do you feel inferior and useless when you are to read a successful person stories, of how hard he/she works to attain today successful stories?
you are wondering if you are lazy,stupid, have attitude problem etc etc. those self doubt kept creeping up your mind. you also wonder why the successful person is not you?
i don't feel inferior but frustrated that no chance to do what i'm good at...............it's not about money all the time.............
many successful people (provided they're not from rich family) all have some ''luck'' such as meeting the right people at the right time....................
heard too many stories of how formerly poor people meeting the right people that help them become rich...................
you must be doing something you're good at to be successful.................and at the right time....................
Michael Schumacher loves soccer...................imagine if he decided to be footballer.......................no one will know who he is...................
in S'pore much more difficult becoz employers are obsessed with paper qualifications here......................
they don't care much about anything else........................also super difficult to raise funds in S'pore......................banks too kiasu liao..............
so got good business ideas or lobangs also got no capital................
I read how the owner of thai express started his sole restaurant in 2002 at Holland Village, a lot of people dun give him a chance. even his wife said the name of the restaurant is lousy lol. he has the last laugh, as he sold his business for $80m. he also borrowed 300k to start this restaurant.
Well, I did not eat at thai express before either... ![]()
The general public tend to tag success with gaining material wealth and status.
Real success should be finding what you are good at in your life, work hard on it and make it to great value to fellow human beings.
But, most of us are too programmed to follow the same path of an employee - slave of money and material stuff, rat race.
It is the ten year series model answer to every singaporean life.
Graduate - Work - Credit Card - Clubbing - Car - Wife - Condo - Children - Cancer - Coffin.
nope..
Originally posted by Rooney9:I read how the owner of thai express started his sole restaurant in 2002 at Holland Village, a lot of people dun give him a chance. even his wife said the name of the restaurant is lousy lol. he has the last laugh, as he sold his business for $80m. he also borrowed 300k to start this restaurant.
at least he got the lobang to borrow 300,000...................
wonder who will lend me 300k leh....................
i pity the goons that bought the restaurant chain for 80m....................
Originally posted by Asromanista2001:
the chain include xin wang cafe and new york new york restaurants.no he was given $80m, but the business was sold for $120m.
aiyah 300k not a lot to borrow from what. borrow from banks, friends and relatives, all chip up to 300k to start a new business.
he used the $80m to pay for his posh Tanglin bungalow mortgage and use the rest of the money to start an IT business in China. he still retain a share and director in the restaurant chain.
why envy? why not learn from them?
lol..
Success starts with good attitude towards others and life.
Depends on every individual definition also. I don't, not because I'm better (I'm just a poor working bloke) but I just don't bother about that too much.
no one success formula is the same for another....
one good touching and rare success story is Olivia Lum who started making a living from 4 when her adopted grandma couldn't work anymore....and begged the schools to accept her..."Please give me a chance, and I will make it here [Singapore]."
make your own success script
Nothing to learn from those who got what they want.
Plenty to learn from those who try but did not get what they want.
Success and Failure are lables people invented to describe the two events.
Most important is that you think and act intelligently on what you think.
The results will be accordingly on your actions.
You want to get something, go get it, but avoid the dangers.
You get it = Success
You don't get what you want = Failure, no big deal.
I only envy people who have the money and time to travel the world and I admire people who heck care about other people's success. These people are the real happy people in the world, they don't compare and are contented ��自在.
I have 2 friends who started business.
1 started with $100. 1 started with govt grant (or so I guess) from SPRING Singapore due to "innovative" nature of business (smartphone apps, which requires low start-up capital but tons of brain matter).
Even if 300k is really needed, if you have an extremely good business plan write up, bring it to a venture capitalist or banker, and they will finance you. Some will even guide you. Only fools will put money with people who have no concrete plans, roadmaps, and still expect to generate a decent ROI.
The key is whether you even bothered to try or find out the different ways of financing. I guess not. You wondered, others took action.
Colonel Sanders failed multiple times (not 1, not 2, not 10, not 20, but much more) before finding a restaurant that was willing to use his recipe for fried chicken. If he gave up before even trying, there wouldn't be KFC today.
Therein lies one major difference.
Originally posted by Rooney9:aiyah 300k not a lot to borrow from what. borrow from banks, friends and relatives, all chip up to 300k to start a new business.
he used the $80m to pay for his posh Tanglin bungalow mortgage and use the rest of the money to start an IT business in China. he still retain a share and director in the restaurant chain.
300k not a lot of money to borrow unless you got people rich enough to lend you lah..............
banks won't lend one.......................HDB flat can't be used as collateral if i'm not wrong.
Originally posted by eagle:I have 2 friends who started business.
1 started with $100. 1 started with govt grant (or so I guess) from SPRING Singapore due to "innovative" nature of business (smartphone apps, which requires low start-up capital but tons of brain matter).
Even if 300k is really needed, if you have an extremely good business plan write up, bring it to a venture capitalist or banker, and they will finance you. Some will even guide you. Only fools will put money with people who have no concrete plans, roadmaps, and still expect to generate a decent ROI.
The key is whether you even bothered to try or find out the different ways of financing. I guess not. You wondered, others took action.
Colonel Sanders failed multiple times (not 1, not 2, not 10, not 20, but much more) before finding a restaurant that was willing to use his recipe for fried chicken. If he gave up before even trying, there wouldn't be KFC today.
Therein lies one major difference.
what you say is all too true.....................talent alone is never enough..................
alas................willpower is the last thing that i have........................
negativity is always the order of the day....................
Originally posted by Pinknutri:I only envy people who have the money and time to travel the world and I admire people who heck care about other people's success. These people are the real happy people in the world, they don't compare and are contented ��自在.
as they say..................the richest guy is not the one that has the most but needs the least.................
either way.................we feel good or bad becoz of our attachment to pride................
Originally posted by mancha:Nothing to learn from those who got what they want.
Plenty to learn from those who try but did not get what they want.
Success and Failure are lables people invented to describe the two events.
Most important is that you think and act intelligently on what you think.
The results will be accordingly on your actions.
You want to get something, go get it, but avoid the dangers.
You get it = Success
You don't get what you want = Failure, no big deal.
reminds me of the guy who had 10% share in Apple when it just got started..............
he sold off his share for USD800 becoz he needed the money then and also becoz he never had any luck in business....................
he said you just got to make the best decision based on the situation at that time...................just that it was the wrong one..............
If you read those stories and feel positive about yourself, then you are not inferior.
If you read those stories and feel inferior, then you ARE inferior.
There is this type of pple who get success.
Manager love him, manager sugar boy.
but sugar or blue eye boy also have to pay a price hor, he needs to do alots for the manager, even kneel down and do, act like a dog also must do...it is very simple, but where then is your pride and dignity, the world had become a place where carrying boss and licking boots become the top guy, whereas the real talented and able are kept away.
Originally posted by Asromanista2001:i don't feel inferior but frustrated that no chance to do what i'm good at...............it's not about money all the time.............
many successful people (provided they're not from rich family) all have some ''luck'' such as meeting the right people at the right time....................
heard too many stories of how formerly poor people meeting the right people that help them become rich...................
you must be doing something you're good at to be successful.................and at the right time....................
Michael Schumacher loves soccer...................imagine if he decided to be footballer.......................no one will know who he is...................
in S'pore much more difficult becoz employers are obsessed with paper qualifications here......................
they don't care much about anything else........................also super difficult to raise funds in S'pore......................banks too kiasu liao..............
so got good business ideas or lobangs also got no capital................
lim peh si beh zue ideas ah....... bao tan lui eh leh....... wa bo lui nia nia..... ni na beh...... Sianz.......![]()