Originally posted by kengkia:
lumber 2 wrong la.
try again.
Originally posted by Nelstar:To begin expanding your vocabulary, try and find the explanations for the following:
Lao Sai �屎
Lao Kui �气
Lao Hong �风
I think most people knows what's Lau Kh'ui.
By the way,
how to explain "Lau Lan" ? I dunno how.
Originally posted by BanguIzai:I think most people knows what's Lau Kh'ui.
By the way,
how to explain "Lau Lan" ? I dunno how.
Meaning Miss or Mrs Ah Lan very old liao lor
Originally posted by angel7030:
yalor, so i speak english better, cos my hokkien can scare some young guys away, but many uncles and aunties love it, they asked me to teach them, I find singapore hokkien too rough, kind of mixed up and yet very vulgar, out of all the dialect, guess hokkien is the most rough and vulgar one, within a few phrases, there is a vulgar word in it, for eg, many people do not know that Siao is a vulgar hokkien word, you call a person siao, meaning male syrup
hahaha thanks for the tips.
btw do you feel awkward when you hear the swearing?
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nuc8scQ09Ac&feature=related
what these programs sure can learn gut hokkien
Originally posted by Jagged:I'm surprised Hokkien Huay Kwan didn't have proper classes. I attended the Teochew classes, and know friends personally who've attending basic conversational classes in Cantonese, Shanghainese, and Hainanese in their respective Huay Kwan, and we were taught how to write the Chinese word equivalent of the stuff you say in dialects. Not that you'll come out of the class very conversant in the dialect, but you'll learn a lot from there, depending on your teacher.
I'm not sure of Hokkien though, but don't give up. There are actually many Hokkien Huay Kuan in Singapore, you're sure to find one that offers proper classes. I read about it the papers few years ago, but I forgot which Hokkien Huay Kuan carried it.
I certainly agree. But with the lack of teachers and conducive environment, the room to pick up Hokkien from scratch is very limited. Um, are there many Hokkien Huay Kuans in SG? To my knowledge there is only 1 at Telok Ayer, and its subsidary Hokkien Huay Kuan Arts & Cultural Troupe at Toa Payoh. I called up both of them twice - 2 years back and recently - and both gave me the same sensible reply. I think I read the article too, which states that the Hokkien Huay Kuan conducts lessons on an 'ad-hoc' basis. (Read: Almost never conducted)
Cheers!
Lan jiao bin
Originally posted by Chunhow:
hahaha thanks for the tips.btw do you feel awkward when you hear the swearing?
Not a bit, I feel it is a culture breed in singapore, very much singaporeans and certainly the way of singaporeans, but it seem like even such culture are fading.
Originally posted by ChoCoChips:lau lan – happens when a guy no zip properly and ur little friend makes a cameo appearance. haha
Nice haha. That cements my understanding of that phrase...
But why is lan, lan? Why not something else LOL
Not a bit, I feel it is a culture breed in singapore, very much singaporeans and certainly the way of singaporeans, but it seem like even such culture are fading.
Wah not a bit?? I feel a bit pissed off when those little ah bengs (like 12-14 years old) sitting near on the bus swear CCB, KKJ, LJ loudly so the whole bus can hear...
where got fade. when we doing it i hear you also swear like no 2mr ![]()
Originally posted by ChoCoChips:lau lan – happens when a guy no zip properly and ur little friend makes a cameo appearance. haha
Originally posted by Chunhow:
Wah not a bit?? I feel a bit pissed off when those little ah bengs (like 12-14 years old) sitting near on the bus swear CCB, KKJ, LJ loudly so the whole bus can hear...
U piss at them? why not their parents? the youngs like me today get pissed are common, look at what the govt did, adults also get pissed, so to let it go, all the pissing words start to surface. Society are created by decision makers, they should hold responsibility
Originally posted by troublemaker2005:
where got fade. when we doing it i hear you also swear like no 2mr
oh, i dun swear, u must hv got the wrong gal, my dog maybe..
Originally posted by chisinau:I certainly agree. But with the lack of teachers and conducive environment, the room to pick up Hokkien from scratch is very limited. Um, are there many Hokkien Huay Kuans in SG? To my knowledge there is only 1 at Telok Ayer, and its subsidary Hokkien Huay Kuan Arts & Cultural Troupe at Toa Payoh. I called up both of them twice - 2 years back and recently - and both gave me the same sensible reply. I think I read the article too, which states that the Hokkien Huay Kuan conducts lessons on an 'ad-hoc' basis. (Read: Almost never conducted)
Cheers!
I believe that article we both read was a Sunday Times feature. At that time I only paid heed to the Teochew class, but I know of people who have attended other dialect classes, like I said. I'm sorry to hear that Hokkien, being the majority-dialect here does not hold classes in its Huay Kuan! What irony!
If you don't mind, you can enrol in the Teochew class at Poit Ip Huay Kuan, the only Huay Kuan offering Teochew class in Singapore, taught by a Teochew radio news presenter. He really is worth his salt and know the differences between Hokkien and Teochew, and you'd be surprised what you might pick up from him about Hokkien though the emphasis is in Teochew. Granted, the course is still subject to the class availability too and the teacher's schedule.
Amaziing so many of you still interested in the dialects !
oh, i dun swear, u must hv got the wrong gal, my dog maybe..
so you lonely got get your dog to dog on you or not?