the foreigners have taken on the singaporean kiasu mentality. when they see an empty seat in mrt, they rush forward for it. when it is crowded in mrt, they will push and shove at you in order to move from one aisle to another.
Originally posted by Plastic Bag:They are always the ones standing on the right side of escalators.
I really hate it when I see foreigner men with good Singapore girls. What are they doing in Singapore. They should go back to their own country
Originally posted by Rambo Wong:
I really hate it when I see foreigner men with good Singapore girls. What are they doing in Singapore. They should go back to their own country
You should be happy, they are getting all those troubles off our hands.![]()
i was in the train just now and for a while, i tot i was teleported outta SG
Originally posted by Rooney9:the foreigners have taken on the singaporean kiasu mentality. when they see an empty seat in mrt, they rush forward for it. when it is crowded in mrt, they will push and shove at you in order to move from one aisle to another.
not only that they also have taken on kiasi mentality as well, take my PRC collicks for example, from fresh fearless men , to "i-would-do-anything-to-prevent-myself-from-getting-into-trouble" type.
Originally posted by Askingyouto:You should be happy, they are getting all those troubles off our hands.
emphasize on the adjective word good @rambo's post. if lousy SG gals kena taken up by them, he would have nothing to say.
Originally posted by Calmday:Hahaaha if you ship all of the foreigners away who is going to do your manual labor. Just think about it. No one to raise your children, no one to build your buildings, no one to pick up the huge mounds of litter early in the morning before most of you wake up. All of the foreign companies moving away and taking all of the jobs that Singaporeans currently have with them. All of the ship yards closing down on Jurong and taking their jobs with them.
I completely understand how bad it sucks to be completely over run with foreigners but be careful what you ask for because some day you might get it. Then it would be back to the third world for Singapore.
Agreed that Spore do need foreigners (white or blur collar) to work in spore. We cannot do away with them. If we totally shut the door, we will be in trouble. Many pple will be jobless and spore will move backwards.
But, our govt must control the influx. Must control tightly and not too lighty. They should consider employing sporean first before go for foreigners.
If I am not wrong, other countries are protesting and rioting due to so many foreigners working in their countries. Right?
Originally posted by likeyou:
Agreed that Spore do need foreigners (white or blur collar) to work in spore. We cannot do away with them. If we totally shut the door, we will be in trouble. Many pple will be jobless and spore will move backwards.
But, our govt must control the influx. Must control tightly and not too lighty. They should consider employing sporean first before go for foreigners.
If I am not wrong, other countries are protesting and rioting due to so many foreigners working in their countries. Right?
I fully agree. Singaporeans should ALWAYS be given the first shot at a job. No one is so naive to believe that foreigners are only doing work that Singaporeans won’t do. That’s the exact same line of BS that the gov feeds us in the US.
Originally posted by Casopia-maplesea:guess what? singaporeans are TOO PROUD TO DO THESE JOBS. the very reason why we bring in maids, why we bring in foriegn workers. why america dooesnt need froiegners to act for nannies or construction workers or cleaners? because THEY DONT MIND.
but calmday, i think u got it all wrong. what singaporeans complain about are the excessive influx of foriegn scholars, foriegn engineers and foriegn graduates taking our jobs at the WHITE-COLLAR SECTOR. please dont be mistaken about the point of the issue here.
and fyi askingyouto: even if the very 'capable' opposition takes over, i truly doubt they wil ever reverse the situation here, unless of course, you would like to see singapore's economy go into decline?
In America we do have major immigration problems. In the US the construction and other industries are completely dependent on illegal foreigners. For us legal emigrants aren’t a problem as we or our families all came from someplace else. The problem is that they are almost all illegal aliens and the gov refuses to do anything about it. Construction jobs that used to pay $30 an hour now pay $8-10. The gov is correct that the Americans won’t do that job for that pay but the pay is so low because the gov didn’t do anything to stop the problem.
I think that the nanny thing is just more cultural. Our society is very very UN high-archieal which makes the idea of having someone serv you in this manner very uncomfortable for most Americans. (yah I know that most learn to deal with after being here a while)
I cannot give any honest opinion about Indian or Chinese white color workers here in Singapore but most Ang Mohs that I know came with international companies from their home country. My company came here to open a new Asia headquarters. We brought 12 foreigners (all ang moh) but have hired about 45 Singaporeans so far. I personally see this as 45 new white color jobs for Singapore and if things go good for us many more jobs. Now it seems to me that a lot of people would rather see the 12 foreigners go even if it means losing the 45 jobs. I really don’t understand this kind of reasoning.
Originally posted by Calmday:
In America we do have major immigration problems. In the US the construction and other industries are completely dependent on illegal foreigners. For us legal emigrants aren’t a problem as we or our families all came from someplace else. The problem is that they are almost all illegal aliens and the gov refuses to do anything about it. Construction jobs that used to pay $30 an hour now pay $8-10. The gov is correct that the Americans won’t do that job for that pay but the pay is so low because the gov didn’t do anything to stop the problem.
I think that the nanny thing is just more cultural. Our society is very very UN high-archieal which makes the idea of having someone serv you in this manner very uncomfortable for most Americans. (yah I know that most learn to deal with after being here a while)
I cannot give any honest opinion about Indian or Chinese white color workers here in Singapore but most Ang Mohs that I know came with international companies from their home country. My company came here to open a new Asia headquarters. We brought 12 foreigners (all ang moh) but have hired about 45 Singaporeans so far. I personally see this as 45 new white color jobs for Singapore and if things go good for us many more jobs. Now it seems to me that a lot of people would rather see the 12 foreigners go even if it means losing the 45 jobs. I really don’t understand this kind of reasoning.
Your company is not what we are peeved about, what we are peeved about is how some foreigners delibrately hire their own countrymen even when they can't really perform well at the job and has severe English communication problems. Wages are so low now that more jobs can't be taken up by locals even if they suck it up. People are having a hard time paying for that stupid HDB flats that will cost them around S$300k, and also plus interest paid to bank around S$100k more. They need a more manageable amount to survive.
Third world country people are grabbing everything from normal workers all the way to managers with a willingness to take very low pay for those jobs. The local youngs without much working experience gets sidelined by those foreigners and the anger has now exploded into gang fights with aimless youth. The future is bleak for all citizens if this trend continue. The original purpose of attracting companies to set up base here to provided jobs for locals have been lost.
To add to the woe of citizens, new flats are finished in 2 to 3 years time and even if young couples queue for those flats, the amount of flats are so little that young people are being forced to buy old resale flats.The occupiers of current resale flats are sometimes also third world foreigners who have plans to return home after a few years of work here. Some of these flats can sell for more than S$500k, so when those people go home to their third world country, they become instant millionaires.
So all those people will become millionaires, when our people, even the young has to pay for it. I don't remember Sinkapore being a international charity organisation. We lose our jobs, our homes and even our meaning of being a citizen, and the young have to serve 2 years of National Services defending the PAPist regime. Why do we have to be pawns at the hands of a government that suppress free speech, the right to hold lawful assembly and delibrately control the press and every conceivable instruments to ensure that they stay in power and breed their own cronies to control state linked companies who also prefer cheap third world workers, enriching their own pockets while destroying the lives of citizens who prop up their bastard regime and their enlightened despot LKY.
The government own Sinkapore, period. 90% of the land in Sinkapore are owned by the government through the Land acquisition Act which paid peanuts to the the owners for it. Because of that they should provide proper housings for locals that ensure that locals do not have to worry about that problem and focus on work. Instead the government went and enriched its own coffers, pegging public housing to private properties prices.
All utilities and major companies are still owned by the government despite claims of having being privatised. There's a saying, " If you open a company in Sinkapore, you will have to compete with the government." Most are owned indirectly by Temasick Holdings chaired by the daughter-in-law of the enlightened despot LKY who routinely lost hundreds of millions of dollars through lousy investments, together with another by proxy money bag of the government, GICee which is chaired by the famous despot. Btw, GICee is also regularly in a festive mood to lose lots of taxpayers money through lousy investments. What's worst those two jokers (LKY and his daughter in law) are still there, not fired, what kind of accountability do we have? Even the Congress is looking for people to punish for the US financial meltdown. The government is driven entirely by profits and their own PAPist party survival and will not help citizens. They will stand and watch us die, slowly and surely without even the slightest shred of remorse at the hideousness of their own crimes.
If the oppositions ever gain power and investigate the doings of the PAPist, some of the people in PAPist will be in trouble, I can bet my bottom dollar on that. That's why the PAPist will rather destroy this country than face punishment and humiliation at the hands of those that they once suppressed.
http://www.yawningbread.org/arch_2005/yax-407.htm
Originally posted by kengkia:emphasize on the adjective word good @rambo's post. if lousy SG gals kena taken up by them, he would have nothing to say.
Me bad, a bit blind.![]()
Originally posted by kengkia:emphasize on the adjective word good @rambo's post. if lousy SG gals kena taken up by them, he would have nothing to say.
Still they shouldn't be taking our women
The AngMo grabbed all the high paying jobs and the Chinamen/Banga/Phil/Thai grab our lower end jobs...we are stuck in the middle. Its not that we are choosy, but with monthly financial commitments to housing/car/expenditures/medical, it's easy to see why we shun low pay jobs.... What I dun like about foreigners? They also hook up with our Singapore girls...SG girls also find Angmo BF or husband if possible.....If u walk along the Mohd Sultan road or even orchard road, u can see them....
Yes, they have the right to choose their partners and find happiness, but what will happen to majority of us whom are trapped in the middle of the rat race? Repaying loans and debts for the next 30 yrs???! Who would want to marry and repay the loans together?
I have frens GF left them for Angmos. Is it more practical? Or the sad aspect of reality?
This is certainly not happiness....
Not they take, is our women prefer them than us.
not really la....many sgporean women dun like to marry ang mo.
Originally posted by Rock^Star:not really la....many sgporean women dun like to marry ang mo.
Any reason?
Ang mo too rough on the bed?
or too long?
Originally posted by Rooney9:the foreigners have taken on the singaporean kiasu mentality. when they see an empty seat in mrt, they rush forward for it. when it is crowded in mrt, they will push and shove at you in order to move from one aisle to another.
What do you mean by Singaporean's Kiasu's mentalilty? Don't you know foreigners are more kiasus & kiasis than us? I dunno who started saying we are Kiasus, but the person probably never been to overseas before. Suakus.
Originally posted by likeyou:
Any reason?Ang mo too rough on the bed?
or too long?
different culture the main reason i believe.
Nothing against foreigners, just too many of them.
There should be some space in Singapore for Singaporeans too you know.
Not everywhere is nothing but foreigners.
This is abnormal.
Originally posted by Demon Bane:The AngMo grabbed all the high paying jobs and the Chinamen/Banga/Phil/Thai grab our lower end jobs...we are stuck in the middle. Its not that we are choosy, but with monthly financial commitments to housing/car/expenditures/medical, it's easy to see why we shun low pay jobs.... What I dun like about foreigners? They also hook up with our Singapore girls...SG girls also find Angmo BF or husband if possible.....If u walk along the Mohd Sultan road or even orchard road, u can see them....
Yes, they have the right to choose their partners and find happiness, but what will happen to majority of us whom are trapped in the middle of the rat race? Repaying loans and debts for the next 30 yrs???! Who would want to marry and repay the loans together?
I have frens GF left them for Angmos. Is it more practical? Or the sad aspect of reality?
This is certainly not happiness....
Yup, this hell hole is like some sort of Thailand where girls look for rich farangs to escape out of poverty. Long given up on looking.....now just looking for a good place to put my ashes when I finish slaving my asses off for the PAPist.![]()
Should be:
Still our women shouldn't be taking them.
No spine, what to do? ![]()
Originally posted by Askingyouto:Yup, this hell hole is like some sort of Thailand where girls look for rich farangs to escape out of poverty. Long given up on looking.....now just looking for a good place to put my ashes when I finish slaving my asses off for the PAPist.
Wow! U r a politician? For which party?
No lah, just a kopitiam ah lau only.![]()
Originally posted by Askingyouto:No lah, just a kopitiam ah lau only.
Hahahaha!
only when they start getting big-headed and start thinking that they rule the earth.