DBS said it is investigating a total of over $200,000 worth of unauthorised withdrawals after some customers, including those from POSB, reported seeing fraudulent deductions from their bank accounts.
One affected customer, 25-year-old Amanda Goh, wrote on her Facebook on Thursday that a total of $2,000 in withdrawals, spread across four fraudulent transactions, were made from her POSB bank account via an overseas ATM machine on 4 and 5 January this year.
She claimed that her POSB ATM card was not stolen, and that she is not subscribed to any third-party financial services like internet banking or Paypal that require banking credentials.
Another affected customer, John Seah, said on Twitter that $2,000 of fraudulent withdrawals were made from his POSB bank account. He noted that the source of the transactions was from Malaysia. He also added that his friend, too, had money deducted from his bank account without permission.
DBS confirmed that some customers on Wednesday informed the bank of unauthorised withdrawals made in Malaysia through their DBS/POSB ATM/Debit cards.
In a statement, Jeremy Soo, managing director and head of consumer banking for DBS Bank in Singapore, said that affected customers who had reported to the bank had their compromised cards immediately de-activated, and the bank is now working on compensating these customers in full.
"Investigations are currently underway and we are presently validating all ATM/Debit card transactions made in Malaysia over the past few days. We will also be alerting customers should we detect any unusual activity on their accounts," he said.
He urged customers who believe that their ATM or debit card may have been compromised to contact the bank immediately at 1800-220-1111 or visit any DBS/POSB branch.
"We are treating the matter with utmost priority and would like to assure customers that they will be fully compensated, for any unauthorised withdrawals, within 24 hours. We will also issue replacement ATM/Debit cards on-the-spot at any DBS/POSB branch," he added.
As of 8pm Thursday, 200 customers have informed the bank of unauthorised withdrawals, and the average amount withdrawn was about S$1,000 per account.
How it could have happened?
Security expert, Jason Lim, 34, described to Yahoo! Singapore how the fraudulent withdrawals could have been made possible.
A shop owner in one of the shops in Singapore could have used a card skimmer to clone an exact copy of victims' ATM card when they make payment. Meanwhile, a CCTV camera would have recorded the process of victims entering their PIN codes. This is known as Point of Sale (POS) skimming.
After committing the same crime over and over again to more victims, the culprit then made his way to ATM machines in Malaysia in January 4 this year to execute the fraudulent withdrawals.
I also kena last month when I lost my wallet at zouk out......
Originally posted by Renick: Are you really manager of UtopiaEscort.Pte.Ltd?
That's '08. No more into those line and it dosen't work well in singapore..
You suddenly july 08 come and advertise on male escorts then disappear for 3.5 years then suddenly come and post about POSB fraud, then the thing appeared in news.
You very happening hor?
I picked one wallet near Jiak Kim road, then lost again.
@Dalforce;
Becos of nothing happening that's why 3yrs plus didnt post anything..
On topic; After all the investigation the bank have return the full amount of money..
But is it safe if we still deposit into the same bank or just wait for their announcement on security change?..
u can choose to put in other banks.
for some ppl, they have designated DBS/POSB acct for their salary, giro payments and such so it's a bit troublesome to X the acct
for now, they say they will inform the acct holders if there are suspicious transactions.
and they will be giving full compensation
wait for the culprit (or syndicate) to be nabbed
and hear how DBS explain this whole thing
Originally posted by angel7030:I picked one wallet near Jiak Kim road, then lost again.
Easy come easy go. ![]()
is there any latest updates?
like are there more and more people whose posb and dbs accounts are being hacked into or has the hacking stopped?
Ever kena this:
You pay by NETS, you key in youn PIN. Then the cashier ask you to key you PIN again. And you kuai kuai key your PIN again.
I always suspect they clone my card. But I use three fingers to key in the PIN and always make sure the palm is over the numbers.
Anyway this round I din't kena. Seems only those who withdrew money from ATM at Bugis kena.
Maybe people can move their fingers around and look as though they are pressing the pin number if they think a camera is recording them. ![]()
Originally posted by charlize:Maybe people can move their fingers around and look as though they are pressing the pin number if they think a camera is recording them.
there is.
*you are being recorder in HD*
When you are so used to the admin fees being deducted in your account every month, a drop in value won't surprise you. ![]()
They collected the digital data much earlier. They strike in the first week of January because most Singaporean have just got their 13 months payment and may not notice the balance discrepancy at the ATM screen. They only know when they check their pass book.
today got 400 cases reported
Can go JB and withdraw money, and the claim kena unauthorised withdrawl?
just withdraw alot of money to use so you don't need to key in nets to pay
than there won't be the problem of people cloning your card
latest news says that its 2 atm machines at white sands and those people who get affected are the 2700 people that uses the 2 atm machines at white sands
aiyah, POSB also another one. last time i go queue and enquire about my account, another ah peh can just walk over to the counter and look over at my personal details. and the so call supervisor who should screen through all the account holders details never ask the ah peh not to cross the line and look at what information she was accessing. i felt so ceated, and when i wrote in asking them to roll back the camera and see what happened then they just said their staff all very professional.
they don;t know one very importanat, thing, never be friendly with your regualr customer, like everyday greet them good morning, and idele tok so friendly with them, who knows you may even idel talk some infomration that you should noot give to those kaypho aunties and uncles you befriended, same as security also, don't go chit caht and idel talk and so friendly until everyday donlt know greet how many times good monring and can friendly until go drn=ink beer and get drunk and fuck each other;'s backside in bed.
Originally posted by c2-01:latest news says that its 2 atm machines at white sands and those people who get affected are the 2700 people that uses the 2 atm machines at white sands
the wuestion is - how the fuck can this type of things happen? instead of putting the fuckers at malaysia who did this in jail, i think POSB should hire thes fuckers and pay them 3x the salary of the CEO of POSB to enhance their security system.
the organization is too much lah! first SMRT now this! i think the CEO or whoever heads the banks should auto resign lah!
news got say msia mata helping?
抓到了没有
still they took less than the proposed amount a junior minister takes as pay :-P
TWO ATMs in the Bugis Street area have been identified as the ones that are likely to be involved in the recent spate of unauthorised withdrawals made in Malaysia from DBS Bank accounts.
Speaking to the media at a press conference yesterday evening, Mr Lim Sim Seng, Singapore country manager of DBS, said: "While investigations are still underway, increasing evidence points to the unauthorised withdrawals as being part of a card-skimming operation.
"We have identified the specific periods when the compromise could have taken place."
Skimming happens when data from a card's magnetic strip is copied onto a duplicate card without the cardholder's knowledge.
Experts contacted by The New Paper felt that besides ATMs, skimming could also happen at businesses like restaurants and retailers that use point-of-sales terminals.
Read the full story in The New Paper today (Jan 7).
what excuse is this? when the card is inside the magnatric strip in conatct with the ATM machine after transaction completed each time the information should be immediately erased by the electronic system by default? it should be set this way? no excuse lah think we all cock head swaku meh? CEO, and your bank security team - auto resign lah
Originally posted by mancha:Ever kena this:
You pay by NETS, you key in youn PIN. Then the cashier ask you to key you PIN again. And you kuai kuai key your PIN again.
I always suspect they clone my card. But I use three fingers to key in the PIN and always make sure the palm is over the numbers.
Anyway this round I din't kena. Seems only those who withdrew money from ATM at Bugis kena.
got such a thing as clone card? card got magnetic strip and chips. can easily clone that as well?
as for rekey of PIN, happens not only in cashiers, but taxi, restaurants too.