in secondary school, if want high CCA points, either be in the committee of the CCA, or join Uniform Group. if in Performing Arts, SYF is either one time participate or participate two times, depending on which year (odd or even) you join. if in Sports, obviously you have to be among the best players to represent the school in competitions - but sometimes it's everyone all go for inter-school matches.
do well in ur studies
f**k those bonus pts
the schools still see raw scores first anyway
ultimately, it is about Time Management.
If can focus on studies while participate actively in all these fun stuff, why not?
I know of people who are both Captain/President of their CCA in secondary three & four (until April/May; CCA pass out parade) and top scorers in the N levels/O levels.
I also know of people who are also leaders of their CCA, and are struggling in their studies. I also know of people who are ordinary members of their CCA, and are top scorers in the N levels/O levels.
Cut long story short, all I want to say is, ultimately, it's all about how you use your time, manage priorities.
Being disciplined. Knowing when to do what. There's a time and place for everything.
Originally posted by FireIce:do well in ur studies
f**k those bonus pts
the schools still see raw scores first anyway
hanor hanor
Last time ppl see news portray CCA points jin good
Ultimately still see your PSLE O/N/A Level GPA etc
the new CCA bonus system is not using points but bands
so u will get these rankings according to your participation and performance
"damn siao onz" aka excellent -- u get 2 bonus pts to fight with the raw 6 pointers
or "just go sign attendance nia" aka good - u get 1 bonus pt #maihiambueypai
or "f**k it, go home pak game or go out with bae better" aka fair - like tt u still want bonus pts?
click here to find out more
ccas can really enrich your life if you join the right one.
you can make friends who can help you with your studies. the people in your cca will not be in the same class as you and you guys can share notes. these friends can also be your pillar of support in times of need. ccas can definitely open up new opportunities for you to meet new people which will make your life in school more interesting.
there are also many other skills you can learn from joining a variety of ccas, be it sports, performing arts or clubs and societies. there is always something you will learn from joining a cca or two.
but if you join the one not suitable for you, all you get is unhappiness and stress. it boils down to your personal preferences and whether you can cope with your ccas or not.
I hate my cca btw! Lots of scolding and making me stress
i quited several ccas but an unknown teacher keeps finding me and force
me to join another cca.
at my last cca, i just join for 1 hr then for the next 2hrs later, i mysteriously disappeared .
high grades important, cca important, fun important, socialise important, girlfriend important, but you know for weaker people like me, you try to make everything important then in the end you will fail everything and not able to go for higher studies.
just trust yourself, quit your cca if you want or think its necessary.
i thought secondary school cca have limit in how many can join? usually, can join only one cca. some (a few) join two.
really depends on your academic results. if you join two ccas and your result not good, ... sorry la. you can only have one cca.
but, I do know of people who do "mid-career change". sec 1 sec 2 join uniform group. sec 3 sec 4 change over to clubs. cca points is accumulated one.
towards the end of sec 3 when my sch show us our cca points thus far, we all realise that the people in uniform groups get very very high cca points. the other one is people in student council since sec 2.
Originally posted by Asrun:I hate my cca btw! Lots of scolding and making me stress
performing arts cca is like that one, especially if this year have SYF. the instructor also under pressure you know? you think he really want to scold ah?
1 CCA oredi 忙到è¦�æ», still got time for 2?
sports and performing arts easy to earn pts, if u always take part in competitions (plus got win lah)