JobsCentral – Tue, Jan 29, 2013 5:04 PM SGT
By Julailah Wahid
Just last week, we released our survey findings on the saving and spending habits of Singapore workers.
According to the JobsCentral survey, 55.5 per cent of employees do not save above 20 per cent of their monthly income while 5.2 per cent admitted that they do not save at all.
The survey also highlighted that Singapore workers spend mostly on necessities - 69.6 per cent said they forked out the most money on food, 57.3% on transport, 51.1 per cent on allowances for parents or children, 45.9 per cent on shopping or groceries, 37.5 per cent on accommodation, 23.6 per cent on entertainment and 15.1 per cent on holidays.
Additionally, female workers spend slightly more than their male counterparts, even though only 23.6 per cent of females have an additional source of income, as compared to 39.2 per cent of males. Those with an additional source of income share that they would make an extra buck through part-time jobs (30.5 per cent), freelance projects (27.9 per cent), dividends from stocks or bonds (26.8 per cent) and property rental income (12.1 per cent).
While most females will spend the bulk of their income on food (68.5 per cent), a higher proportion compared to males will spend on shopping/groceries (50.9 per cent vs. 40 per cent of males), allowances for parents/children (53.9 per cent vs. 47.7 per cent of males) and holidays (16.2 per cent vs. 13.7 per cent of males).
With the cost of living rising in Singapore, being frugal is essential if you want to enjoy your golden years without having to worry about money and have enough cash at hand during emergencies. We zero in on some money-saving habits that will prevent you from riding through tight times.
Walk whenever you can
Hopping on a shuttle bus that charges 40 cents to your workplace, which is only ten to fifteen minutes away, will have you forking out $2 every week, $8 per month and $96 per year on transport alone!
This may not sound like much but your daily transport fees could surely be spent on that classy watch you’ve been eyeing instead.
If the distance between your workplace and home (or MRT station) doesn’t leave you perspiring buckets, walk to work - it saves money and keeps you fit!
Motorists can also take public transport at least twice a week to save on petrol expenses and reduce their carbon footprint.
Pack your lunch
Instead of paying $6.95 for a burger and French fries that will keep you feeling satiated for barely two hours, bring some homemade protein-packed lunch to work. Simple and affordable meals such as wraps stuffed with chicken breast and vegetables or rice with tuna and tomatoes, which all cost $5 and below to whip up.
Additionally, you can bring snacks from home instead of making frequent visits to the vending machine or the convenience store downstairs, which tend to mark up the food they sell.
Buy in bulk
For items that you use often and in abundance, such as toilet paper, toiletries and office supplies, purchasing them in bulk quantities from warehouse and outlet stores may save you up to 50 per cent as compared to buying individual pieces. This also ensures that you have access to handy stationery items round the clock with the office fully stocked.
Embrace coupons
If you have the habit of trashing supermarket flyers or coupon leaflets from the newspaper and mailbox, you may want to rethink that impulse. Utilising tools such as online discount codes, supermarket promotions and fast food outlet coupon cutouts can actually shave a significant amount off your expenses. For instance, an activity-filled day at Sentosa might cost up to $60 but with a valid Groupon deal, you could pay only half of that.
Get a piggy bank
This may sound like a no-brainer but setting money aside can help you to save more money than you might think. Place a coin bank on your work desk, drop some loose change in every week and you could be saving up to $20 per month! You can then exchange the coins for notes at certain banks and The Singapore Mint, which comes with a usual coin processing fee.
India. I've seen very old people still hacking at rocks and carrying them. They've done so since childhood....................... or is it because of this that they look so old?
We Singaporeans are born in our nation to just PAY AND PAY till we die.WE need to work hard to PAY AND PAY only.HOW TO SAVE MONEY as our living standard is very high????JUST NICE TO SURVIVE ONLY WITHOUT HAVING SAVINGS IF WE GO OUT WE NEED TRANSPORT MONEY AS OUR GOVERNMENT NEED TO REDUCE THE FARE (SMRT,BUS FARE,TAXI FARE) PUBLICK transport is all control by P A P.THEY EVERYDAY MAKING BILLION OF MONEY.Not as other nation government.
Get a piggy bank
This may sound like a no-brainer but setting money aside can help you to save more money than you might think. Place a coin bank on your work desk, drop some loose change in every week and you could be saving up to $20 per month! You can then exchange the coins for notes at certain banks and The Singapore Mint, which comes with a usual coin processing fee.
This one to go Singapore Mint to exchange for notes and be charged processing fee is a stupid idea. No brain! Article is on saving money and the stupid writer encourage people to spend unnecessary money.
if tml u die how?
so much money how?
今�有酒今�醉
Originally posted by FireIce:if tml u die how?
so much money how?
今�有酒今�醉
can donate to me. ![]()
die die lor
did not prepare will yet......................
who to inherit what ................
I don't track my expenditure. But i know my savings increase with each payday, amd never goes below last month's mark.
I also always top up my credit card accounts, so i don't get into the forgot to pay problem.
me use dc for online purchases so i oni buy things tt i can afford
and no debts
avoid instalments due to unstable income
i rather pain big big one time
then every mth pain
i no money spend , how?
dont spend loh, so easy u oso dunno meh.
I guess that spending is an essential part of a modern person, since we live in the society of consumers, where everyhting is made to make us buy more and more.
once in a while she will do funny things. but she still never learn every funny thing she do she lands herself backwards into funnier situations.
fist time when eye jobless father dying, then say eye took her stuff, then he die insurance cf money take happy. no need go out werk.i second time jobless spend spend like no tomorrow got money mah so no action. now see i no werk again try a new stunt.