I want to buy a tee that cost $97, So i Borrow from my mum $50 and from my dad $50,
After i brought the tee, i left with $3, i used $1 to buy green tea and return my mum and dad $1 each, in the end i owe my mum $49 and my dad $49,
BUT then. $49+$49 = $98 ( The total amount i owe)
$98 + $1 (the green tea) = $99.
What happen to the $1?
Can like that say ?
lol
well it’s actually 98 + 2 ( the one from your mom and the one from your dad) = 100
if u count with the one left to you it’s 97+3 so it’s still 100
There is no missing $1.
100 - 97 = 3
97/2 = 48.50
48.50 X 2 + 1 + 1 + 1 = 100
Oh ! I see ! No wonder i can't solve that problem given by my friend ! Thanks !
sibe zhun!
this has been recycled to death.........................
and as many times resurrected.
Originally posted by XiiaooBoon:I want to buy a tee that cost $97, So i Borrow from my mum $50 and from my dad $50,
After i brought the tee, i left with $3, i used $1 to buy green tea and return my mum and dad $1 each, in the end i owe my mum $49 and my dad $49,
BUT then. $49+$49 = $98 ( The total amount i owe)
$98 + $1 (the green tea) = $99.
What happen to the $1?
this is just your own analogy mixing and trying to confuse people.
you spend 98dollas, 97 on shirt and 1 on green tea. that is no doubt. 98 divide by two you owe your parents 49 each. period. what's so difficult? you only add herea nd tehre to confuse people only.
Jiani was wrong.... The problem was caused by a erroneous "+1" to $98....
Tee= $97
Borrowed money = 2 x $49 = $98
Borrowed money - Tee cost = $1 which you used to buy green tea.
try this
i go batam take ferry if drown how muc h insurance must claim so that my dogs at home will be fed throughtout their balance 15 years in life
i go batam take ferry take things back kena caught at custm how company going tocompasate me for my reputation?
i go batam never pay tax caught how company going to compensate my 1 night virgin stay at 10 star hotel?
TS just read this somewhere and is sharing with us? ![]()
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Missing_dollar_riddle
Originally posted by βÎτά:
TS just read this somewhere and is sharing with us?
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Missing_dollar_riddle
No, i was asked by my friends and was very confused and want to ask the sgforumers :)
The $1 for the green tea was counted twice.
Should not be borrowed $49 x 2 = $98 ($97 + $1), and then add the $1 again to get $99
Should be $49 x 2 = $98 ($97 + $1). End of the story.
Or $50 x 2 = $100 - $2 = $98 ($97 + $1). End of the story.
same apply to other tih==higns in life. people who continue tokin here and ther does not mena they good toker, its the contents you have to listen carefully. no one is a good talker. but one who knows what he is doing, toalks about what he does best, alwasy perceived as a good toker. so really when i say the thing si do good at, i am not a good talker really. now when i go interview i never prpare myself. come shit will i just answer what i know, what comes to my heart.
borrowed $98 spend $98
I don't see how this is a riddle.. Green tea cost 97, your mon and dad have 1 dollar each thats 99 .. add the dollar you're left with thats 100?
Originally posted by wayne471:I don't see how this is a riddle.. Green tea cost 97, your mon and dad have 1 dollar each thats 99 .. add the dollar you're left with thats 100?
like i wrote, add here mix there tok here and ther just like trickerters magicinas.
and people who simple got sgreand donlt hire hire floor traps, ended up all teh costs added up also the same. only when you hire in bulk then can earn, hire solso ones btter sgreans lah ![]()
Achievement Unlocked: Cannot count, Don't borrow.
Anyways, it's time to prepare yourself should your buddies launch you other mathematical quizzes of doom!
[1] You have 8 perfectly similar-looking eggs. 7 of the eggs are of the exact same weight while 1 of the egg is slightly heavier.
Given a balancing scale and only 3 tries, how can you always determine which one the heavier egg is?
[2] 3 dudes in a room, Ang Mo (A), Bangla (B) and Chinki (C) are presented with 3 black fedora and 2 white fedora. Without looking at the fedora's colours, they randomly pick 1 and equip it on their head.
Now they stand in a line, in the following formation: || Wall || <= A <= B <= C
C can see what A and B's fedora is, B can only see A's fedora and A cannot see anyone's fedora.
C then says "I do not know what colour my fedora is", B also replied "I do not know what colour my fedora is". But A responded, "I know what my fedora's colour is."
What colour fedora is A wearing and how was he able to tell?
[3] You have 10 unlabelled bottles filled with 100 pills each. 9 of the bottles contain pills of 1 gram each while 1 of the bottle contains pills of 1.1 gram each.
You are given a high accuracy weighing scale but you can only use the scale once. You are given the freedom to weigh the bottles/pills separately if required. How can you determine with 1 try, the bottle containing the 1.1 gram pills?
Have fun with the question!
1) place 3 eggs on each side of scale , if equal, then replace with remaining 2 with one each side. If not equal, take the batch which is heavier and remove the rest. Place 1 each side. Max: 2 tries on scale. :p
2) When C say he dunno means he sees either 2 black fedora or mixed. When B say he dunno means he sees black.
3) Mark 1~10 on bottles. Remove 1 pill from bottle1, 2 pills from bottle2, 3 pills from bottle3,... 55pills total. If wt=55.1g, ans:bottle1, if wt=55.2g, ans:bottle2, if wt=55.3g, ans:bottle3,...
there is a bottle of unfinished milk, with 50ml in a 100 ml bottle capacity.
so is the bottle half empty or half full
Its a bottled of unfinished milk.