My Thai girlfriend is coming to Singapore in late June.
She is 25 and has completed her upper secondary education in Thailand (Mattayom 6).
Her work experience is mostly in retail sales (sell clothing) in Thailand and she has never worked in Singapore before.
Her English is okay, can read a little, can say quite okay.
She don't mind long hours or low pay (I'm mostly sponsoring her anyway).
My intention is for her to work in Singapore, get used to the life here, make some friends, and hopefully we can start a family here. Just a side-note, it's not her first time visiting Singapore, when she came for the first few times, it's mostly a holiday trip for her.
Just a few more questions:
1. After some browsing at the MOM site, and looking at her qualifications and also that she isn't skilled, I think she can at most get a Work Permit. So for the WP, does she have to apply at MOM or the prospective employer will apply for her?
2. Lodging-wise, will it be a problem if she's staying with me when she's trying to obtain a Work Permit? I mean, does it even matter as long as she has a permanent residence i.e. my house?
3. Does anyone know of a community forum for Thais working in Singapore, where they can share their experience working and living in Singapore?
Your kind response would be deeply appreciated. Thanks.
work in foodcourt lor, esp selling thai food one. spore has a lot of food court, just go see if any stall selling thai food.
if your gf find a job at foodcourt, can let me know so that I go there to eat for free can or not, just for one meal nia ![]()
haha, sure, i ask her close 2 eyes !!
but seriously, other than food court, have any idea where else she can try?
actually i tried asking ntuc fairprice liao, now waiting to see what they say...
wah that means she or u dun like to work in food court lar. if not work as waitress in thai restaurant. dun like to work in F&B eh
sign her up for english class
increase her ability to converse in english
then try try again
i think only employers can apply work permit for their workers
http://www.expatsingapore.com/content/view/1140/
best way is to get married, hopefully your income stability can get her a PR
then she gets a job as a PR
not say she or me don like la, i also work f&b before and i enjoyed it.
foodcourt also an option lor, but if possible i also wan her to work more relax coz i noe f&b can get tiring sometimes, her tired my heart pain you know T_T
but also cannot choose much la, she also not highly qualified, got work i tink good enough liao. just wan her to try work and live here. bangkok now not so good lor, the money she earn there is really pathetic, 6000-10000 baht per mth depending on sales, agar agar 250SGD to 450SGD per month !! -_- can find job in sg higher than that i happy for her liao which i tink is definitely possible lor. my friend work ntuc fairprice part time one mth also have 600++ lol...
think i go check out lemongrass and lerkthai also.
really thanks man, so late liao still talk to me, really appreciate it. i go sleep first, tomolo then come back, u take care and gd nite !!
but here's a warning
if u get her to work without a work permit / employment pass / PR while she's on a social visit pass here
if she gets caught or kena bao toh
u can forget about her coming back to SG
to kopisatu: yeah, before i sleep, wan to say i'm planning to sign her for england class for sure, her england got football-court (room) to improve lol... but i find it okay la, at least better than most foreigner i talk to before...
wow the link is really good, will read more tomolo during office hours ahaha
hehe i ask her to marry me but she say later, wan to see whether i butterfly (thai: chao choo, a man who likes many girls) or not.
this time really sleep liao cannot take it, tanks rooney and kopi for responding, really appreciate it, u two take care okay, nite !!
She got any bar and pub services experiences.
And also, since you are sponsoring her and be her banker, why does she need to work??
Originally posted by nubbie1234:My Thai girlfriend is coming to Singapore in late June.
She is 25 and has completed her upper secondary education in Thailand (Mattayom 6).
Her work experience is mostly in retail sales (sell clothing) in Thailand and she has never worked in Singapore before.
Her English is okay, can read a little, can say quite okay.
She don't mind long hours or low pay (I'm mostly sponsoring her anyway).
My intention is for her to work in Singapore, get used to the life here, make some friends, and hopefully we can start a family here. Just a side-note, it's not her first time visiting Singapore, when she came for the first few times, it's mostly a holiday trip for her.
Just a few more questions:
1. After some browsing at the MOM site, and looking at her qualifications and also that she isn't skilled, I think she can at most get a Work Permit. So for the WP, does she have to apply at MOM or the prospective employer will apply for her?
2. Lodging-wise, will it be a problem if she's staying with me when she's trying to obtain a Work Permit? I mean, does it even matter as long as she has a permanent residence i.e. my house?
3. Does anyone know of a community forum for Thais working in Singapore, where they can share their experience working and living in Singapore?
Your kind response would be deeply appreciated. Thanks.
Have you ever though of going to Thailand instead of staying in Singapore?
singer/dancer/server in nana.
pat pong dance ....钢管舞
Anyone who is currently or has ever been a work permit holder before in SG...has to seek approval from MOM before they can marry a singaporean...even if the WP has expired/terminated/whatever...
I am not sure if it is still MOM's stand...U need to find out.
Break up with her and find another girlfriend.
You are just bringing misery to her.
And yourself.
Originally posted by Veggie Bao:Break up with her and find another girlfriend.
You are just bringing misery to her.
And yourself.
Enlighten me, what misery is he bringing
Besides getting a work permit, maybe do some part time, but try to learn english. The money really increases ![]()
Why work for people ??? You and gf set up a Thai REstaurant la
Cashier at NTUC Fairprice.
They need more for their 24hr supermarkets.
Ask her to come and grow Thai Jasmine Rice in Singapore. Sawadeecup~~
Originally posted by kopiosatu:but here's a warning
if u get her to work without a work permit / employment pass / PR while she's on a social visit pass here
if she gets caught or kena bao toh
u can forget about her coming back to SG
Anything illegal will definitely not be in my consideration, point taken, thanks.
Originally posted by angel7030:She got any bar and pub services experiences.
And also, since you are sponsoring her and be her banker, why does she need to work??
If your suggesting that I find work for her in bar or pub, I would prefer that she work a day job, that's what she prefers as well (we actually talked about this before) so we can have time together after our day jobs.
Reason why I wanted her to work is because, I think it would be easier for her to blend into our society. It's mostly based on my own experience because during my work life, I met many people, all sorts of people and learned many things. Actually sending her to school is also an option, I think she may get the same exposure as with working. It was suggested by one of my friends, but I'll talk to her more about this.
There are quite a few reasons why I wanted her to work:
1. I work, she work, we more money.
2. Mentioned before, probably a good of chance of exposure for her.
3. If she's working here, I think it'll help her to keep in mind that making money is not easy.
Thanks for your question, please let me know if I have anything that you feel I should know.
Originally posted by Lokey:Have you ever though of going to Thailand instead of staying in Singapore?
Yes I did.
But i also thought of my life there, the basic of modern day survival i.e. money?
I compared similar positions in Thailand but the salary is way too low than what I am getting here.
And also, I don't have the financial power to just dump everything here and live in Thailand.
So I guess I'll still stay here and work.
Originally posted by Xcert:Anyone who is currently or has ever been a work permit holder before in SG...has to seek approval from MOM before they can marry a singaporean...even if the WP has expired/terminated/whatever...
I am not sure if it is still MOM's stand...U need to find out.
Yes, the policy still holds i.e. Marriage Restriction Policy.
That's why right now, after some advise from a few friends and my family, me and her have decided that she will come simply for a holiday.
And just to update, NTUC Fairprice said that under MOM's regulations,
"Thailand is not an approved source country for work permit applications in the service sector.
As for S Pass applications, MOM generally requires the candidate to possess degree or diploma level educational qualifications.
Thus we will not be able to consider the following candidate."
We can try to apply for marriage if she does get a WP but I'm not sure about the evaluation of application for marriage in such cases, what MOM look at, what we need to have and etc. Since I can sponsor her, I see no point to take a risk.