Originally posted by angel7030:
they got collect old clothings from me, but underwears and undies they dun want...funny
you got wash thoroughyl for them to collect or not? proba some belongs to older geernation they want to tio 4D or had boughted 4D mah
Originally posted by vicamour:Maybe you can try the petition from all your neighbours. Whatever it is, be persistant. Let the authorities know the problem and how excessively this noise pollution is in your area.
It is still good to let your MP know the problem too. At least he know and the government knows more about this urban nuisance. Once there are too many complains about this, the authorities will step in and control and put a stop on such uses of hand held air horns in HDB estates.
Just get your stand right, i.e., stop and ban the use of hand held air horns in HDB estates by these business people. Karang gunis can either shout for their business or go floor to floor for their business. Only stop those who refuse to cooperate and continue blaring these air horns regularly in HDB estates. Let those cooperative ones continue their trade.
The authorities will get what you mean but you have to clarify your problems and how to stop these people from blaring the air horns. But if you still think that this is not enough, maybe you can bring this problem to the public service department.
Here are some of the newspapers articles for the past few years on such complains.
OMG, thanks so much for sharing that, vicamour! Both Mr Lee and Mrs Ponnana raised very valid points. Yet NEA has chosen to keep quiet. I have forwarded my concerns to the Minister of Environment & Water Resources himself. The minister simply forwarded my concern to NEA so they could give me another patronising reply. I have a friend who works in the policy department, and he told me there are no projects raised to work on the karung guni nuisance at all.
I have no other stance other than to stop them blaring their horns, just like you. There were already 4 karung guni men doing that in my car park, all before 12pm this morning. I just hope my neighbours do not carry the same lackadaisical view towards the karung guni men as some of the posters here when I do approach them.
Has it gotten better at your area? Or have you moved to condo/Australia/built a sound proofed room?
Originally posted by Jagged:OMG, thanks so much for sharing that, vicamour! Both Mr Lee and Mrs Ponnana raised very valid points. Yet NEA has chosen to keep quiet. I have forwarded my concerns to the Minister of Environment & Water Resources himself. The minister simply forwarded my concern to NEA so they could give me another patronising reply. I have a friend who works in the policy department, and he told me there are no projects raised to work on the karung guni nuisance at all.
I have no other stance other than to stop them blaring their horns, just like you. There were already 4 karung guni men doing that in my car park, all before 12pm this morning. I just hope my neighbours do not carry the same lackadaisical view towards the karung guni men as some of the posters here when I do approach them.
Has it gotten better at your area? Or have you moved to condo/Australia/built a sound proofed room?
I wish I can migrate to Australia now.
No, I didn't move house or do anything to my house. But most of the times I closed my windows shut to reduce the effect but it doesn't help much.
Since I am a resident in the neighbourhood, why should I compromise outsiders who are inconsiderate and create noise pollution in other people's homes? They should be the one to stop their inconsiderate acts and create unwanted noises in HDB estates. I am still working with the Town Council to stop these people from using the handheld horns and create these unwanted noises.
I suggest you to feedback to the Public Service Department aka PSD if you are not satisfied about what NEA is currently doing to help and look into your current problem. Make the higher agencies heard about these problems, so that they will seriously look into this problem if there are more complains.
Meanwhile, I am still calling NEA every week in regards to this urban nuisance. I hope that they can do further actions to stop this urban nuisance asap. I am thinking of writing to the minister of NEA if the situation continues and becomes more unbearable.
I've been experiencing this problem for a very long time. I'm really sick about it. Some people may find that its a small problem but my working hours are irregular and I need sleep. Its hard to get back to sleep once my sleep is disturbed. If you want the authorities to do something about it, I suggest that you do the following.
Email [email protected] and include following email addresses below.
"Armain MANAP (NEA)" <[email protected]>
"Karman MOHAMED KARFI (NEA)" <[email protected]>
"Pragalathan N (NEA)" <[email protected]>
"Mee Ling LAI (NEA)" <[email protected]>
"Mei Hui LIM (NEA)" <[email protected]>
"Mun Sun KONG (NEA)" <[email protected]>
Do include your neighborhood town council.
After you are done, give a phone call to complain about the problem to the neighborhood police (not 999), neighborhood town council as well as the NEA (1800-2255632). The authorities have the habit to push the responsibilities around.
I really hope that all of you who are annoyed by this problem will do this and hopefully some action is taken to reduce noise is residential areas.
Originally posted by Francisdcx:I've been experiencing this problem for a very long time. I'm really sick about it. Some people may find that its a small problem but my working hours are irregular and I need sleep. Its hard to get back to sleep once my sleep is disturbed. If you want the authorities to do something about it, I suggest that you do the following.
After you are done, give a phone call to complain about the problem to the neighborhood police (not 999), neighborhood town council as well as the NEA (1800-2255632). The authorities have the habit to push the responsibilities around.I really hope that all of you who are annoyed by this problem will do this and hopefully some action is taken to reduce noise is residential areas.
Thanks for the information.
I already sent emails to the NEA and Town Council for countless times, but still the problem is being pushed around between the authorities. But at least the Town Council officer is doing something to help by talking to these people when he see them. Recently, even the police is also pushing the responsibility to the NEA. I am getting pretty unhappy about this.
I suggest that you should write an email to your MP as well, and let them know the problem. Once there are more and more such cases being raised up, they will startt to implement something.
Karung Guni Too Noisy?
Haha, I think my colleague who hails from some country which I will not name, will probably win the Karung Guni with his loud and non-stop chatting. He can chat up to hours and most of the time, his voice could be heard from outside.
I think Karung Guni surrender if he ever try to challenge my colleague. Very noisy and irritating.
I think you should pursue your concerns vigorously, because you are in the right here.
Residential area is residential area.
Karung Guni is a kind of business solicitation or commercial activity.
Residents should not be victimized by Karung Guni activities, and should not be told to "accept it"
It is also unreasonable to say "this is part of history"
If that is the case, littering is also part of history, and many other negative things is also "part of history", so should no changes and no improvements be made, because it is "part of history" ?
Continue to press your concerns and you have my support. Good luck.
Hey people! just to inform forum bros and sis tt i suck.
NTU students were here this morn to collect old clothes and newspapers.
my door open but oni me lao peh snoring on the couch.
and she pressed the doorbell.
disturbing elderly sleeping on a Sat morn is not bery polite.
and i hope they dun use the newspapers to put in bag to cheat cabbies when they take cab back to NTU.
Originally posted by Francisdcx:I've been experiencing this problem for a very long time. I'm really sick about it. Some people may find that its a small problem but my working hours are irregular and I need sleep. Its hard to get back to sleep once my sleep is disturbed. If you want the authorities to do something about it, I suggest that you do the following.
After you are done, give a phone call to complain about the problem to the neighborhood police (not 999), neighborhood town council as well as the NEA (1800-2255632). The authorities have the habit to push the responsibilities around.I really hope that all of you who are annoyed by this problem will do this and hopefully some action is taken to reduce noise is residential areas.
Hi,
I can't send email to the list of NEA officers that you posted here. Are they still valid???
Thanks
I sent my last letter to NEA. This time, they replied with a very rude letter, implying to tell me to shut up and stop bothering them. And it took them much faster to reply this time round too. Their reason is that majority of the residents appreciate their mode of operation. ie, the use of that bloody horn.
My question is, do most of you living in HDB flats appreciate the karung guni use of their horn? And by 'appreciate', its definition in the dictionary is 'be grateful for', that you won't have it any other way. It is very different from 'tolerate' or 'endure'.
Originally posted by Jagged:I sent my last letter to NEA. This time, they replied with a very rude letter, implying to tell me to shut up and stop bothering them. And it took them much faster to reply this time round too. Their reason is that majority of the residents appreciate their mode of operation. ie, the use of that bloody horn.
My question is, do most of you living in HDB flats appreciate the karung guni use of their horn? And by 'appreciate', its definition in the dictionary is 'be grateful for', that you won't have it any other way. It is very different from 'tolerate' or 'endure'.
If that is the case, I suggest you write an email regarding to this to the higher levels of personnel in NEA, saying that the NEA is not doing anything to reduce noise pollution and yet give rude replies. Continue to pressure them till they decided to do something. That's what I have done. Still cannot do anything, then write to PSD21, HDB, Town Council. You have to be persistent and consistent if you want the problem to be solved. Tell them "NO" and this unnecessary noise pollution is not accepted in residential areas.
Moreover, I think you should also write your concerns on this matter and the kind of reactions and help from the NEA to your MP. So write an email to your MP to give them pressure since they refuse to acknowledge your concerns. It should be quite useful, since you know elections are coming...
And how about your petition with your neighbours regarding to this nuisance?