Guys...
Just wondering what you guys think about all this talk about online communication being no as good as offline.
Or do you guys prefer through MSN because no need to see the other person's face?
Haha
OR do you think that Skype with webcam is as good as Face-to-Face? Lol.
non FTF gives u anonymity
which means u can take on a pseudo ID
u do not have to care whether tt person is your boss or principal bcos he/she would not know
u can tell him F**k off which u cant in real life
this gives u "power"
and u are more daring to voice out wat u are too shy to say when u are facing them
this can be good in the sense u wanna confess ur love to that girl
wat u type to the other party is carefully composed so u will not blurt out rubbish like when she is right in front of u
the more u try to hide, the more u are exposing ur innner self....
(many examples here in sgf)
FTF can see facial expressions, body language
this is where u can contrast wat comes out of the person's mouth and wat he/she is relli thinking or wanting to say
each eye contact, gesture means something
by this, i dun mean webcamming but really seeing that person right in front of u
so... you think webcam cannot replace FTF?
=p
i sometimes wonder if 20 years down the road
almost everyone will be so used to talking over the internet nobody feels comfortable when they are physically together anymore... lol.
these days ppl go for outing but each busy with their iphone/other-smartphones while sitting at the same table
the one sitting on the far left is whatapping the one sitting at the opposite 2nd from the right to bitch abt the one sitting opposite her wearing hideous pink socks
the one on her left is fb-ing the one on the far right tt the bf of the one across her in the 2 o'clock direction looks snobbish
Convenience...
I like msn, because I can chat with FI thinking she looks like LCL.![]()
u may whatsapp me ![]()
i just think i MSNing Jolin Tsai can liao
even if fifi really looks like this

i take tt as an insult.
å©å�的爸 can come gong jiao wei with me now?
ä½ è¯´çš„å•Š
dont 临时退缩 ![]()
I know of one mum who went through a lot of trouble to fixed webcam to skype with son overseas, and son don't want to use cam. ![]()
Therefore depends.
Thats why demi-god Steve Jobs has granted us Face Time ! Totally revolutionises how we talk to each other! Through Technology !
lol
I find online communication non humanity in existence, with all due respect, if possible meeting personally to talk it over a cup of coffee might show some humanity left in us, otherwise life will become more and more meaningless. In our daily engage in h/p, i here and there, net here and there, we may lost our origin in time to come.
Originally posted by angel7030:I find online communication non humanity in existence, with all due respect, if possible meeting personally to talk it over a cup of coffee might show some humanity left in us, otherwise life will become more and more meaningless. In our daily engage in h/p, i here and there, net here and there, we may lost our origin in time to come.
People have no time to come out for a cup of tea or coffee.
People are working triple hard to put meals across the tables.
Salary stagnanted, cost of living increases, inflation increases...no time for ftf.
Better work hard and save some money for pap to up the bills.
technology brings people closer, or further?