At the Tanah Merah MRT rail station in Singapore, hundreds of iPhone-infatuated commuters appear to be as oblivious to fellow commuters as they do to the sign strung before them: ''Value Life Act Responsibly''.
It is the kind of behaviour-regulating message that is thrust down their throats daily, though some observers are cynical about their effectiveness. "This is campaign city," a marketing specialist says. "There's a 'Smile' campaign, 'Be on time to weddings' campaign, a 'Courtesy' campaign … there are just too many campaigns."
In a country where people are regimentally law-abiding and clean, happiness and civility are also deemed to be in need of outside enforcement. Visitors to Singapore know they will be greeted by spick-and-span public spaces, hoovered grounds and streets free of chewing gum and spit; yet many say there is no such assurance of finding good manners and a caring society.
In a letter to The Straits Times Sabrina Chen said that ''achieving true kindness boils down to having one characteristic which is missing among us: initiative. Singaporeans lack the initiative to care".
Under slogans such as ''Kindness rocks'' and ''Be a smile champion'', the Singapore Kindness Movement has been campaigning relentlessly for a more benevolent society. The movement's second State of Graciousness in Singapore Survey, found ''S'poreans'' had conducted themselves better on public transport over the past year, amid hefty state-waged campaigns to improve consideration among commuters.
But half the respondents were negative about behaviour in public, on the roads, at work and at home, said the movement's general manager, Teh Thien Yew. "Levels of indifference and unhappiness are still high … we are all concerned about graciousness in our country."
Some foreign workers in the city have few kind words about Singaporeans' manners. "They are the rudest f---ing people I have ever seen; they need some basic training in civic awareness," said Paul Stapleton, an IT manager from Sydney. "They don't feel that anyone else exists outside this tiny island."
The resounding verdict points to a Singapore rigorously controlled at the expense of humanitarian values. So will more state initiatives such as the Singapore Kindness Movement, whose patron is the Prime Minister, Lee Hsien Loong, reap change?
"The problem is the sole concern of most Singaporeans is money and economic wellbeing," a long-time British resident says. "The only reason the churches here are packed to the rafters is because people attend in order to network."
I agree. We are extremely rude to others, although I do not think we are number 1 for being rude.
China people are the rudest people on Earth, followed by Singapore, 2nd.
Originally posted by Junyang700:I agree. We are extremely rude to others, although I do not think we are number 1 for being rude.
China people are the rudest people on Earth, followed by Singapore, 2nd.
North Korea is very friendly people.
I make up 15% of it alone.
Originally posted by skythewood:North Korea is very friendly people.
Ic.. You been there? I think they are actually more friendly, if you actually go there? Their leaders may be aggressive, but I believe their people may be quite friendly.
What works in their country =/= work here
An IT manager from Sydney who is based in Singapore, Paul Stapleton, is quoted in the article saying, “They (Singaporeans) are the rudest f***ing people I have ever seen; they need some basic training in civic awareness. They don’t feel that anyone else exists outside this tiny island.”
=============================================================
look at the f word and you know how nice he is.
The ang mors will label anyone here in Singapore with yellow skin as some chinese from china. You think they give a hoot who singaporeans are? Singaporeans have chinese, and chinese are from china full stop.
Originally posted by dragg:An IT manager from Sydney who is based in Singapore, Paul Stapleton, is quoted in the article saying, “They (Singaporeans) are the rudest f***ing people I have ever seen; they need some basic training in civic awareness. They don’t feel that anyone else exists outside this tiny island.”
I don't blame people who come from convict country.
Originally posted by dragg:An IT manager from Sydney who is based in Singapore, Paul Stapleton, is quoted in the article saying, “They (Singaporeans) are the rudest f***ing people I have ever seen; they need some basic training in civic awareness. They don’t feel that anyone else exists outside this tiny island.”
OWNED
i read the news from syney morn herald....it lacks examples and details....sounds more like a hate group who hates successful richer countries.....the person could be another foreigner chinaman etc werkin in spore from way it looks.however if intell n data obtained is from australia...rather not think much of it.australia is good for vegetables and food.....farms..countryside....anything else i wouldnt count on it.
one greek living in oz asked me where is spore in china?and who cntrols spore...:)
Originally posted by ditzy:The ang mors will label anyone here in Singapore with yellow skin as some chinese from china. You think they give a hoot who singaporeans are? Singaporeans have chinese, and chinese are from china full stop.
the sad and unfortunate thing is many chinese (from china or otherwise) think the ang mohs are great.
Singaporeans not only rude and ungracious in the public, but also in forums.
I think this Paul Staples should go back to Oz....
Originally posted by angel7030:Singaporeans not only rude and ungracious in the public, but also in forums.
Well, it takes one to know one.
Originally posted by ditzy:Well, it takes one to know one.
ya, that is our culture, we know each other better thru rudeness, in Singapore, if you behave gracious and polite, somehow people think you siao liao
angel7030 having difficult time wiv people at werk.....
needed to leave singapore beczuse spore gov dun love me....
so me pack up with all my cats and dogs and fly off to oz....soon goin to nz. in near future.
Survival of the fitness mentality, sinkies are getting less gracious because of competitions. The PRCs are loud, we need to be louder to be heard. The Malaysians are hard working, wee need to work smarter to beat them. Kindness will only prevail when others had enough.
Rude then rude loh. SO? Foreigners not happy also come here work, not happy still come here study, not happy still come here tour. Not happy then go back suck thumb k. Nobody's gonna give a damn.
by the time u finish competiting wiv them from cost to hard werkin....theres nothing much left in savings and future.
F**k you. ..CB...KNN..KNNBCCB.
I'm Rude!!! GGGGGGGGRRRRRRRRRRRRR
Being rude is the Singapore culture. I am PROUD TO BE RUDE. I don't get angry with people who are rude to me.
BUT SERIOUSLY SPEAKING, I AM VERY VERY NICE TO INDIANS, MALAYS AND CHINESE. WHEN IT COMES TO WHITES, I AM DAMN RUDE.
-WHEN ANG MO RUN TO LIFT, I PURPOSELY CLOSE IT
-I DON'T HOLD DOORS OPEN FOR ANG MO. RATHER I SLAM IT SHUT IN THEIR FACE.
-WHEN ANG MO LINE UP IN FRONT OF ME AT MIX RICE STALL, I WILL BARK OUT MY ORDER 1ST BEFORE HE HAS CHANCE TO ORDER.
-IF ANG MO SCOLDS ME, I WILL SAY "GET LOST".
-AT THE BUS, I WILL PUSH ANG MO TO ONE SIDE WHEN ENTERING. But if I see a malay or indian, I patiently let them go up first.