Anybody finds them too blatant and excessive with their horns? Have you personally done anything about it before?
NEA tells me they are part of Singapore’s residential landscape for a long time.
It'll be nice not to hear people say "oh they're just making a living", because I sure do not intrude on people's peace, serenity and sleep when I'm trying to make my own living.
they are ok. cos they dun come early in the morning or come bery late at nite anyway.
but they come (diff ppl) like 4 times a week
i where got so many por chua and gu sar kor???????
what time do you consider early? the one at my estate comes at 8am in the morning. and i get 5 different ones coming throughout ONE DAY, not one week. they think i have a lot of papers and clothes to sell too, but I see them coming and going empty handed most of the time.
Originally posted by Jagged:what time do you consider early? the one at my estate comes at 8am in the morning. and i get 5 different ones coming throughout ONE DAY, not one week. they think i have a lot of papers and clothes to sell too, but I see them coming and going empty handed most of the time.
nowadays pai tan jiak ah........................
personally I dun find them a disturbance..
and I always put my newspapers into the yellow recycling bags..
Originally posted by Ä«Õß:¸ïÀë:nowadays pai tan jiak ah........................
“Pai tan”? If it’s so hard to earn money from karung guni then how do they afford the lorry/pick up and diesel to drive around Singapore?
Buying your newspapers at $0.08 per kilogram I assure you they make at least 150%-200% profit. That’s a decent profit in business sense. Otherwise why are there so many karung guni men now? There’s even a Malaysian couple who crosses the Causeway every weekend to come to my neighbourhood.
Hard work, yes. Which job doesn’t come with hard work? But “Pai tan”?
Den go live australia's outback lor. No karang guni there one. Just watchout for the pit vipers though.
There are 2 typs of karung guni. 2 come at different timing usually weekends.
One is local and one is foreigners.
Btw, there is also one that asking any old wine to sell too.
Just shout "MAI CHA LAH!!!" he or she will go away peacefully
it's not like they stopped in front of your house and blow the horns rite?once a week,they'll come maybe 2 or 3 times for 1 or 2 hours...it's ok what..tell u what,why don't u look ard ur home to see if any things u wanna give/sell away..then u noe that they're quite useful..unless you're one of those ppl who just dumped everything on the lift lobby expecting cleaners to take it away!
No complaints, I'm not home on weekdays to find out if they are around, even on weekends, only come across 2-3.
isn't it part of Singaporean culture ![]()
Trust me you willl grow to miss it.. when they don't come anymore..
its only little bit of noise of short time... and they are working while we are home relaxing... so I be a little more open to them. I have other noise from irresponsible, ungrateful people and their ill manner kids that come by every day that irked me more when they shout, run, jump and ride bike in my house.
still can tolerate lah
but hor....i am naughty...u see
the karang guni may not be going to a house to buy ur old stuff, but to ermm....
have a fling
when u are sleeping deep into your sat mornings and the karung guni man yelling his lungs out, you would really feel like smashing his head with a vase.
Originally posted by sansiro77:it's not like they stopped in front of your house and blow the horns rite?once a week,they'll come maybe 2 or 3 times for 1 or 2 hours...it's ok what..tell u what,why don't u look ard ur home to see if any things u wanna give/sell away..then u noe that they're quite useful..unless you're one of those ppl who just dumped everything on the lift lobby expecting cleaners to take it away!
I ever encountered a prc look inside my house asking me whether I want to sell my desktop or not!!!!
Personally I am ok with the noise they generate. It is part of our culture
In my previous house, it was noisy as karung guni honk out loud while walking across the common corridor.
Now, my new house, unable to hear them if I shut my door.
in my house outside, there are many type of trade, some doing karung, some sell broom, some sell ice cream, some sell fry stuffs, there are different type of yelling and honking sounds. What i like is that they come punctually everytime, and these remind me of the time, like at 7am, the rubbish truck come, 10 oclock the karung man will honk, 12pm, the ice cream man will come ring ring ....then at 3 oclock the the fry illegal hawker will come...and then time for work liao...
Originally posted by Mr Milo:
still can tolerate lah
but hor....i am naughty...u see
the karang guni may not be going to a house to buy ur old stuff, but to ermm....
have a fling
/ flings milo.
Originally posted by angel7030:in my house outside, there are many type of trade, some doing karung, some sell broom, some sell ice cream, some sell fry stuffs, there are different type of yelling and honking sounds. What i like is that they come punctually everytime, and these remind me of the time, like at 7am, the rubbish truck come, 10 oclock the karung man will honk, 12pm, the ice cream man will come ring ring ....then at 3 oclock the the fry illegal hawker will come...and then time for work liao...
i know you area lots of noise. also your room sometimes when we together also we make lots of noise rite? ![]()
i love karanguni man. cos they gif me $$$ for junks. but i hate them too cus they always underprice stuff
there's those wholesale centres. if you have a car, you can drive up there and sell them direct.
Used to do that when my grandpa was still healthy...
higher rates too. Just be sure when you are selling waste papers that the colored ones are separated from the white ones. Colored ones yield cheaper prices btw. If you are mixed together, they will just give you the colored rates
underpriced?
u dun expect them to be giving u the price u paid for the item rite?
it's just paying for them to help get rid of unwanted stuff tt u are too lazy to throw or bring to donation centres
so even 1ct is oso "earn"