The prices of both hdb and condos leasehold&freehold are way up there. To me it seems like renting makes more sense. Let's say a condo 5rm is abt 900k and located out of town but near basic amenities like mrt station and shopping centre. If rent, I can stay anywhere loh- city area or near my workplace for easy commute plus I don't need 5 rms anyway. (I assume that I'm single my whole life for simplicity sake. I know this might not be possible, but just assume that this is the fact here.) renting would be 3-5k for 1rm with good location and ulitilty bills. If its 5k, then I can live in great rented conditions for 180 months or 15 years which is not bad. And to think that all the bills other people will "help" me settle, I live near town so commute has less stress and I can work more effectively& so earn more kacchhhing! Maybe the downside is that even after graduating, I must get a job that earns more than 5k (dam tough I know) though not all jobs need you to stay-out (live in your own home). And also the fact that most of my salary will be channeled to paying rent. But also true that I might not love in a rented home 24/7 and I can get a rented apartment as and when I like. Renting seems good leh... Very tempting - so do you people still think it makes sense to buy your own house or just go ahead and rent one apartment? To those who are living in rented apartments now, what's your rationale for staying in rented apartments rather than buying and owning your own home?
alas... it makes sense to plan moving out of this country
and i blame the MIW for this when they put subsidised housing out there for people to use as tools to speculate just to collect stamp fees
worse those people who retn are cheap ft who giv exceuse they cum from vilagges make lots of noise from 2am in the morning until 5am in the morning.
If it is a real house, then it makes sense a bit. But if HDB I would rather get a rental.
Originally posted by zh:The prices of both hdb and condos leasehold&freehold are way up there. To me it Maybe the downside is that even after graduating, I must get a job that earns more than 5k (dam tough I know) though not all
u graduate in wad??how come cannot reason nickle and dime stuff one?u graduated from where??just buy a place of your own n get on with life!
Originally posted by zh:The prices of both hdb and condos leasehold&freehold are way up there. To me it seems like renting makes more sense. Let's say a condo 5rm is abt 900k and located out of town but near basic amenities like mrt station and shopping centre. If rent, I can stay anywhere loh- city area or near my workplace for easy commute plus I don't need 5 rms anyway. (I assume that I'm single my whole life for simplicity sake. I know this might not be possible, but just assume that this is the fact here.) renting would be 3-5k for 1rm with good location and ulitilty bills. If its 5k, then I can live in great rented conditions for 180 months or 15 years which is not bad. And to think that all the bills other people will "help" me settle, I live near town so commute has less stress and I can work more effectively& so earn more kacchhhing! Maybe the downside is that even after graduating, I must get a job that earns more than 5k (dam tough I know) though not all jobs need you to stay-out (live in your own home). And also the fact that most of my salary will be channeled to paying rent. But also true that I might not love in a rented home 24/7 and I can get a rented apartment as and when I like. Renting seems good leh... Very tempting - so do you people still think it makes sense to buy your own house or just go ahead and rent one apartment? To those who are living in rented apartments now, what's your rationale for staying in rented apartments rather than buying and owning your own home?
u must be a stinkin cheena - only cheap labor have this type of mentality. others the category of sgrans wanting to rent a place other than their homes are U-students who find cost of hostels too high over any possible rental. for your problem - no one wants to know actuallly.
My take, he is bright. He calculates the pros and cons for buying vs renting and he has made an economic comparison. Most people are too emotional and end up buying one only to be slaving to pay it off for the rest of their life.
@OP: if you will be here for sure for more than 15years, it makes sense. Of course provided the economic trends follow the same way as it has so far. A war/disaster/potential relocation to another country permenantly ,points to the benefits of renting.
At the end of the day its a personal choice.
Originally posted by Bio-Hawk:My take, he is bright. He calculates the pros and cons for buying vs renting and he has made an economic comparison. Most people are too emotional and end up buying one only to be slaving to pay it off for the rest of their life.
@OP: if you will be here for sure for more than 15years, it makes sense. Of course provided the economic trends follow the same way as it has so far. A war/disaster/potential relocation to another country permenantly ,points to the benefits of renting.
At the end of the day its a personal choice.
then he shuld be businessman calculating machinery for a factory.but why pay so much for something that isnt his!and such extravagence at that?it makes no sense.is he that rich or does he need to feel rich?there are drugs for that.and its cheaper than those figures he makes.
if u paid for a bought 3room flat or even a "castle" in spore,once u need to move out overseas,default all payments or sell it u get what u paid in return,but the losses if u rent cant be recovered .not a cent.
if the chinaman can come over and buy a $1mil mansion i dont see why threadstarter should end up renting from the chinaman.
ts is either dumb or a foreigner with a possible property he is eyeing from country of origin.this is how most malaysians werking in spore think.
but even if he ius a foreigner would he pay so much for accomodation because he would by then be paying for his own castle in malaysia?answer is no.
i think hdb could have made laws forbidding same treatment on pr with subsidised gov flats meant for sporeans due to shortage of flats.so that could explain the rental stigma.i have never come across where any country lets pr get all acceess to gov subsidised homes or education even.they all need to be paid.
i take it threadstarter works in a hotel and has a storeroom or someplace to sleep at nite.
depends on how long you are staying here.
whatever it is, it's the best to have your own house....freedom is something i treasured a lot.
No idea.
If you cannot stand it. Come to malaysia and stay lah before all the properties here become unaffordable.
Why Malaysia? So many developed countries have cheaper homes than Singapore.
Originally posted by Trishi2012:The idea of renting is for poor people like me.The houses, cars, handphones, and even dvds are unaffordable to me.The only thing affordable is food.
i remebered i once had a beautiful relative.got a place of her own like 1 room flat.sad to say she didnt get married and now...........end up like living there or moved out with SERS program.
wished i could help but now got problems of my own.
Originally posted by Army 21:... pay so much for accomodation because he would by then be paying for his own castle in malaysia?answer is no. i think hdb could have made laws forbidding same treatment on pr with subsidised gov flats meant for sporeans due to shortage of flats.so that ...
army21, I'm in NS now so I've got the luxury of time to think and plan for this stuff. As a Singaporean like most of us here, we would the find cost of living high and planning is a great way to get ahead. The premium we pay for nearly everything is in exchange for the peace and security we get as well as the close proximity of ammenities we have in our neighbourhoods. Apart from the patriotism, I want to stay here in Singapore.
I wish I could be that 1mil chinaman and pay for the HDB upfront. Don't we all.
Originally posted by zh:army21, I'm in NS now so I've got the luxury of time to think and plan for this stuff. As a Singaporean like most of us here, we would the find cost of living high and planning is a great way to get ahead. The premium we pay for nearly everything is in exchange for the peace and security we get as well as the close proximity of ammenities we have in our neighbourhoods. Apart from the patriotism, I want to stay here in Singapore.
I wish I could be that 1mil chinaman and pay for the HDB upfront. Don't we all.
really?i was like u too ince upon a time.i wasted like almost 40 years and got nothing.as for peace....i have a neighbour upstairs back in spore and he was hammering my ceiling 24 ghrs/day 7 days a week till i went up and called the police..still i had to sufer the neighbour from hell.for security......it dont exist unless u end up werking for the government.i did plan ahead and had 3 backup plans.i was lucky i saved myself and managed to bring out all those in time.
as for your patriotism,you wont know that until you sign on or did something great for your country apart from ns.i did all those stuff for my country and more.
There is a report in TNP that a HDB flat had finally gone over the 1 million dollars mark! How ridiculous! That is the price for a condo! With that money, I can even buy a few semi-detached houses in Malaysia!
The PAP had promised to do something about it and yet something like this can happen! It's a matter of time before more Singaporeans start migranting to other countries and Singapore will become a United Nations with the only Singaporeans being the PAP! PAP can whine about more local talents moving abroad and yet they are still shooting themselves in the foot!
Originally posted by Country Boy:There is a report in TNP that a HDB flat had finally gone over the 1 million dollars mark! How ridiculous! That is the price for a condo! With that money, I can even buy a few semi-detached houses in Malaysia!
The PAP had promised to do something about it and yet something like this can happen! It's a matter of time before more Singaporeans start migranting to other countries and Singapore will become a United Nations with the only Singaporeans being the PAP! PAP can whine about more local talents moving abroad and yet they are still shooting themselves in the foot!
As long as there's enough idiots willing to pay 1 million for a HDB, the market will remain so.