hey! anyone of u organize an event before such as a class bbq outing?
it is my first time organizing... i am very afraid i missed out anything... i booked the pit, ordered food, set meet up time.. still got anything more?
in fact tmr is the day le... please tell me if i missed out anything!
anyone of u also have such feelings when organizing stuff like this?
Hmmm, activities?
got plan any activities during the BBQ session? must have some entertainment of some sort... Things like music player (ipod with speakers etc) or cards or board game also can...
talking abt food, be sure to have at least 3 tongs... 1 for charcoal, 1 for halal food, 1 for non-halal food... coz dunno if urside have any hindu or muslims... hindu cannot take beef, muslim can only take halal certified food...
drinks... Have extra plain water for washing or etc... remember to have extra ice...
also gotta prepare for wet weather program incase it rains...
lastly, remember to bring extra plastic bags, trash bags etc...
ehhh... tat shld be all I can think of at the moment... hope it helps...
eh it helps A LOT! thanks really!!
Have someone who is able to setup a bbq fire and are willing to get their hands dirty to prep (that's where the water for washing of hands is useful)
There are so many times where I know of people who says that "oh i know how to setup a fire" - most of the time, they are rubbish at it - so much smoke take so long. No fire.
Here's a tip:
Take 3 pieces of charcoal. arrange it to form a triangle, then do like so "/\ " then take another 3 pieces of charcoal and stack it on top of the /\ but digonally. When you feel it's high enough place a fire starter in the middle of the triangle
Repeat this for the rest of the pit.. and u will get your fire in 5~15 minutes
Also ready some paper plates to be used as a fan for the fire.
If it's at a beach, bring along a football/volleyball some cards.
I'm quite used to organising such events - night cycling .. chalets.. bbqs.. but i do get pre event jitters (esp for night cycling as i have to consider many aspects such as safety, body conditioning, pace .. in a convoy of about 10-15 bikes)
Don't worry everything will turn out fine. :)
The key to making them feel comfortable is flexibility.. they are here to enjoy and chill.. some event organisers are just too anal. They just stick to their time plan and ruin the whole atmosphere really.
For example your time plan states 8pm - ice breaking games. If at 8pm your friends are happily eating/ doing something fun just scrap off/postpone the ice breaking and let them enjoy..
Oh! With regards to meeting up time, there are bound to be some people who will be late. If the majority is already there, check around to see if you want to wait for them .. especially if they are around 20 - 30 minutes away from your meet up point.
you can assign someone who is willing to wait for them (as you have to keep in mind that you have frozen food etc etc etc)
HEY!! really thanks a lot!!! THANKS!
heehee!! yeah the fire starting guide was simple and easy to understand, at least i can do it if no one knows haha! and yea we plan to bring ball and cards these all.. anyway really thanks a lot!! lets hope i learn a lot from this attempt...
dun forget to carry condom (just in case)
Remember to inform your friends exact time and place for the BBQ.
No point you prepare everything sui sui and then go eh?
Did I inform charlize? ![]()
Remember not to scratch your itchy armpit while BBQing for the sake of hygiene.
Originally posted by Fcukpap:dun forget to carry condom (just in case)
already said bring extra plastic bags can already okay.
I use lighter fluid and a single match for my charcoal.
It helps if you buy the kind of charcoal that lights up quickly. :p
Originally posted by MooKu:I use lighter fluid and a single match for my charcoal.
It helps if you buy the kind of charcoal that lights up quickly. :p
... ... ...
It's okay to do it this way ONLY IF u let the charcoal burn for a LONG time before cooking the food...
The smoke from lighter fluid is poisonous to the body...
Originally posted by ^Acid^ aka s|aO^eH~:
... ... ...It's okay to do it this way ONLY IF u let the charcoal burn for a LONG time before cooking the food...
The smoke from lighter fluid is poisonous to the body...
oh... really hia...
then si liao lar, how, i already used this method ... 3 times...
ooops. ![]()
Originally posted by MooKu:oh... really hia...
then si liao lar, how, i already used this method ... 3 times...
ooops.
it's poisonous but not lethel ![]()
think of it as eh... car exhaust... breathing it is bad for health, but wont kill u outright...
I actually last time also use this method... Then until gotch ppl tell me, make sense then I change my method...
I still think the secret of fire starting is a styrofoam box cover and a muscle man ![]()
no loh
wah lau u know there was once
i dunno wat happened, my unclesssss were all trying to start the bbq fire
we even brought out the ELECTRIC fans, but it took almost 2 hours before we could cook anything ![]()
Originally posted by MooKu:no loh
wah lau u know there was once
i dunno wat happened, my unclesssss were all trying to start the bbq fire
we even brought out the ELECTRIC fans, but it took almost 2 hours before we could cook anything
eh -___-
firstly is the wind of the fan... U no need constand wind over the fire... with constant wind, fire beri hard to grow...
which is why u dun see satay unker fanning 24/7... they just need to fan until got fire, then stop, let the charcoal burn...
fanning actually is for providing fresh oxygen into the fire... which is why sometimes when ppl lazy to fan, they just blow into the charcoal fire... it does work from certain angle but beware of the charcoal ashes ![]()
Too much wind = fire die >__> just like how u extinguish a candle by blowing it...
fire expert....should join survivor.
eh, no live updates?
The trick to a good charcoal fire is to fan it in a figure of 8 type of direction and not just flap flap flap
flapping works though but you will have flappy and ITCHY armpits cum quicker aching arms
I always say, or rather what the all good UG guys would say, a good foundation is good. Once the starter is lighted up and in that foundation, wait for a while for it to heat up the charcoal.
Then fan. Fan flames will come out, if you fan it right.
Not having a fire doesn't mean that it isn't hot enough, that's a misconception... once the charcoal is hot.. aka glowing or white, it can last for a good minimum 1 hour or more before topping up is needed
haha the event was ok ok today... just got back 1 hour + ago..
actually the truth is, many ppl last minute nv come... cuz of many many problems.. ahh in the end the expected 19 ppl turn to 13 ppl.. still it was great la..
o and today i learnt how to fire start... tho not very pro at it tho.. haha!
anyway thanks guys for the help! it was helpful in one way or other... :D
THANKS!
the next sgforums BBQ outing u be the fire IC k?
haha! no la..
ask those pros posted above la.. anyway i nv been to any sgf outing b4 haha.. in fact i nv even meet any online friends b4... wonder how it is..

Sgforums East Coast Gathering .. cum old banner![]()
Originally posted by ItchyArmpit:haha the event was ok ok today... just got back 1 hour + ago..
actually the truth is, many ppl last minute nv come... cuz of many many problems.. ahh in the end the expected 19 ppl turn to 13 ppl.. still it was great la..
o and today i learnt how to fire start... tho not very pro at it tho.. haha!
anyway thanks guys for the help! it was helpful in one way or other... :D
THANKS!
Congrats your gathering level has levelled up to level 99!
i wonder the banner with who now