I think government should subside new hdb flats more and put a cap on the price to make them more affordable.
1 room new hdb flat could be ranged from 50k to 80k. Meaning that the maximum amount we have to pay to buy a 1 room flat at a very good place is 80k while those at lousy location pay only 50k for it.
2 room new hdb flat price range from 80k to max 120k.
3 room new hdb flat price range from 120k to 150k.
4 room new hdb flat price range from 150k to 200k
5 room new hdb flat price range from 200k to 250k.
HDB should also offer no interest housing loans for a maximum of 99 years which is the lease of the house.
For example, if you buy a 80k 1 room flat, you get a 99 year interest free loan.
So the amount you pay a month is 80k divide by 99 years divide by 12 months=$67
So if you take a 99 year free interest rate loan with hdb, you only pay $67 a month for the entire 99 years.
I think this will make hdb flats very affordable and more people will get marry and have their own family
They "subsidize" you more, they increase the price more.
Just like income ceiling, keeps going higher and higher while the prices of flats keep going higher and higher too.
Like chasing a moving target. ![]()
Originally posted by charlize:They "subsidize" you more, they increase the price more.
Just like income ceiling, keeps going higher and higher while the prices of flats keep going higher and higher too.
Like chasing a moving target.
subside without increasing the price lah
Originally posted by icare:
subside without increasing the price lah
And how to make money from this?
How? ![]()
they are not suppose to make money from hdb flats anyway
i dun think gov is really interested if sporeans make more babies..they get 1 billion folks from india n china to do that in spore....u can like wait for around 80 years where there would be sizeable oppositions in parliament...as calculated n forcasted.
the year is 2090,i see a dude asking for cheap housing...there is 50% chance gov would listen to him.meanwhile from 2010 to 2089 his pleas were laughed at and ignored.
April the 1st was like 2 months back.
One idea is to sell HDB at slightly higher price than the cost needed to build the flat.
Maybe 10 to 20 percent higher.
And what's going to happen to all the Singaporeans who already own flats?
Too bad? They suay lor? Who ask them to buy in the past?
Originally posted by soul_rage:And what's going to happen to all the Singaporeans who already own flats?
Too bad? They suay lor? Who ask them to buy in the past?
This kind of thing cannot blame one.
Like u buy flat 500 k a few years later value dropped. U shuay lor.
If market determines that the price drops, nothing to say.
But if it's because of 1-time policies to placate Singaporeans who want to buy a flat, it's not correct.
What is the percentage of Singaporeans who want to own a flat, versus those who already own a flat?
Realistically, if you are a leader, what would you do? Placate the small percentage of Singaporeans who want to own a flat, and in doing so, incur the wrath of the huge percentage of others who already own one?
Like FireIce said, Wake up.
Not to say I agree with the government policies of letting prices run amok. Just that they are now caught in a situation where pushing prices down is bad, pushing prices up is also bad, they are just not sure how to resolve the situation anymore.
And just who is going to give you a 99 year interest free loan?
Originally posted by granslime:And just who is going to give you a 99 year interest free loan?
And, to add on, the moment a policy like the above is implemented, prices of resale flats will drop drastically. This is followed by private properties, since there will be an exodus of people moving from private to resale.
The property market will be impacted substantially. Banks will ask owners to make up the shortfall of the difference in property value and the outstanding loan, resulting in foreclosures for people who cannot make the difference.
Sometimes, I think some people in this forum are just too simplistic in thinking, attempting to solve a problem from a SINGLE-angled view.
A more realistic method of resolving the property issue are the following:
(1) curb immigration and restrict foreign labor influx. This will put a damper on demand
(2) focus on increasing salaries by (a) attracting more investments from MNCs, (b) more importantly, growing our homegrown companies
The most important thing is to grow salaries, and curb price increases for now, so that salaries can catch up. This is the better solution in the long-term.
Originally posted by soul_rage:
And, to add on, the moment a policy like the above is implemented, prices of resale flats will drop drastically. This is followed by private properties, since there will be an exodus of people moving from private to resale.The property market will be impacted substantially. Banks will ask owners to make up the shortfall of the difference in property value and the outstanding loan, resulting in foreclosures for people who cannot make the difference.
Sometimes, I think some people in this forum are just too simplistic in thinking, attempting to solve a problem from a SINGLE-angled view.
We have to thank that previous mini-star who created this problem for his successor to solve. ![]()
Originally posted by charlize:We have to thank that previous mini-star who created this problem for his successor to solve.
Precisely. I don't envy anyone sitting in that ministerial role now. It's like taking up the consequences of someone else's incorrect policies.
In the 1st place, prices of properties should have been better managed to rise in tandem with salaries.
But in our relentless pursuit of economic growth, and the use of yesterday's policy of curbing labor costs to attract investments, we are now caught in a situation where it's now very difficult to resolve.
I see 4 room flats going for around 300k to 350k at propertyguru and they are not very ulu or whatsoever leh. Unless you want a $880,000 DBSS flat yet cannot afford and come here complain.
Originally posted by soul_rage:If market determines that the price drops, nothing to say.
But if it's because of 1-time policies to placate Singaporeans who want to buy a flat, it's not correct.
What is the percentage of Singaporeans who want to own a flat, versus those who already own a flat?
Realistically, if you are a leader, what would you do? Placate the small percentage of Singaporeans who want to own a flat, and in doing so, incur the wrath of the huge percentage of others who already own one?
Like FireIce said, Wake up.
Not to say I agree with the government policies of letting prices run amok. Just that they are now caught in a situation where pushing prices down is bad, pushing prices up is also bad, they are just not sure how to resolve the situation anymore.
where did you get your statistics on small percentage of singaporeans who want to own a flat and a huge percentage of others who already own one?
You imagined it out? or naively think that there is a huge percentage who own hdb and a small percentage who want to own a flat?
Originally posted by soul_rage:A more realistic method of resolving the property issue are the following:
(1) curb immigration and restrict foreign labor influx. This will put a damper on demand
(2) focus on increasing salaries by (a) attracting more investments from MNCs, (b) more importantly, growing our homegrown companies
The most important thing is to grow salaries, and curb price increases for now, so that salaries can catch up. This is the better solution in the long-term.
(1) Naive. You think government is really sincere in wanting to curb immigration and restrict foreign labour influx
(2) How do you attract more investments from MNCs when they come to singapore and you restrict foreign labour influx causing their labour costs to increase?
Which MNCs will want to come to singapore to invest and employ expensive singaporeans to work for them?
Some people are so simple minded. I guess this is your 1st day in singapore huh
Originally posted by Almond Cookies:One idea is to sell HDB at slightly higher price than the cost needed to build the flat.
Maybe 10 to 20 percent higher.
Yup. But hdb will never be willing to tell us the true cost price
If TS so confident about his strategy, can send it to the mini - star for evalutaion.
Make the mini - star LOL for one day. ![]()
Originally posted by charlize:If TS so confident about his strategy, can send it to the mini - star for evalutaion.
Make the mini - star LOL for one day.
Your 1st day in singapore or your 1st day knowing the mini-star?
I believe Khaw ah Wan is using the same as what he said during his days as health minister, that is, affordable does not mean cheaper.
All PAP ministers have an agenda to follow to contribute to the kingdom of money for Lee Dynasty, the interest of citizens is the least they will care.
Originally posted by dechang:where did you get your statistics on small percentage of singaporeans who want to own a flat and a huge percentage of others who already own one?
You imagined it out? or naively think that there is a huge percentage who own hdb and a small percentage who want to own a flat?
It's pretty obvious you don't even do a little bit of critical thinking.
How long has Singapore been in existence?
How long have we had HDB flats?
what is the percentage of people in the age group that are looking for flats now, versus the entire population as a whole?
You don't even need statistics to come to the information. Am not interested in spoonfeeding you though I know where the statistics are.