Originally posted by M the name:
The '人情味' maybe existed in rural area of Taiwan, but not in urban area.
Even the taiwanese said the same.
There is nothing to compare between us and Taiwan.
Each has its pros and cons and this happens to every country. Countries with beautiful sceneries always come along with some bad stuffs with it. Canada is beautiful but recent snow in canada...is worst and worst each year ... you now get to see the whole trees being iced up ( i mean ICE not snow ). On the roads are hard and solid pieces of ices everywhere ... very dangerous to moving vehicles. Taiwan has experience many typhoons...and each year the typhoons getting stronger and deadly. If you cannot bear cold... it is not a place to go.
Singapore is summer whole year ... and hot and humid and sweaty ... but we don't suffers natural disasters as much as other countries...
Originally posted by Esthy2014:There is nothing to compare between us and Taiwan.
Each has its pros and cons and this happens to every country. Countries with beautiful sceneries always come along with some bad stuffs with it. Canada is beautiful but recent snow in canada...is worst and worst each year ... you now get to see the whole trees being iced up ( i mean ICE not snow ). On the roads are hard and solid pieces of ices everywhere ... very dangerous to moving vehicles. Taiwan has experience many typhoons...and each year the typhoons getting stronger and deadly. If you cannot bear cold... it is not a place to go.
Singapore is summer whole year ... and hot and humid and sweaty ... but we don't suffers natural disasters as much as other countries...
Originally posted by SJS6638:Even the taiwanese said the same.
Taiwan student charged over 'cat in jar' photos
Lin became the target of netizens' wrath after she posted photos of a white cat in a plastic bottle. PHOTO: FACEBOOK PAGE OF KIKI LIN
TAIPEI - A college student in Taiwan has been charged with animal abuse after she posted online pictures of her cat squashed in a jar.
Kiki Lin, from Taichung, became the target of netizen's wrath after she posted two photos of a white cat in a plastic bottle and wrote "cat in a bottle, punishment for behaving badly" on her Facebook page on Monday, Taiwan's CNA reported.
Lin's page was soon flooded with outraged comments, with people calling her an animal abuser, China Post reported.
"I really don't see how it is their place to criticise me without even knowing what happened," said Lin.
She later deleted the photo and apologised, saying she should not have tormented her cat that way.
Lin has been charged with violating the Animal Protection Law and could face up to a year in jail.
Asia, The Straits Times, Saturday, December 28 2013, Pg A16
Lin became the target of netizens' wrath after she posted photos of a white cat in a plastic bottle. PHOTO: FACEBOOK PAGE OF KIKI LIN
TAIPEI - A college student in Taiwan has been charged with animal abuse after she posted online pictures of her cat squashed in a jar.
Kiki Lin, from Taichung, became the target of netizen's wrath after she posted two photos of a white cat in a plastic bottle and wrote "cat in a bottle, punishment for behaving badly" on her Facebook page on Monday, Taiwan's CNA reported.
Lin's page was soon flooded with outraged comments, with people calling her an animal abuser, China Post reported.
"I really don't see how it is their place to criticise me without even knowing what happened," said Lin.
She later deleted the photo and apologised, saying she should not have tormented her cat that way.
Lin has been charged with violating the Animal Protection Law and could face up to a year in jail.
Originally posted by ArJoe:
This article is insufficient to generalize ALL Taiwanese...

You didn't pity the white cat and are more concern of 'generalize' issue ? How sad...
way to go ![]()
where are the malaysians
they ought to take their fong chibi who beat her dog until hanger broke to task
unbelieveable
keep cat 的人 should be cat lover right
can do such a sick thing to own cat de?!
Originally posted by TehJarVu:unbelieveable
keep cat 的人 should be cat lover right
can do such a sick thing to own cat de?!

Hey, this topic is about Singapore vs Taiwan.. Of course I pity the cat which is being abused, and the college student should be punished severely, but what I meant was that we are supposed to be discussing about Singapore and Taiwan environment etc, and 1 incident like this does not mean that ALL Taiwanese behave like this...
If you want to discuss about Taiwan issue, I just heard from entertainment news that Jacky Wu got sentenced to 22 month because of some scam, it such a pity that he is a famous host with good way of 'humour' and he get into trouble like this.
remember 大炳,he was so popular and was so humourous in variety shows, yet he got involved in drugs so many times. You watch Taiwanese entertainment shows to laugh and have a good time, don't ever believe in what they say.
Originally posted by sgdiehard:remember 大炳,he was so popular and was so humourous in variety shows, yet he got involved in drugs so many times. You watch Taiwanese entertainment shows to laugh and have a good time, don't ever believe in what they say.
Even the Taiwan health programme speaks about hei xin food.
The taiwanese selling fake wholemeal bread. The Taiwanese are just as dishonest and despicable as the PRC.
The good thing there is the Taiwan govt pay for a few types of health check up for the citizens. In Singapore, the govt gives no free checks, Tan Ku Ku! The public hospital nurses can even call up the public to go. No such things in sg lah. Ours is Pay And Pay, pay until the day you die!
In Taiwan, they have leave for menstruation for females, this is one day in a month.
arjoe, are you a taiwanese?
As for me, I prefer English speaking environment. To stay permanently in Taiwan is a no no for me.
In term of Singapore's comedy and entertainment 's hosting , local like Jack Neo, Pornsak etc can't even be compared to Jacky Wu or even Kang Kang and Jiu Kong(ä¹�å”) etc.
In fact if you just watch today local channel, most of the 8pm show, it is always related to cooking/food cusine (see these kind of shows until I become very sian
), travelling (sometime from taiwan's programme of course), a bit of fashion and Home lifestyle DIY. Notice that there isn't any comedy related show on Monday anymore and that how lousy local television production are !
No actors, actresses in Singapore beat the artistes in Taiwan, China and Hong Kong.
The Mediacock artistes both veteran and new ones cannot even act well. What a shame! Yucks! REally a disgrace to Singaporeans.
TV Award presentation in Taiwan only last one night in a year whereas the mediacock has to deliberately hold their lousy award presentation for two Sundays in a year. They just enjoy wasting the taxpayers' money. Even Hollywood/Oscar Award also last for a night a year.
Mediacock really is extravagant, good in spending money uselessly. There is no talented mediacock artistes for all these 50 years of their existence. Shame!
you really can't compare the entertainment industries between Singapore and HK, Taiwan or even China. HK and Taiwan movie industries started even before WW2, if I am not wrong. and they have millions of Chinese, speaking mandarin or cantonese, to choose from to act. Singapore had our own TV programs only in the 70s, when music was provided by ahmat jaffar and his orchestra, which was at best a band, and later they made the 雾��洋, even then the actor 黄文永,was from malaysia.
We have 70% of our population Chinese out of 3.5 million when we started, when more than half jia kangtang cannot speak mandarin, where to find actors actresses. until now they still can't make a proper drama in english. I don't see our english entertainment programs anywhere outside Singapore. I hope our malay programs are sold to Malaysia and Indonesia.
in Taiwan, guys like ä¹�å” can survive just acting like a clown. We need another 王沙野峰。
The other problem we have is that we don't have ideas for good scripts. Singapore history too short. for variety shows we don't have sense of humour. no gossip no dirty jokes. We also cannot show much about our government or civil service. Their face skin so thin and if we have shows like 全民乱讲,next day sure kena called for coffee.for this I have great respect for jack neo.
I think by and large we are alright when you see 雾é”�å�—æ´‹,and å°�娘惹shown in mainland china. we have å™ç‡•姿,蔡å�¥é›…,JJ, 阿æ�œ very well known in China. For a little red dot with a small population speaking mandarin, we are not bad.
Originally posted by SJS6638:arjoe, are you a taiwanese?
As for me, I prefer English speaking environment. To stay permanently in Taiwan is a no no for me.
It is crap! If Mediacorp cannot make it to be excellent there should be no excuse.
Once they employed a talented HK director to improve the scene here. He proposed a number of changes and the top management of Mediacorp rejected. He then felt he was not able to contribute and left.
If they are lousy they are la.
Originally posted by SJS6638:No actors, actresses in Singapore beat the artistes in Taiwan, China and Hong Kong.
The Mediacock artistes both veteran and new ones cannot even act well. What a shame! Yucks! REally a disgrace to Singaporeans.
TV Award presentation in Taiwan only last one night in a year whereas the mediacock has to deliberately hold their lousy award presentation for two Sundays in a year. They just enjoy wasting the taxpayers' money. Even Hollywood/Oscar Award also last for a night a year.
Mediacock really is extravagant, good in spending money uselessly. There is no talented mediacock artistes for all these 50 years of their existence. Shame!
Yup, I agree with you. Singapore shows lack creativity and our local hosts have absolutely not skills in hosting as well. Even the recent cooking show 三�一汤 they have to hire 曾国城 to host... Singapore dramas are rather boring too, the actors cant act as well as Taiwanese actors... Taiwan's ��剧 have way more standard
Don't watch. the only shows I watch are those Tuesday Special, their walk about to finding good food in Singapore. That is all. They are fine in these two shows.
Originally posted by SJS6638:It is crap! If Mediacorp cannot make it to be excellent there should be no excuse.
Once they employed a talented HK director to improve the scene here. He proposed a number of changes and the top management of Mediacorp rejected. He then felt he was not able to contribute and left.
If they are lousy they are la.