My parents are quite the technophobes... They don't know how to use the handphones properly, how to do manual cash withdrawal from ATM, how to auto deposit cash, how to use axs, and how to use the PC.
For my mom's birthday, I decided to build her a standard home PC because she mentioned she would like to be more connected to our relatives all over malaysia. But until today, it's still sitting on the living room collecting dust... I tried to teach her a few times but she usually have excuse to be busy with something else. I then convinced her to sign up for a PC class for adults but she for one month still haven't attend 1st class.
In these day and age, it's important to know the basics of using the computer at least. Anyone have the same problem? :(
start to play game first.
Yep my parents have that problem..... but they had planned for it.... they get me to do it for them ![]()
make all the shortcuts for internet, email........
simply everything
no fancy wp or icons or clutter the desktop
write down step by step instructions where to click and wat expected to see
Originally posted by FireIce:make all the shortcuts for internet, email........
simply everything
no fancy wp or icons or clutter the desktop
write down step by step instructions where to click and wat expected to see
No point.... the minute they cannot do something or some pop up appears....
"Oi <insert name> the computer not working...can you fix it?"
Originally posted by Genie99a:Yep my parents have that problem..... but they had planned for it.... they get me to do it for them
Ya lor... quite irritating because its actually extremely simple to do... Sometime I super busy cannot make SP bill paymemt for them, they have to do themselves...
I come back from work they complain they spent 1 to 2hrs queueing at Singpost.... Got AXS machine only less than 200 meters away from their house they can pay in less than 5mins... :S
My mentality right now is if they tackle how to use PC, they confirm can tackle everything else....
But its very difficult because they really got no basic idea how to use the PC as is don't know how to move mouse properly, difference between right click and left click, how fast to double click, how to undo or backspace.... They really need to go to class one... :S
for us, we will think it is simple
and u will keep thinking, y are they so stupid
I agree with the start with gaming first.
I made my mum play viwawa. then she gian, have to learn the basics.. then after that slowly she learnt youtube to sing her karaokae.. Now she learned how to use skype and email too. :)
i started with gaming 1st, my 1st encounter with the pc was the game bejeweled.
Know English?
Father - Porn.
Mother - Taiwan drama series.
Confirmed no pro after that.
You are teaching an elephant to climb a tree.
All of them have these mental barriers that they can't get over.
I had briefly research on adult training. I don't mind to help teach your parents IT skills for a small price cos I 've not yet found a job. ![]()
Originally posted by Strongmen999hard:start to play game first.
You open a simple free Yahoo game for them, let them play, then show them how to get other games. They will learn very fast the basics of clicking here and there. Then they will ask you how to turn on the computer.
auntie, uncle, father , mother fighting with their kids over the computer ![]()
Originally posted by Darkness_hacker99:Know English?
yep u r rite, unless ts pasang one wif the malay interface, i dun tink its gonna be interesting for her
Originally posted by kira.sg:You are teaching an elephant to climb a tree.
All of them have these mental barriers that they can't get over.
I think you might be somewhat right...
Today, I asked my mom to go to the computer class on Wednesday, but she gave 101 reasons like she's gonna spend the whole day cleaning the house and cooking so she got no time to go to class. I confirm can clean the house in under 1hr and can just buy some food from nearby food court for dinner...
Think must first break this barrier before she can start learning...
Originally posted by MikeOscar:I think you might be somewhat right...
Today, I asked my mom to go to the computer class on Wednesday, but she gave 101 reasons like she's gonna spend the whole day cleaning the house and cooking so she got no time to go to class. I confirm can clean the house in under 1hr and can just buy some food from nearby food court for dinner...
Think must first break this barrier before she can start learning...
you must first show your mother that u can do that, so that she will have to eat her words and guai guai go for the computer class...![]()
both parties need patience.
loads.
Yeah introduce them to games online. I think the older generations would be more inclined towards mahjong and big2 or card games. Another suggestion would be to change the computer language to Chinese? Teach them how to read the news online etc also. Youtube is a good place for them to learn also. Or show them video tutorials :P
i also don;t know leh , how? ![]()