Originally posted by zulkifli mahmood:I cup of coffee/Tea how much? S$1 to S$1.10. You just need hot water, 1 spoon of coffee powder, a tea spoon of condense milk and a spoon of sugar.
Nasi Goreng, some rice, half an egg and a little bit of ingredients for S$3 to $4.
You earn more profit if you have plenty of customers and your foods are delicious and famous. If people don’t like your food and price…then you can’t or have problems covering your rent. In food business you can see your profit within 6 months or even lesser.
I used to help my late mother food stalls during my school days and when I had started working. I have done food business before.
How about you….have you washed your own plate at home or you get your maid or parents to do for you?
What you just factored in is only a mere percentage of running cost of a food stall or a restaurant. How about trying to factor in your operation cost, utilities, rent, CPF contrubutions or levy and labour cost ?
Most restaurants in Singapore if lucky makes no more then 30% of their total sales these days. I am still in the food business running and managing 2 restaurants in Singapore, 1 in Thailand and 1 in Taiwan mate.
And to answer your question about me washing my plates at home ? Well, i was my own plates because i live by myself and at work, i have dishwashers to do that for me.
big fuck meh?
Originally posted by ben1406:What you just factored in is only a mere percentage of running cost of a food stall or a restaurant. How about trying to factor in your operation cost, utilities, rent, CPF contrubutions or levy and labour cost ?
Most restaurants in Singapore if lucky makes no more then 30% of their total sales these days. I am still in the food business running and managing 2 restaurants in Singapore, 1 in Thailand and 1 in Taiwan mate.
And to answer your question about me washing my plates at home ? Well, i was my own plates because i live by myself and at work, i have dishwashers to do that for me.
I do clear up my plates after my meal , infact i wash for my families too.
Originally posted by Cinny:I do clear up my plates after my meal , infact i wash for my families too.
I clean up my family's dishes after everyone finishes their meal...
The problem is in the Smith Street Hawker Centre, there are so few tray return racks, so diners simply leave it on their tables...
last week, i saw a middle aged man directing the cleaning supervisor to clean up a spot on the table because the latter missed it, was very disgusted by Singaporean behaviour...
Originally posted by lucif:Even if it is ok for foreign workers for these jobs, does it mean they can work like slaves? It is 5 workers to 230 stalls which is crazy. I have seen how chaotic it was. No place for people to sit because too many tables stacked with plates and too few cleaners to clear the tables.
Originally posted by zulkifli mahmood:They used to have disposal utensils for the customers and still it wasn’t working efficiently and effectively…aiyah. Just legislate the law to make them clear their own plates that will do it and they may even wash clean their own plates for the food stall owners or the coffee shop owners lols. They will only do it when their money is burn to pay for fines…lols.
I dun encourage disposal untensils. If I see them using I walk away.
my maid