical sinlapolean qns like ,"eh if u got so marsh money hor, why u need 2 charch people le???" LOfreakinL.
Originally posted by Catknight:Like Peter Lim cited: It's pre destined:)
yes, his family background probably allow him to have all the lobangs and connections !
Originally posted by Cwfmoney:Succcessful people, whether rich or not, knows the important of gratitude, and giving back to society through sharing and teaching is one way. One cannot alway take and don't contribute, and yet expect to have success all the time. The more you give the more you will also take back.
This is one of the traits of successful people. Everyone may do it differently. Just like Bill Gates and Warren Buffet, and so is Robert Kiyosaki.
then why the seminars so expensive leh ???
Bill Gates and Warren Buffett put their money in foundations and trusts because : -
1) they no longer need to pay taxes as it's now belonging to the foundation but yet only they have the power to use the money !
2) their kids needn't pay huge taxes when they inherit those bilions - even though the money belong to the trusts, only their heirs can move the money !
The kiyosaki guys came up with anew book called "The conspiracy of the Rich" OMG does this guys ever stop?
Originally posted by Catknight:Why Peter Lim remisier king dun give seminars>? I dun mind paying to listen to a real investor king in Singapore!
If there's fake gold, there's got to be real gold:)
Originally posted by Catknight:The kiyosaki guys came up with anew book called "The conspiracy of the Rich" OMG does this guys ever stop?
this fake American-Jap guy obviously makes most of his money marketing his books and other related media.
i doubt he even run any business that' snot related to his books and other related media.
just like Adam Khoo - he got rich by ''teaching'' people how to succeed not by running a non-related business or any investments, they're no better than glorified conmen !
Originally posted by Catknight:That's why I throw away all kiyosaki books..any seminar speaker that used him as a model make me skeptical...I dun trust the kiyosaki fella
Originally posted by Catknight:Why Peter Lim remisier king dun give seminars>? I dun mind paying to listen to a real investor king in Singapore!
If there's fake gold, there's got to be real gold:)
When his finances cannot sustain his lifestyle, he will start giving seminars, at $2k per person. Imagine an auditorium full, and how much he rake in per seminar. Pay for the auditorium, the helpers, and there still a hefty amount left over.
Originally posted by Fenixx:
Then you trust Jim Rohn/ Anthony Robbins anot?
their ''teachings'' can be helpful but they got rich by SELLING HOPE, they're just glorified salesmen !
they made their money via their ''teachings'' .
they always claim that they are giving back to society hence they teach. it could be a genuine motivation or it could be a nice reason to sell the seminar to you.
at the end of the day, the truth lies within their hearts why they do this, and in their fattened bank account