Last week I went for a message for my backache. I specifically asked for cupping and gua sha, which I always did and find effective.
But my last visit last week, a different masseuse (not my usual one) attended to me. She strongly recommended the fire treatment. She insisted that it would definitely cure my backache problem.
So I went with it. After she massaged my back with oil, she told me that she needed to get some water. I was like "huh? since when massage got use water one".
Then she came back with a pail of water and a bottle of alcohol. Then she put a plastic sheet on my skin, followed by a layer of towel and a layer of wet towel. After that, she poured a little alcohol on the water and set fire on me!!!
I was like... WTH.
When I turned around for her to do my stomach, I finally got to see the fire. It was not a small flame lor! I was so scared, wondering whether I would get any burnt injury.
Days after this treatment, I totally see no improvement.
The fire treatment looks scary and dangerous. I wonder whether this is approved by govt or not.
http://www.odditycentral.com/pics/chinese-use-fire-as-medicinal-treatment.html
do u have a right mind to even let her do that?!
Originally posted by TehJarVu:do u have a right mind to even let her do that?!
I thought it was similar to cupping, you know those that they use fire and then cup on the skin. When she did on my back, I totally couldn't see what was happening.
only when she did my tummy, then I saw the huge flame... machiam like burning paper money during hungry ghost festival lor. I wanted to faint liao.
wow...
they ish really trying to "kill people put fire" ah...
Originally posted by Honeybunz:
I thought it was similar to cupping, you know those that they use fire and then cup on the skin. When she did on my back, I totally couldn't see what was happening.only when she did my tummy, then I saw the huge flame... machiam like burning paper money during hungry ghost festival lor. I wanted to faint liao.
than you got disfigured?
Originally posted by dechang:
than you got disfigured?
The last I checked, I still look like me.
maybe you should complain to CASE?
See this video:
im more concerned abt the usage of fire indoors
i think need licence one or something
I had fire burning directly on my warts, after that you can see the really chao tah...but still it's less painful than the western method of freezing your warts cos the pain lingers on for an hour or so....while the chinese method, it's only painful while it burns...
Next visit, remember to bring some sausages n a fire extinguisher ![]()
So if the fire got out of control, will the blame fall 50% on the firestarter, and 50% on the one on fire because it was consensual?
wow that's new to me. Hmm but TCM treatments, esp the back, may take some time. So u may have to douse yourself with more fire to get an objective evaluation :). No kidding.
basic science
fire burn upwards
did she set the fire under you or are you under the fire?
if you are under the fire then you'll be fine no matter how big the fire is
upward downard nvr hear b4 dun play with fire ah?
Nowadays, beauty and spa industries love to come out with unique treatments to woo the clients. The fire treatment you went through is one of them. The purpose of the fire is to create the heat warmth, supposed to help treatment products to further penetrate into the body via the skin. The warmth is also to soothe aching muscles. I do not agree with the treatment you went through as using fire to create warmth is extremely dangerous and unnecessary. There are equipments like the infrared radiation light and hot stones which are better options.