COME January 2 next year, consumers can start adding their phone numbers to the national Do-Not-Call registry to avoid getting calls and messages from telemarketers.
The Government-funded registry is a key part of the new Data Protection Bill, which became law on Jan 2 this year. The law aims to protect personal information from being stolen or indiscriminately collected and used for marketing purposes.
From next year, consumers will be able to opt out of telemarketing calls, faxes, as well as short message service (SMS) and multimedia messaging service (MMS) messages. The Do-Not-Call framework also covers messages sent via instant messaging apps - with the most widely used being WhatsApp.
"From the businesses' perspective, technological advances have given insights into customers' needs, wants and behaviour. Businesses collect data to deliver personalised services and customised products," said Minister for Communications and Information Dr Yaacob Ibrahim on Wednesday at the launch of the Personal Data Protection Commission, which is tasked to enforce the newly-minted Personal Data Protection Act.
is there a Do Not Ban registry in sgforum?
no
how to opt out?
is there any website link where we can key in our number to put an end to those calls?
jan 2 next yr.
mai kan cheong.
o.k.
can by default all set to 'dont want to receive call'?
Those who want go register and say you like to receive those overseas and local calls? so troublesome!
SMS is okay lah. written messages if people interested then reply or call the numerb lor! so simple.
why want to create so trublesome monitoring?!
just ban on numbers unless users choose to activate. sms / written can send to all no problem since people free can read but call different you pang sai boss talking to you they call and demand you entertain listen to their bullfrog coraking?! screw them who they think they are?!.
Originally posted by Deacon Blue:can by default all set to 'dont want to receive call'?
Those who want go register and say you like to receive those overseas and local calls? so troublesome!
SMS is okay lah. written messages if people interested then reply or call the numerb lor! so simple.
why want to create so trublesome monitoring?!
just ban on numbers unless users choose to activate. sms / written can send to all no problem since people free can read but call different you pang sai boss talking to you they call and demand you entertain listen to their bullfrog coraking?! screw them who they think they are?!.
to save people te the trouble they can go ahead to stop the telemarketing. See, anything that needs no money they want you people to opt out, anythign with money they want they go ahead to deduct money from CPF like as if our CPF is their bank account
Damn !
That'd be great! IF the rules and penalities are STRICTLY implemented. I've been on the list for 2 years now but I still get a lot of unsolicited calls. I've filed complaints with every website just to have these companies penalized but apparently, it didn't work.