I have been buying potted roses from Cold Storage. But everyone won't survive more than 2 weeks. In fact, less than 1 week.
How come ah? I water them leh. I put in my service balcony where ample sunlight can come in. I don't stay in landed property, so cannot put under the sun. This means that the place where I put the pot is not too hot or dry.
How ah? I really love to pick up gardening as hobby again. Last time I used to plant in my younger days and quite successfully leh.
try repotting them and change the soil?
where to get rose seeds? Is it possible to plant them here in Singapore?
I think it is inevitable.
Maybe you can consider plastic roses and flowers.
can't u start your planting hobbies from rose seeds? ![]()
try putting a cude of ice in the morning . when my mum was planting flower last time
i see she will put a few cude of ice into the plant everyday morning
roses are more suitable for cool weather, our climate may not be suitable for some of those roses, those u see growing very well in supermarket or flower plant sellers in MacRitche near thompson Rd are mostly chemical treated fertilsation, it can growth, but once u bought it home, without the chemical, it will not survive, and bear in mind, this chemical are toxic and no good for living thing, if you dun believe, you notice no insect, butterfles or even ants attack the plant, cos this insects can smell the chemical within. I use to call it Poison Rose
Maybe soil problem?
Originally posted by Veggie Bao:I think it is inevitable.
Maybe you can consider plastic roses and flowers.
loled
Maybe never take care of plants properly?
I have seen some rose plants, but they are usually pink and don't look very healthy.
Our climate is not suitable for most roses. Now maybe even worse.
For look / aesthetic effect....actually plastic ones are not bad.....
I have one at home...
It's a kind of a bowl....inside, there are mix flowers.......and it looks good to be put on a table and such......
Originally posted by angel7030:roses are more suitable for cool weather, our climate may not be suitable for some of those roses, those u see growing very well in supermarket or flower plant sellers in MacRitche near thompson Rd are mostly chemical treated fertilsation, it can growth, but once u bought it home, without the chemical, it will not survive, and bear in mind, this chemical are toxic and no good for living thing, if you dun believe, you notice no insect, butterfles or even ants attack the plant, cos this insects can smell the chemical within. I use to call it Poison Rose
That is what you think. My mum grow roses and they bloom beautifully.
roses .. r red, but not forever ...
but den violets r blue, not forever .,, :)
Originally posted by Honeybunz:I have been buying potted roses from Cold Storage. But everyone won't survive more than 2 weeks. In fact, less than 1 week.
How come ah? I water them leh. I put in my service balcony where ample sunlight can come in. I don't stay in landed property, so cannot put under the sun. This means that the place where I put the pot is not too hot or dry.
How ah? I really love to pick up gardening as hobby again. Last time I used to plant in my younger days and quite successfully leh.
Anyway, I tot rose is better cultivate via grafting??? and most roses are suitable for cooler climate though we do have tropical species...
and how often and how much did u water them???
Think current sg climate is not suitable for roses. If it was like 10- 15 years back, singapore was cooler with occasional heat spells..
May be you don't have green fingers. One of my friend told me could be fengshui but I don't believe in fengshui. She told she whatever she planted, all withered and died. Then, she tried to rear birds, the birds also died. Rear fishes, fishes died. In the end, she gave up. She told me there was a fengshui master said the fengshui of her house is no good but I don't believe in fengshui. However, I find it funny why all died, could be her house is facing afternoon sun, too hot may be.
Originally posted by Pinknutri:May be you don't have green fingers. One of my friend told me could be fengshui but I don't believe in fengshui. She told she whatever she planted, all withered and died. Then, she tried to rear birds, the birds also died. Rear fishes, fishes died. In the end, she gave up. She told me there was a fengshui master said the fengshui of her house is no good but I don't believe in fengshui. However, I find it funny why all died, could be her house is facing afternoon sun, too hot may be.
It is about green fingers not fengshui
Originally posted by hasene:
That is what you think. My mum grow roses and they bloom beautifully.
oh really, need to learn from yr mom then,.my garden roses are not so beautiful, and instead of bloody red in color, it turns black..black roses...so i cut it all off and grow Hibiscus cos i like to drink its nectar juice.
Originally posted by Pinknutri:May be you don't have green fingers. One of my friend told me could be fengshui but I don't believe in fengshui. She told she whatever she planted, all withered and died. Then, she tried to rear birds, the birds also died. Rear fishes, fishes died. In the end, she gave up. She told me there was a fengshui master said the fengshui of her house is no good but I don't believe in fengshui. However, I find it funny why all died, could be her house is facing afternoon sun, too hot may be.
oh, too hot, why not try growing Cactus, if that fail, then, maybe it is really bad omen..move house
why not you stop getting the roses from Cold Storage but from one of the nurseries along Thomson? i always go to Ji Mei, not too ex for fresh cut flowers, well, as for potted plants i only buy cactus still i dont think roses will be too ex too. maybe you wanna go there get one and ask the friendly staff for some advice. the cashier auntie i met was quite helpful when i went to buy flowers and asked where i can big helium balloons and all..
rose like cold weathers.
1. Fill a clean container with cool, fresh water. Add the contents of a single flower preservative packet if you have one---these are frequently distributed by flower retailers
2. Remove the lower leaves that are likely to become submerged in water once you place the stem in the container. Use a florist's knife, scissors or simply pull them off by hand. Keeping foliage out of the water will help maintain its cleanliness
3. Lightly run a thorn stripper down the length of the stem, or trim each thorn with scissors. Avoid cutting or slicing into the stem's surface, as this will shorten the rose's life
4. Cut off about a half inch to an inch from the bottom of each stem. Slice at a sharp angle. Cut the stems immediately before placing them in water
5. Cut off about a half inch to an inch from the bottom of each stem. Slice at a sharp angle. Cut the stems immediately before placing them in water.
6. Replace the container with fresh, cool water every day.
7. Revive wilting roses by cutting their stems again before placing them in fresh, cool water.
sorry may sound cheap advices.but hope it works.keeping a rose isn't on bit easy at all.since we have such bad weather condition in singapore ):
what kind of places are suitable to plant roses?any specific countries?
hello bro, roses are brought to give to chio bu to make them happy one hor, not to put at home to water one hor...
all the poor roses, kana mistreat and misuse, haiz