Ten Commandments of public transport:
1. You and I paid $$$ to board the transport.
2. All people are equal. (Even young people can fall ill, have injuries from NS! Not only old people are weak!)
3. I'm entitled to sit as much as you are, subjected to availability of seats.
4. Seats are of a "first-come-first-sit" basis.
5. Do not expect and behave as if people owe you the seats just because of your plight (if any)
6. Giving up seats is a privilege and purely voluntary. You can only wait for seats to be vacant but you cannot expect.
7. If people do not give up seats, just forget it.
8. If you're really desperate to sit, take a taxi. You can sit all you want.
9. If taxis are expensive, then stop whining and remain standing and wait for an available seat.
10. Don't preach about kindness and karma when in office politics, everyone backstabs to fight for promotions. Will you give up your promotions?
There should not be any priority or reserved seats. All seats should be given up at the discretion of the passenger.
Reserved seating is rubbish to me. All those bo liao stompers also never stepped in and ask those people to give out the seats.
Some-more people beside them don't give up their seats.
while that is true, the fact that some able-bodied person would rather sit down, look at his/her/its goddamned mobile phone while someone who is heavily pregnant, frail, old or disabled is standing, shows the values imparted to him/her/it by parents and also of society as a whole
Originally posted by the Bear:while that is true, the fact that some able-bodied person would rather sit down, look at his/her/its goddamned mobile phone while someone who is heavily pregnant, frail, old or disabled is standing, shows the values imparted to him/her/it by parents and also of society as a whole
It's their right not to. I am sick with high fever and sitting on the reserved seat. Then some old man come along.
So how?
Originally posted by the Bear:while that is true, the fact that some able-bodied person would rather sit down, look at his/her/its goddamned mobile phone while someone who is heavily pregnant, frail, old or disabled is standing, shows the values imparted to him/her/it by parents and also of society as a whole
this charbor ginna won't understand........
fast becoming an ah lian ... . . or fei loi from the way she posts.
tsk tsk tsk
ru ci bu ke jiao ye !
Originally posted by SJS6638:this charbor ginna won't understand........
fast becoming an ah lian ... . . or fei loi from the way she posts.
tsk tsk tsk
ru ci bu ke jiao ye !
Originally posted by Summer hill:
It's their right not to. I am sick with high fever and sitting on the reserved seat. Then some old man come along.
So how?
just like i came out from the physiotherapy for my slipped disc and i'm in pain, then how?
i look at the situation, see that i'm younger than the old man, and i'm better able to handle the pain of standing up than the old man would be able to handle a fractured pelvis if he was to fall, i suck it up and offer it to the old man...
btw.. that's what happened in real life on a bus...
sometimes, the needs of others outweigh the needs of self..
and if everyone was to think of others before self, there would not be a shortage of people offering seats to those who need it more.. you won't even have to do so if you are ill.. and there would be no need for shit like "priority seats"
think about it.. what a wonderful society to live in where the stomp idiots would have nothing to stomp about
and that, starts with the individual..
Originally posted by the Bear:just like i came out from the physiotherapy for my slipped disc and i'm in pain, then how?
i look at the situation, see that i'm younger than the old man, and i'm better able to handle the pain of standing up than the old man would be able to handle a fractured pelvis if he was to fall, i suck it up and offer it to the old man...
btw.. that's what happened in real life on a bus...
sometimes, the needs of others outweigh the needs of self..
and if everyone was to think of others before self, there would not be a shortage of people offering seats to those who need it more.. you won't even have to do so if you are ill.. and there would be no need for shit like "priority seats"
think about it.. what a wonderful society to live in where the stomp idiots would have nothing to stomp about
and that, starts with the individual..
that is the right attitude.
I may be carrying heavy stuff but when I see an old lady I would oblige giving up my seat to her.
Many tried to give seats when it's crowded to elderly. Ocassionally we get a few who are pretending not to notice.
I personally choose to give up my seat to old, injured or pregnant people. Not because I think I have to, but becaue I'm not a douchebag.
Originally posted by Summer hill:Ten Commandments of public transport:
1. You and I paid $$$ to board the transport.
2. All people are equal. (Even young people can fall ill, have injuries from NS! Not only old people are weak!)
3. I'm entitled to sit as much as you are, subjected to availability of seats.
4. Seats are of a "first-come-first-sit" basis.
5. Do not expect and behave as if people owe you the seats just because of your plight (if any)
6. Giving up seats is a privilege and purely voluntary. You can only wait for seats to be vacant but you cannot expect.
7. If people do not give up seats, just forget it.
8. If you're really desperate to sit, take a taxi. You can sit all you want.
9. If taxis are expensive, then stop whining and remain standing and wait for an available seat.
10. Don't preach about kindness and karma when in office politics, everyone backstabs to fight for promotions. Will you give up your promotions?
When someone armed with a camera phone, take a picture of u sitting at reserve seat, with an old man or old lady standing beside you, and puts that picture up to stomp for judgement (i call that judgement day), see who has the last laugh. Even if you are injured, sick, fever, cough or whatever, people from the Internet cannot see and will start to judge you.
The cup noodles so delious, stomper must be jealous!!
ridiculous. They target the women but not the man beside her.
Why nobody ask why there are no seats in the first place?
Overcrowding mah.
Too many people.
It's the same answer for most of the problems now - expensive and not enough HDB flats, high COE, constant public transport breakdown, traffic jams everywhere.
i think the question to ponder is, does it mean that only elderlys, children, pregnant women can sit on priority seats? What if you are not sitting on priority seat and you see an old woman or pregnant woman coming, does that mean that you do not have to give up your seat?
Originally posted by hiphop2009:i think the question to ponder is, does it mean that only elderlys, children, pregnant women can sit on priority seats? What if you are not sitting on priority seat and you see an old woman or pregnant woman coming, does that mean that you do not have to give up your seat?
Only when I see a pregnant women. She's carrying 2 lives.
As for the old people, I kinda pity them , so old still need to work and sqeeze in the MRT
Originally posted by hiphop2009:
When someone armed with a camera phone, take a picture of u sitting at reserve seat, with an old man or old lady standing beside you, and puts that picture up to stomp for judgement (i call that judgement day), see who has the last laugh. Even if you are injured, sick, fever, cough or whatever, people from the Internet cannot see and will start to judge you.
that is a good one.
One should not always think for oneself only. that is selfish.....
now many ppl will avoid sitting there (scared tio stomp)
but sometimes i see able ppl sitting there, mainly foreigners
i wun say from where and where and where ones
i sit next or away from it , giving the seat to the needy. Not only foreiigners sit, locals also do it.
Sometimes the train so crowded they also cannot be bothered to give up the seat to the needy ones.
Shame @!
Originally posted by Summer hill:ridiculous. They target the women but not the man beside her.
anyone reasonable , sensible and understanding know the priority seat is meant for the needy ones. of course, the lady sitting at the prioriy seat is being taken pic ......
if you still don't get it...... then ................
Sometimes, it's not the people don't want to give up their seat. It's the elderly whom rejected the seat~
Originally posted by SMB66X:Sometimes, it's not the people don't want to give up their seat. It's the elderly whom rejected the seat~
that is fine, at least the person at the priority seat offer the seat.
Originally posted by Summer hill:
So how?
If you are sick and high fever.. that means you have some kind of INFECTION and most likely you will pass the virus or bacteria to the PUBLIC around you.
I think it is VERY inconsiderate of you to be taking a CROWDED public transport when you are so sick.
Please take a taxi next time... at least only the taxi driver will be affected by your illness. And poor taxi unker will have to forgo his income for the few days he is sick because of you.
Originally posted by Summer hill:There should not be any priority or reserved seats. All seats should be given up at the discretion of the passenger.
Actually the meaning of RESERVED is very clear cut. Just like Handicap parking... if you are not the listed authorised person you should NOT be sitting or using it even if it's empty.
If the seat says PRIORITY seating for XXX.. that means you the one not listed as XXX can use it when it's empty and MUST GIVE UP the seat to the XXX listed person when they arrive.
If it's a COURTESY seat.. then yes... perhaps those inconsiderate selfish assholes can insist don't need to give up the seat because they are not a courteous person and should be given up only if they feel like it.
I think the problem with our people is that severe lack of understanding of the English WORDS.
Reserved is not the same meaning as Courtesy seat.
Such a desperate shame our society is becoming so third world.
I was in San Francisco 2 months ago and used the public bus there.... when an old lady board the bus... 3 men jumped up and offered her seats...
Shame on us Singaporeans. We only seem to respond well to punishments.
The only way is to put RESERVED for .... PENALTY $3000
Then catch a few and punish them as a warning to other non compliants.