One professor I knew of in Canada once commented that Singaporeans are illiterated in 3 languages and is in the danger of becoming second class to every other nationalities. I fully agree with him.
Singaporeans go around speaking "Singlish" and yet sneer at others, particularly other Asians, who does not speak English like they are bona fide English people. Their culture - well if Singapore has any culture- is a jumble of what is essentially Asian with a propensity to ape the "Hollywood" culture and then claim they are "westernized". It is amusing to meet Singaporeans spouting Singlish with a western name and pretending to be a European infront of other Asians. They try to ingratiate themselves to the Europeans by criticizing Asiand- particularly Chinese.
They are so insecure as to be condescending to other Asians who are poorer than them and to criticized other Asians who are better than them.
They confused the issue of "Race" and "Nationality" - Nationality can be changed but race is genetically determined.
Singaporeans should realize that when the chips are down, you are Asians ,and particularly the Singaporean Chinese are Chinese, and the western countries will not help you but call to you, you fucking chinks go home.
they tell u chink go home..u hammer them on spot!u wad?yellow person is it?
Good thing my parent did not bother to teach me much else id think bigotry is hereditary.
Singaporeans should realize that when the chips are down, you are Asians ,and particularly the Singaporean Chinese are Chinese, and the western countries will not help you but call to you, you fucking chinks go home.
You must mention that Lee Kuan Yew is a peranakan and Singapore is controlled by them.
You don't mention this fact, people won't understand why Singapore 75% chinese but end up as bananas. You must mention. You cannot not mention.
Things will become clearer, simpler, more logical, more coherent once a few simple and basic facts of Singapore political life are made known.
You don't know that Lee Kuan Yew is peranakan and Singapore is controlled by them, you will understand nothing about Singapore.
You know that Lee Kuan Yew is peranakan and Singapore is controlled by them, you will understand everything about Singapore.
All these problems are mainly due to peranakan control of Singapore. The main trouble maker and destroyer of native cultures is Lee Kuan Yew.
That's why I want to get rid of PAP.
Lee Kuan Yew himself is a banana. A cultureless freak.
When the head is rotten, it will affect the entire body.
Singaporeans go around speaking "Singlish" and yet sneer at others, particularly other Asians, who does not speak English like they are bona fide English people. Their culture - well if Singapore has any culture- is a jumble of what is essentially Asian with a propensity to ape the "Hollywood" culture and then claim they are "westernized". It is amusing to meet Singaporeans spouting Singlish with a western name and pretending to be a European infront of other Asians. They try to ingratiate themselves to the Europeans by criticizing Asiand- particularly Chinese.
“Lee is like a banana –yellow of skin, white underneath.”
-Zhou Enlai, Premier of the People’s Republic of China, at the Bandung Conference (1955)
“Harry, you’re the best bloody Englishman east of Suez.”
- George Brown, Foreign Secretary of the United Kingdom (1966-68)
The problem with Singapore is that during Independence a tiny group of minority peranakans controlled power.
But population of Singapore is not peranakan, they are dialect chinese, malays and indians.
That is the problem of Singapore.
Minority rule over majority.
It's a problem.
Singaporeans are a confused lot
They are confused by Lee Kuan Yew, by PAP state media. Actually things are relatively simple.
There is no profound logic behind Lee Kuan Yew's policies of suppression of dialects, promotion of english as dominant, destruction of chinese schools at all.
Lee Kuan Yew is a peranakan. He is from minority group. He feels threat from the chinese in Singapore. So his every move is aimed with the potential threat of chinese overthrowing peranakan control at the back of his mind.
Lee Kuan yew can be said to be the top bastard of Singapore.
Endangered species?
For goodness sake, Lee Kuan Yew practically filled the entire cabinet with inbred Peranakans.
For the last few decades in Singapore, the top positions in civil service, statutory boards, armed forces, GLCs have all along been going disproportionately to the Peranakans.
That is one reason why Singapore has been run to the ground.
Lee Kuan Yew worked with the Japanese Kempeitai and later the British colonizers to suppress the non-Peranakan Chinese.
That's why he has always been wary of non-Peranakan Chinese and could only entrust power to his own family members and his other Peranakan cronies.
http://tomorrow.sg/archives/2009/02/17/peranakans__going_the_way_of_the.html
THE BABAS OF SINGAPORE
What makes Singapore different? The majority of Singapore's population is ethnically Chinese, but Singapore is largely free of corruption, has sound institutions and the rule of law dominates. It's nothing like China.
The answer lies in a historical division in Singapore's Chinese community between the babas and the sinkeh.
The sinkeh, comprising the majority of the city-state's population, were the recent immigrants from China, or whose parents were born in China. They spoke Chinese, lived like Chinese and considered themselves overseas Chinese. In Indonesia, such Chinese were called the totok.
The babas, on the other hand, also known as Straits Chinese, were Chinese more in name than practice.
They were the descendants of the very early Chinese immigrants (Hokkiens from the Fujian province) to the straits settlements of Malaya (Penang, Singapore and Malacca). They assimilated with both the local Malays and the colonising British, whom they especially admired. The babas developed their own culture, cuisine and language - Malay liberally sprinkled with Hokkien.
The sinkeh were the traders, the coolies and the shophouse owners. The babas became the lawyers, the civil servants and the politicians; they attended the local English-language schools run in the tradition of the UK's public schools, and Oxford and Cambridge. If the sinkeh received an overseas education at all, it was in Nanking or another university in China.
Although the sinkeh dominated Singapore's population, it was the babas who dominated public decision-making. In effect, a baba minority captured sinkeh Singapore, and that minority's attitudes were more those of Victorian England than China.
It was the babas who were the framers of Singapore's rules and institutions.
Many of Singapore's most prominent Chinese have had baba backgrounds. Lee Kuan Yew, who became prime minister of Singapore aged just 35, is the most obvious example.
He claims a Hakka heritage, although his upbringing was that of a baba: at home, he spoke English with his parents and baba Malay to his grandparents. "Mandarin was totally alien to me and unconnected with my life," Lee said of his childhood.
For Lee, Chineseness was an acquired skill and later a political necessity. He was not brought up as a Chinese with a focus on China, but as a baba who looked to England. He followed the conventional career path of a baba and went to London to study law. And so Lee Kuan Yew of Singapore became Harry Lee of Fitzwilliam College, Cambridge. His father had given him and two of his brothers English, as well as Chinese, names.
Did Lee run Singapore as a piece of Asia mired in Chinese ways? No. He ran it in a manner to which a British colonial administrator would have aspired.
That other great framer of Singapore's institutions, Goh Keng Swee, who rose to become finance minister and deputy prime minister, is the epitome of the baba elite. Goh was born in 1918 in Malacca, the epicentre of baba culture, into a baba family. His parents were English-oriented Chinese Methodists.
The baba influence is now more subtle, but still there. Singapore's current prime minister Lee Hsien Loong has the strongest baba pedigree of any of the country's leaders.
http://www.managementtoday.co.uk/news/648273/
Babas And Nyonyas in Singapore
http://www.asiawind.com/pub/forum/fhakka/mhonarc/msg01319.html
Wah bery bery generalised post by threadstarter. Pinch of salt lah.
a sizable group of singaporean chinese abhor PRCs and mandarin language
they lament "why am i born chinese and not ang moh"
They speak Singlish and think it's English
It is due to Harry Lee Kuan Yew and his policy of destruction of chinese schools and english as dominant.
Lee Kuan Yew is peranakan, he is not chinese.
He sees a threat in the chinese people of Singapore.

For Lee, Chineseness was an acquired skill and later a political necessity.He was not brought up as a Chinese with a focus on China, but as a baba who looked to England. He followed the conventional career path of a baba and went to London to study law. And so Lee Kuan Yew of Singapore became Harry Lee of Fitzwilliam College, Cambridge. His father had given him and two of his brothers English, as well as Chinese, names.
Did Lee run Singapore as a piece of Asia mired in Chinese ways? No. He ran it in a manner to which a British colonial administrator would have aspired.
Endangered species?
For goodness sake, Lee Kuan Yew practically filled the entire cabinet with inbred Peranakans.
For the last few decades in Singapore, the top positions in civil service, statutory boards, armed forces, GLCs have all along been going disproportionately to the Peranakans.
That is one reason why Singapore has been run to the ground.
Lee Kuan Yew worked with the Japanese Kempeitai and later the British colonizers to suppress the non-Peranakan Chinese.
That's why he has always been wary of non-Peranakan Chinese and could only entrust power to his own family members and his other Peranakan cronies.
Originally posted by Chee liek:One professor I knew of in Canada once commented that Singaporeans are illiterated in 3 languages and is in the danger of becoming second class to every other nationalities. I fully agree with him.
They are so insecure as to be condescending to other Asians who are poorer than them and to criticized other Asians who are better than them.
They confused the issue of "Race" and "Nationality" - Nationality can be changed but race is genetically determined.
kan nin nar lao jibai - you check their IC is blue or pink? you check their records in sg whether they really 100% sgreans or not? now so many hybrids here how you and your foreign friends can confirm they are sgreans - cock head
Originally posted by Chee liek:One professor I knew of in Canada once commented that Singaporeans are illiterated in 3 languages and is in the danger of becoming second class to every other nationalities. I fully agree with him.
Imo, your 'they' only represent a minority of Singaporeans - eps, those who speak very 'slang' english. I have nothing against western countries, just disagree with your gerneralised statement.
Hollywood movies are popular all around the world. This is not exclusively in Singapore. Avatar, Titiaic, Harry Potter and many others had enjoyed huge success all around Asia - it isn't a 'unique Singapore' situtaion.
If u look at the popularity of Korean pop(SNSD, Super Junior), Taiwan(Jay Chou, Show Luo) and Japan(L'arc, Naruto, One Piece, Final Fantasy), it's hard to conclude Singaporeans(or most) incline to western culture.
No doubt we are heavily influenced by the western culture, but that doesn't mean we go around criticize and disregard other Asians' culture. In fact, I hardly see/hear any criticism(in a condescending manner) of other Asians - except China, North Korea, Myanmar
Why are they scrutinized? It has alot to do with their current human right records. Then again, Singapore's human rights records aren't anywhere good either. If u read foreign news, u should noe Singapore is subjected to many criticism too.
simi lan singlish ish bery goot wans hor ![]()
at least i am not my company the pee arse wveryday take MC and take long leave go holidays, we have to break our own routine work and do his shit jobs. might as well send him packing at least we do our share of his work forever instead of have to hand over and report and then he fucking MC again and we take over. everything also don;t know always call me go answer thias and that, might as well all we do and answer ourselves. don;t know he study which school 1 back in his kampong.
don;t bring in nthe ang moh lah - you fucking hybrid or cheena say lah why hide behind ang moh - kanninarbu phua jibai ![]()
Hi, I managed to contact the professor from Canada who Chee Liek was referring to and this is what he had to say about Chee liek.
This letter is concerned only with establishing the truth about Mr. Chee Liek. It is requisite, even in this summary sketch, to go back a few years to see how Chee has been trying to raise funds for scientific studies that "prove" that representative government is an outmoded system that should be replaced by a system of overt libertinism. This is what's called "advocacy research" or "junk science" because it's funded by stroppy creeps who have already decided that the best way to reduce cognitive dissonance and restore homeostasis to one's psyche is to progressively narrow the sphere of human freedom.
Now, I hope he was joking when he implied he was going to treat people like possession-obsessed paranoiacs, but it sure didn't sound like it. Chee's rank-and-file followers form a crotchety organization devoted to harassment and barratry. Yes, I could add that he's operating according to some very badly flawed logic, but I wanted to keep my message simple and direct. I didn't want to distract you from the main thrust of my message, which is that Chee hates people who stick to the facts and offer only those arguments that can be supported by those facts. He wants such people nabbed, grabbed, and thrown out of the country. For future reference, by brainwashing his confreres with jujuism, he makes them easy to lead, easy to program, and easy to enslave. In particular, all of Chee's representatives are thieves—idle, envious, and ready to plunder and enslave their weaker neighbors. It's therefore not surprising that Chee claims that his mistakes are always someone else's fault.
That claim illustrates a serious reasoning fallacy, one that is pandemic in his drug-induced ravings. Then again, Chee would have you believe that he's a wonderful human being. I have already, for the present at least, sufficiently answered the climatic part of this proposition and have only to add that if I recall correctly, Chee maintains that we have too much freedom. This is a complete fabrication without a scintilla of truth in it. What's more, Chee's backers argue that Chee can succeed without trying. These are the same imperious tightwads who prosecute, sentence, and label people as pompous finks without the benefit of any evidence whatsoever. This is no coincidence; a person who wants to get ahead should try to understand the long-range consequences of his/her actions. Chee has never had that faculty. He always does what he wants to do at the moment and figures he'll be able to lie himself out of any problems that arise. Mr. Chee Liek's primary motivation is self-enrichment at our expense.
very noisy so i eat alone - lunch break - at least let me eat in peace. so i die also can die in peace. imagine how violent my spirit will be if i don;t have a propoer peaceful meal - i (if fact anyone of us) can die anytime so the least is the meal always right before i can eat in peace. so many bullsheet during work lunch still want to bull sheet?
take my company security - always tokin badmouthing with my senior engineer about me.
when he died i wonder his last thoughts were what / hwat berand cugerrete to buy later or what to badmouth about me later when he see my senior EEECH ![]()
'i tok to you you must turn over and look at me - try tthat after 6pm. ![]()
everyday take MC take leave go holiday, and my job also want to do ![]()
don;t know which skool he graduate from 1 ![]()
;later holiday tthe plane crash ![]()
come on lah - think like army give me orders? when you know ppl don;t respect u anymore you know you have no style in your work already. resign lah. unless u tell me you really nid this job - and i can see it since my first day join in you bloody need this job - say lah. not easy to get 3K++ salary as senior E - how much u drawi no need go gossip or check with finance i also know.
ITs call - experience - that u lack, ornly throughout your prepee arse and pee arse day u rely on getting into good books, gossiping and currying flavor act like very friendly only. know nuts ![]()
"One professor I knew of in Canada once commented that Singaporeans are illiterated in 3 languages and is in the danger of becoming second class to every other nationalities. I fully agree with him."
TS likes shit about Singapore, and fully swallow any, especially from supposedly authoritive figures. Key words for him would be Canada, and professor. He would lap up anything from the prof without question.
TS should assess the professor, rather than fully agree with him.
Ok +1 for taking my effort to finish reading...
especially females in Singapore looking up to the westerners, cos of their wealth
trying to emulate their language, their culture, religion, their lifestyle, their diet (too much western food instead of vegetable, too much alcohol), adopting english names, some even dating and marrying caucasians for the hope of better lives
due to being more westernized, no wonder today Singapore has the one of the highest incidence of breast cancers in asia, despite its affluence and prosperity
http://www.sign.a-star.edu.sg/files/SIgN_Servier%20PR.pdf
http://www.yourhealth.com.sg/content/western-lifestyle-leads-rise-breast-cancer-rates
even surpassing that of Malaysia, Thailand, Vietnam and China
that's the price to pay for being too westernized..
Don't understand the local born chinese, why want to emulate the west
Born chinese, speak mandarin, stick to chinese culture and lifestyle, adopt a chinese diet lah
Originally posted by No_10_Tomas:especially females in Singapore looking up to the westerners, cos of their wealth
trying to emulate their language, their culture, religion, their lifestyle, their diet (too much western food instead of vegetable), adopting english names, some even marrying caucasians for the hope of better lives
due to being more westernized, no wonder today Singapore has the one of the highest incidence of breast cancers in asia
even surpassing that of Malaysia, Thailand, Vietnam and China
that's the price to pay for being too westernized..
How about Singaporean men with caucasian, japanese or korean wives?![]()
Sg females look up on westerners cos of their wealth???
Hello, you still daydreaming or what?? at anytime, a local sg guys wallet can be more fatter than a westerners, please re direct your cannon. If you are chopper girls like us, you will be wasting your shitty time going after nowaday westerners, all pok kiar one lah
Originally posted by angel7030:Sg females look up on westerners cos of their wealth???
Hello, you still daydreaming or what?? at anytime, a local sg guys wallet can be more fatter than a westerners, please re direct your cannon. If you are chopper girls like us, you will be wasting your shitty time going after nowaday westerners, all pok kiar one lah
Damn. I thought of leeching the angmohs in my company. Looks like cannot liao.
big big mistake by your ruling govt lah
got its priority all screwed up liao
rating GDP economic growth over the health/happiness of its citizens
prioritizing wealth over health
unlike your neighbouring countries which place priority on health/happiness of its citizens
today Singaporeans are wealthy, but more and more people are diagnosed with cancers and life-threatening disease and cancer rate is projected to surge
what's the point?
Why pick on SG? Isn't North korea worst by far?
Sorry but its obvious you're biased against our country and we shall not listen to your criticism
Just cause you view the world from a tiny pie hole doesn't mean all of us do. Some of us can see the bigger aspect of things.
Perhaps bring your narrow mindness elsewhere to people who care.
Likewise if we wanted we could pick several things wrong with our neighbouring countries but we're too busy trying to improve our own country and likewise I suggest you do the same for your country instead of meadling into other countries affair.
If you country is relly as good as you proclaim then why did it produce such hateful people like you who try to transmute negativity onto others?
Yeah, I agreee with the thing he said about mixing up race and nationality. There are many of my Chinese Singaporean friends who go around stating their race as 'Singaporean' instead of 'Chinese'. But they think it's funny when their Indian Singaporean or Malay friends do the same (which is technically incorrect as well).
illiterated in 3 languages . better than them only know one language